$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
87 reviews
Exceptional staff

Stayed 3 days.Excellent good value parking facilities .All staff were extremely friendly and... See full review

  • Links golfer
  • Jun 3, 2014
Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location . See full review

  • nickii
  • Mar 24, 2014
Designer hotel with Michelin star restaurant equals five-star stay
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Transportation
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3393 -6.2612
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (DUB), 15.00, KM, S;
Area description
From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes

Nearby points of interest

  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2010

A great hotel in a great location.

The hotel was amazing and the location was perfect. It was right near everything but not in the middle of everything. The front desk staff that checked us in showed us to our room and arranged for someone to watch our car (double parked out front) while we went up to the room. The only negative is that we were told that there was internet and that was a small part of our decision to stay there. It was down 3 of the 4 days we were there and it didn't seem like the staff really cared. Even stranger, the concierge internet worked yet ours didn't. The rooms were small but immaculate and very fun in their design. The conciereges were very attentive and helped arrange golf, restaurants, and reminded us to take our umbrellas. Would definitely stay there again. We didn't eat in the restaurants so we can't comment on those. Gym= 3 machines and a few weights. Nothing stellar but you can run in St. Stephen's Green right across the street instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R Tyler
Denver CO
Jul 29, 2010

Great location

Great location. Nice rooms although small. Very modern decore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
magnus
Baltimore, MD
Sep 8, 2011

Great hotel, great location and good value

This is our second stay at the Fitzwilliam. Our first stay involved a larger room so we may have been slightly disappointed this time but it is still a great value. The beds are very comfortable, the room is well-appointed, shower and bath are fantastic, toiletries marvelous, and the staff is really welcoming and professional. The location is safe and convenient, really one of the best locations in all of Dublin if not the best - right off St. Stephens green and the end of Grafton St. The decor is very tasteful, modern, and welcoming. While we did not dine or use the spa or gym, the concierge was very helpful in finding places to dine and making reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2010

A great hotel in a great location.

The hotel was amazing and the location was perfect. It was right near everything but not in the middle of everything. The front desk staff that checked us in showed us to our room and arranged for someone to watch our car (double parked out front) while we went up to the room. The only negative is that we were told that there was internet and that was a small part of our decision to stay there. It was down 3 of the 4 days we were there and it didn't seem like the staff really cared. Even stranger, the concierge internet worked yet ours didn't. The rooms were small but immaculate and very fun in their design. The conciereges were very attentive and helped arrange golf, restaurants, and reminded us to take our umbrellas. Would definitely stay there again. We didn't eat in the restaurants so we can't comment on those. Gym= 3 machines and a few weights. Nothing stellar but you can run in St. Stephen's Green right across the street instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndyMc
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 23, 2009

Excellent

Can't fault the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to Stephens Green Shopping Centre and Grafton Street

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toolward
Parker CO
Aug 5, 2013

First time to Dublin

Front desk staff were very nice and the room was very nice too. We overlooked the green and I was concerned about the street noise but the windows were well insulated. Bed and bath were very nice and the location couldn't be beat, easy walk to pubs. The hotel showed its age in stairwells but otherwise was in very good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bruxxels pub had great live music.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndyMc
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 23, 2009

Excellent

Can't fault the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to Stephens Green Shopping Centre and Grafton Street

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
London
May 2, 2010

First class in a great location

Situated right on St Stephen's Green, the location for the Fitzwilliam can't be beat. You're minutes from Grafton Street, Trinity College and Temple Bar. The staff were very helpful and friendly, and we liked the modern decor. Our room was roomy and comfortable, with an excellent shower. The restaurant in the hotel - Thornton's - was outstanding, the food was superb and the service was really excellent. We were celebrating a special occasion, and the chef came out to wish us well - a very special experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

O'Neill's Pub at the other end of Grafton Street - great sandwich bar, and a good carvery with huge portions. Lovely nooks and crannies in a nice atmospheric pub.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
montabella
Business
barcelona
Apr 24, 2013

Very nice

the staff are wonderful and the breakfast service is chaotic; the rooms are fine but the (albeit free) internet service is choppy and the towels are tired all told, the Fitzwilliam is a very nice hotel that I would recommend to friends

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2011

Lovely Hotel

The Fitzwilliam is a lovely hotel with first rate service. The room was clean, well appointed and is located right by St. Stephens Green. The staff is friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top