$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 27, 2014

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Exceptional staff

Stayed 3 days.Excellent good value parking facilities .All staff were extremely friendly and... See full review

  • Links golfer
  • Jun 3, 2014
Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location . See full review

  • nickii
  • Mar 24, 2014
Designer hotel with Michelin star restaurant equals five-star stay
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Transportation
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options

Hotel Map

53.3393 -6.2612
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (DUB), 15.00, KM, S;
Area description
From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
audreyyogini
Hull,MA
Sep 19, 2014

great location, helpful concierge

very nice help, room was beautiful, just slightly small, bathroom was nice size and clean as a whistle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar Area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ireland Traveler
Denver, CO
Oct 18, 2009

Great location with luxurious rooms

The staff were very professional and helpful. Quality rooms with a wonderful bed. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to Grafton Street which has many fashion type stores. There are many places to eat and pubs to have a drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJH14
Wisconsin
Apr 23, 2014

Lovely Hotel in Perfect Location

I don't know what more you could want from a hotel. Sir Terrance Conran-designed, you get a lovely room that's not only well-appointed, but comfortable and unbelievably serene in a large city. It's location is perfect for doing anything in Dublin and steps away from Grafton Street for shopping or a play at the Gaiety Theater. This was a great deal within the pre-paid package we bought, as well. A Five-Star hotel for the price of a 2-3 star! So remember to watch for the air-hotel packages! We didn't use a lot of the amenities, since we've been to Dublin many times -- but the staff couldn't have been friendlier with the delivery of giant chocolate eggs for Easter (a hotel gift) and a hug from the doorman when we left. :) What more could you want? :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Eddy
London
Sep 22, 2010

Lovely stay, although noisy bed?

As the title suggests, it's a lovely hotel in a GREAT position; right next to Grafton Street, nice restaurants, shops, etc, without being too noisy or rough in the evenings. There is a carpark beneath the hotel for which hotel guests are subsidised - although this is not stated anywhere else that their website, so even though it only states one price for day/night at the carpark entrance, go and ask at reception and they will validate your parking at a reduced rate. Sounds obvious, but there were no signs pertaining to this when we were there, and were not told as such by any staff members until we asked why we were being charged £80 for two nights and one day's worth of parking. Our room had a squeaky bed. Doesn't sound like a big deal, but it kept on waking me up in the night until I got to such a state of exhaustion that I was able to sleep through it. I'm not a particularly big guy (under 200lbs), so I'd hope that it wasn't that! Don't hesitate to book if you feel as though it may be right for you, it's a great hotel. Lovely room service from the Citron restaurant, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service. Roast beef sandwich. Cheese platter. Run down the road to an off-license to grab a bottle of wine less the 300% markup, and ask for a bucket of ice with the order. Perfection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Six-Guinness
Clearwater, FL
Nov 14, 2010

Wonderful experience!

The hotel is located in a great spot, right in front of the main entrance to St. Stephen's Green and literally seconds from Grafton street, multiple taxis, bus stops, the Luas, and more. Our room itself was great, albeit a tad smaller than what we're used to in the states, and had a balcony overlooking the green which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge team. We didn't have a chance to visit the restaurants in the hotel, but the quality of food served up via room service was disappointing compared to places nearby with comparable price. All in all, great hotel, nice views, nice location, good staff, just avoid the room service and you'll love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're heading out of Dublin to visit other spots that aren't easily walkable, such as Howth or Malahide, just hop on the DART system instead of a taxi or tour bus. It's very fast and costs less than 5 euro round trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller Dam
Long Beach, CA
May 26, 2010

Nice Hotel although a lil Haughty

My wife and I were on our honeymoon. And first off had the hardest time locating the hotel, specifically finding the parking structure. Do your homework if you are planning on driving. After driving down from Derry we were not looking are most pristine, however the reception we got from the front desk clerk was as rude as we have ever received from a hotel receptionist. We felt as though she could care less about us, because we were not in a business suit as were most the other guest in the lobby at this time. But after this we did have a great time. The hotel is very nice and the City Center is quite the spectacle, although the City Center was much more expensive than anywhere else in Ireland. The rest of the staff treated us very nice for the rest of our stay. But we still are bothered by the treatment we received from the one Receptionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Indian place right down the street. I believe it was called Maloti. It was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron go Bragh
San Diego, CA
Dec 19, 2010

Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Nice funishings at the Hotel. Location at St Stephen's Green was walking distance from plenty of sites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get room snacks at Tesco's or the mall.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Gex
Carrollton, KY 41008, USA
May 31, 2013

Great location for walking

Staff was very helpful in everyway. Concierge was extremely helpful. Did leave a personal item that was not found after we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Guiness man
Great Britain
Aug 15, 2012

Great short break

I had read some bad reviews about the staff so was a little wary but, we had a great welcome from the door and reception staff. We did have an issue with slow draining water which we reported to reception who acted promtly to reslove the issue. The room was exacly as it looked in the advertsing pictures and the beds are really comfortable! If we went back to Dublin we would stay at the Fitzwilliam again. It's central and welcoming.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for 'Harrys Bar' for lunch. It's just a short walk from the hotel. Food is reasonably priced and good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
magnus
Baltimore, MD
Sep 8, 2011

Great hotel, great location and good value

This is our second stay at the Fitzwilliam. Our first stay involved a larger room so we may have been slightly disappointed this time but it is still a great value. The beds are very comfortable, the room is well-appointed, shower and bath are fantastic, toiletries marvelous, and the staff is really welcoming and professional. The location is safe and convenient, really one of the best locations in all of Dublin if not the best - right off St. Stephens green and the end of Grafton St. The decor is very tasteful, modern, and welcoming. While we did not dine or use the spa or gym, the concierge was very helpful in finding places to dine and making reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top