$215 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
View map of St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
audreyyogini
Couples
Hull,MA
Sep 19, 2014

great location, helpful concierge

very nice help, room was beautiful, just slightly small, bathroom was nice size and clean as a whistle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar Area

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
orion1000
Single
USA
Sep 18, 2014

Been staying here five years - needs some work now

I've stayed here 5-6 times, and I love this hotel for the quiet and location. And, it's nice and very comfortable. This time, I didn't have a great stay. The shower had so much water pressure I almost couldn't even stand up in there. The little shower curtain let water all over the floor. The bed was too small - I thought I had a Queen from my reservation, but my feet hung off the end which is really uncomfortable. I think it was just a full size? I have a queen at home, and this wasn't a queen. They need to replace the carpeting in the rooms and fix the wood flooring because it's really worn out at this point. Some of my light switches didn't work either... they need to fix some stuff, really - room 314 guys, take a look. Anyway, the location and quiet can't be beat...and there's good air conditioning in the rooms. But it could use some TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joseph m
Couples
london
Oct 20, 2014

visit family

we had an executive queen room at back of hotel third floor as we were advised front rooms are noisy It was comfortable but small . We were however kept awake by a vibration sound which reception said came from the adjacent shopping centre. The windows face other rooms opposite and so blinds need to be drawn down for privacy,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QuikTrvlr
Couples
Texas, USA
Sep 24, 2014

Clean, Inviting & Located near everything!

Warm and welcoming, very friendly and helpful staff, called and arranged a Taxi to the Airport for us, located near the Green and around all kinds off restaurants, pubs, shopping, etc...Room was very clean, free WiFi, etc... Room was kind of small though and bed was a little too firm for my liking. Kind of pricy for one nights stay. Overall, a good experience and would recommend to others staying in Dublin :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny
Couples
Hastings, UK
Oct 30, 2010

Great locatioN

The room was smaller than I expected at the price. When the TV didn't work properly we were upgraded to a VERY nice room. The tram stops outside, so in the summer the bell ringing during the night would be a problem if the windows were open. (There is air conditioning, so it could be closed). Overall the hotel felt calm and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're seconds away from bars, clubs and shops.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
London
May 2, 2010

First class in a great location

Situated right on St Stephen's Green, the location for the Fitzwilliam can't be beat. You're minutes from Grafton Street, Trinity College and Temple Bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we liked the modern decor. Our room was roomy and comfortable, with an excellent shower. The restaurant in the hotel - Thornton's - was outstanding, the food was superb and the service was really excellent. We were celebrating a special occasion, and the chef came out to wish us well - a very special experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

O'Neill's Pub at the other end of Grafton Street - great sandwich bar, and a good carvery with huge portions. Lovely nooks and crannies in a nice atmospheric pub.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Eddy
Couples
London
Sep 22, 2010

Lovely stay, although noisy bed?

As the title suggests, it's a lovely hotel in a GREAT position; right next to Grafton Street, nice restaurants, shops, etc, without being too noisy or rough in the evenings. There is a carpark beneath the hotel for which hotel guests are subsidised - although this is not stated anywhere else that their website, so even though it only states one price for day/night at the carpark entrance, go and ask at reception and they will validate your parking at a reduced rate. Sounds obvious, but there were no signs pertaining to this when we were there, and were not told as such by any staff members until we asked why we were being charged £80 for two nights and one day's worth of parking. Our room had a squeaky bed. Doesn't sound like a big deal, but it kept on waking me up in the night until I got to such a state of exhaustion that I was able to sleep through it. I'm not a particularly big guy (under 200lbs), so I'd hope that it wasn't that! Don't hesitate to book if you feel as though it may be right for you, it's a great hotel. Lovely room service from the Citron restaurant, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service. Roast beef sandwich. Cheese platter. Run down the road to an off-license to grab a bottle of wine less the 300% markup, and ask for a bucket of ice with the order. Perfection.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickii
Single
Scotland
Mar 24, 2014

Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paddy Patty
Couples
London
Jun 9, 2010

Superb!

Really enjoyed my stay, cool decor, great staff and very chilled. In a perfect part of the city centre, walking distance to many areas and attractions and close enough to the night-out areas without dealing with the noise when you are done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Gloucestershire
Oct 19, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel, rooms really quiet - particularly considering the size and location! Staff helful and friendly. Beds comfortable. Big bath. What more could you ask for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys cafe is just down the road and does good breakfasts/lunches. Also had a good meal at Fallon and Byrne - though the service wasn't great the food was excellent.

Back to menu Return to top