$210 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 17, 2014 Check-out: Aug 18, 2014

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
87 reviews
Exceptional staff

Stayed 3 days.Excellent good value parking facilities .All staff were extremely friendly and... See full review

  • Links golfer
  • Jun 3, 2014
Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location . See full review

  • nickii
  • Mar 24, 2014
Designer hotel with Michelin star restaurant equals five-star stay
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Transportation
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options

Hotel Map

53.3393 -6.2612
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (DUB), 15.00, KM, S;
Area description
From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

98% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YvonneLC
Boston MA
Jun 12, 2014

budget hotel at a luxury rate

Starting with the positive - the location was amazing, right in the center of Dublin, walking distance to all the great places to visit. However, this is not a hotel I'd stay at again. Nothing was terrible, but everything was a little less than satisfactory - The room was nice but small, the bathroom was clean but the faucet leaks, and the minibar malfunctioned. The worst part of the experience was being charged 10 Euros for one local call. If this were a budget hotel, I would have no complaints, but it was definitely not worth the luxury hotel rate that we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveller Dam
Long Beach, CA
May 26, 2010

Nice Hotel although a lil Haughty

My wife and I were on our honeymoon. And first off had the hardest time locating the hotel, specifically finding the parking structure. Do your homework if you are planning on driving. After driving down from Derry we were not looking are most pristine, however the reception we got from the front desk clerk was as rude as we have ever received from a hotel receptionist. We felt as though she could care less about us, because we were not in a business suit as were most the other guest in the lobby at this time. But after this we did have a great time. The hotel is very nice and the City Center is quite the spectacle, although the City Center was much more expensive than anywhere else in Ireland. The rest of the staff treated us very nice for the rest of our stay. But we still are bothered by the treatment we received from the one Receptionist.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is an Indian place right down the street. I believe it was called Maloti. It was excellent.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
martcc
north wales
Aug 21, 2012

Perfect base to explore the city

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff, it seemed as if nothing was too much trouble. Hotel is minutes away from all the shopping, eating and drinking you could ever want but also the lovely St Stevens Green is right across the street and offers peace and quiet in the middle of the city. Not cheap but, as the old saying goes, you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey
Jul 31, 2011

Great Location

Great location to get around the center of Dublin city

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCamp
NYC
Jun 2, 2010

Excellent Mojitos

I liked the area. It was quite and functional. My room was cleaner than other 5 star hotels I've been in. It is not a social hotel. It is not ritzy and/or glitzy. You don't see posers hanging around. It is quite sedate and peaceful and very close to everywhere without the noise. The staff are not intrusive. Don't expect to see elaborate decor in the lobby. The bar serves good drinks and they let you be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel food is quite good if not better than most in the surrounding area. I'm a "foodie" and am accustomed to the many selections of restaurants in NYC. I walked around the area and found that many of the hotel restaurants including Fitzwilliam is much better than the surrounding non-restaurants food.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Not bad.

Nice room. A little small. Kept all amenities and mini bar stocked. Food not that great, Irish. Get out to the restaurants and pubs instead. Kept clean. I recommend a stay there is you can get a great rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Six-Guinness
Clearwater, FL
Nov 14, 2010

Wonderful experience!

The hotel is located in a great spot, right in front of the main entrance to St. Stephen's Green and literally seconds from Grafton street, multiple taxis, bus stops, the Luas, and more. Our room itself was great, albeit a tad smaller than what we're used to in the states, and had a balcony overlooking the green which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge team. We didn't have a chance to visit the restaurants in the hotel, but the quality of food served up via room service was disappointing compared to places nearby with comparable price. All in all, great hotel, nice views, nice location, good staff, just avoid the room service and you'll love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're heading out of Dublin to visit other spots that aren't easily walkable, such as Howth or Malahide, just hop on the DART system instead of a taxi or tour bus. It's very fast and costs less than 5 euro round trip.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadJamesR
Kennesaw, GA
Sep 20, 2010

Great Location

The location was great! We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Dublin and didn't need our rental car while staying at the hotel. The service was also great as they were very nice and helped in any way they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron go Bragh
San Diego, CA
Dec 19, 2010

Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Nice funishings at the Hotel. Location at St Stephen's Green was walking distance from plenty of sites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get room snacks at Tesco's or the mall.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Not bad.

Nice room. A little small. Kept all amenities and mini bar stocked. Food not that great, Irish. Get out to the restaurants and pubs instead. Kept clean. I recommend a stay there is you can get a great rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top