$206 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2014 Check-out: Sep 9, 2014

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Exceptional staff

Stayed 3 days.Excellent good value parking facilities .All staff were extremely friendly and... See full review

  • Links golfer
  • Jun 3, 2014
Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location . See full review

  • nickii
  • Mar 24, 2014
Designer hotel with Michelin star restaurant equals five-star stay
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Transportation
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options

Hotel Map

53.3393 -6.2612
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (DUB), 15.00, KM, S;
Area description
From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cauliflower Queen
New York
May 26, 2013

Clean and convenient 5 star

I was glad the hotel was up to snuff. Being in Dublin and other large cities one can get something terrible when you don't know the city. The location was ideal and the room was very clean and comfortable, however we were not able to check in at 2:00 pm because check in was at 3 p.m. and the room was not ready. Really and hour before check in and the room is not ready?. The room was smaller than I expected but it is the city and space is precious. Overall a nice 5 star place that I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston MA
Dec 27, 2010

Fantastic location

This hotel was very well located, right in the heart of the city center, at one end of Grafton Street, which is the central shopping area. It is ideal for a couple or families with children if you want to be right in the center of it all. St. Stephen's Green park is directly across the street and the main tourist attractions are all within short walking distance. The hotel is immaculately kept, the room service is excellent and the staff is courteous and friendly. The standard room is quite small, but it is normal for a European hotel (compared to the US). The decor is beautiful [...].

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

This hotel is Right next to Grafton Street, the central shopping area in Dublin.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Long Island, New York
Aug 31, 2009

excellent

We were very pleased with the hotel. We arrived at 8:00 in the morning and they were able to get us into a room right away. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff was very helpful and the location is perfect. We would unquestionably stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wild
Richmond, VA
Apr 22, 2011

Dublin trip

Fitz William was FANTASTIC! Staff was great and very helpful. Prior to trip they answered every email promptly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orion1000
Chicago, IL
Oct 22, 2013

Very nice hotel and quiet

This is in a great location, has a quiet view of the courtyard. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
European Travelers
Michigan and Germany
May 17, 2010

Close to town, away from noise

Truthfully we were only in our hotel to sleep. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The concierge wanted to direct us to more expensive places to eat but we wanted to enjoy and relax in Dublin. So we ventured out on our own taking advise from the locals. Our taxi driver, a life-long Dubliner, gave us the best advice. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk to Temple Bar and at the end of the busy Grafton Street. Can walk 5 minutes to the National Gallery and Library as well. The hotel bar is open 24 hours but was too quiet for our taste. Seemed to cater to the business person. Can't comment on the food because we didn't eat at the hotel. Suggest to explore Dublin. We never had a bad meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Guiness and Black for the ladies. They add a shot of blackcurrent to your pint. Gogarty's in Temple Bar for great food and entertainment. First-timers to Dublin, take a hop-on hop-off tour.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Canada
May 31, 2010

This Hotel is GREAT

First class treatment from the greeting at the door till we left. We felt welcomed and able to ask for whatever we wanted and no problem for the staff. Room was laid out beautifully, even had a live orchid in the room. Bed was super comfortable, queen sized and furniture and decor all added to the pleasure of being in the room. very quiet, except for the running of the shower in the room next door, and that was not a big deal. Gym was worth a visit and had everything needed to keep in the routine of fitness. Shower AND bath and great lighting. Internet was both cord and wireless and worked well. Perfect location for Dublin exploring - park across the street is quiet and a joy; lots of shopping right nearby; get to tours easily and the neighbourhood is easy-going. Only 2 negatives and they were small: we consulted the concierge for a couple of things and two different ones steered us toward things they were pushing, instead of getting us what we wanted. 2nd was the shower curtain didn't go around enough and water pooled on the bathroom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pooley
Ahakista, west cork
Feb 3, 2013

Fitzwilliam hotel

We stay here each time we are in Dublin, about 5 or 6 times a year, it never disappoints, always up to a 5star level.....Betsey Cutler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Aug 22, 2010

Excellent service and comfort

The location was fantastic, both at the end of Grafton Street with excellent shopping and across from St. Stephens Green, a beautiful large city park. The room had fresh flowers (orchid and peonies), robes and slippers, a stereo system, rain shower and deep tub, candles, window seats, down pillows and comforter, and attractive furnishings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ely's Wine Bar on the other side of St. Stephen's Green has a great wine list and delicious nosh. It's a quiet, intimate setting.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Visiting Non Dignitary
Marin, California
Nov 12, 2013

I will stay here again!

I stayed a week while visiting my daughter and the hotel staff (concierge, desk, door, and room) were all incredibly helpful, informed, and kind to both of us! It was a perfect home-base for exploring Dublin and the surrounding area. Most mornings I would pick up my coffee americano from the Bald Barrista next door and walk around St Stephen's Green before heading out with my tour guide for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Thornton's restaurant, though the most expensive meal of my stay, was a truly amazing dining experience. And it was right next to the hotel as well. I usually avoid hotel restaurants - not this one!

Back to menu Return to top

Change search