$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
61 reviews
Exceptional staff

Stayed 3 days.Excellent good value parking facilities .All staff were extremely friendly and... See full review

  • Links golfer
  • Jun 3, 2014
Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location . See full review

  • nickii
  • Mar 24, 2014
Designer hotel with Michelin star restaurant equals five-star stay
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Transportation
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options

Hotel Map

53.3393 -6.2612
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (DUB), 15.00, KM, S;
Area description
From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCamp
Business
NYC
Jun 2, 2010

Excellent Mojitos

I liked the area. It was quite and functional. My room was cleaner than other 5 star hotels I've been in. It is not a social hotel. It is not ritzy and/or glitzy. You don't see posers hanging around. It is quite sedate and peaceful and very close to everywhere without the noise. The staff are not intrusive. Don't expect to see elaborate decor in the lobby. The bar serves good drinks and they let you be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel food is quite good if not better than most in the surrounding area. I'm a "foodie" and am accustomed to the many selections of restaurants in NYC. I walked around the area and found that many of the hotel restaurants including Fitzwilliam is much better than the surrounding non-restaurants food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadJamesR
Business
Kennesaw, GA
Sep 20, 2010

Great Location

The location was great! We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Dublin and didn't need our rental car while staying at the hotel. The service was also great as they were very nice and helped in any way they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ireland Traveler
Business
Denver, CO
Oct 18, 2009

Great location with luxurious rooms

The staff were very professional and helpful. Quality rooms with a wonderful bed. Location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to Grafton Street which has many fashion type stores. There are many places to eat and pubs to have a drink.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R Tyler
Business
Denver CO
Jul 29, 2010

Great location

Great location. Nice rooms although small. Very modern decore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller Dam
Business
Long Beach, CA
May 26, 2010

Nice Hotel although a lil Haughty

My wife and I were on our honeymoon. And first off had the hardest time locating the hotel, specifically finding the parking structure. Do your homework if you are planning on driving. After driving down from Derry we were not looking are most pristine, however the reception we got from the front desk clerk was as rude as we have ever received from a hotel receptionist. We felt as though she could care less about us, because we were not in a business suit as were most the other guest in the lobby at this time. But after this we did have a great time. The hotel is very nice and the City Center is quite the spectacle, although the City Center was much more expensive than anywhere else in Ireland. The rest of the staff treated us very nice for the rest of our stay. But we still are bothered by the treatment we received from the one Receptionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Indian place right down the street. I believe it was called Maloti. It was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AndyMc
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Sep 23, 2009

Excellent

Can't fault the hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next door to Stephens Green Shopping Centre and Grafton Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Jan 2, 2010

Exceded expectations!!

The Fitzwilliam provided great accomidations and excellent service in every aspect. We could not have had a better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 27, 2010

Excellent Location - Mediocre Service

We were not impressed with reservationist/front desk because we requested a smoking/corner room with balcony - it was confirmed although not available when we arrived. Not all rooms overlook Stephen's Green and ours did not. Hotel services very expensive and room service food totally unimpressive. Housekeeping Services were excellent. Concierge and Front desk services were often to busy for customers. Stay there but eat elsewhere. Laundry services extremely expensive i.e. Three Euros for One Handkerchief!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a left out of the Fitzwilliam and walk straight down Grafton Street. You have everything here! I recommend Bewley's Cafe for full Irish breakfast just 9 euros, great food at O'Neils Pub across from Tourist center on Suffolk. Do only Rail Tours Ireland & you'll have a great time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 8, 2011

Lovely Hotel

The Fitzwilliam is a lovely hotel with first rate service. The room was clean, well appointed and is located right by St. Stephens Green. The staff is friendly and efficient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2010

A great hotel in a great location.

The hotel was amazing and the location was perfect. It was right near everything but not in the middle of everything. The front desk staff that checked us in showed us to our room and arranged for someone to watch our car (double parked out front) while we went up to the room. The only negative is that we were told that there was internet and that was a small part of our decision to stay there. It was down 3 of the 4 days we were there and it didn't seem like the staff really cared. Even stranger, the concierge internet worked yet ours didn't. The rooms were small but immaculate and very fun in their design. The conciereges were very attentive and helped arrange golf, restaurants, and reminded us to take our umbrellas. Would definitely stay there again. We didn't eat in the restaurants so we can't comment on those. Gym= 3 machines and a few weights. Nothing stellar but you can run in St. Stephen's Green right across the street instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top