$208 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 2, 2014 Check-out: Nov 3, 2014

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
62 reviews
Exceptional staff

Stayed 3 days.Excellent good value parking facilities .All staff were extremely friendly and... See full review

  • Links golfer
  • Jun 3, 2014
Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location . See full review

  • nickii
  • Mar 24, 2014
Designer hotel with Michelin star restaurant equals five-star stay
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Transportation
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options

Hotel Map

53.3393 -6.2612
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (DUB), 15.00, KM, S;
Area description
From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (62)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
62 out of 62
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silvia0
Deutschland
Apr 25, 2012

Great weekend in The Fitzwilliam!

Had a great room, the staff was superfriendly! The hotel location is great and we were able to reach the main sights just by foot. Would book the hotel again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickii
Business
Scotland
Mar 24, 2014

Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
European Travelers
Business
Michigan and Germany
May 17, 2010

Close to town, away from noise

Truthfully we were only in our hotel to sleep. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. The concierge wanted to direct us to more expensive places to eat but we wanted to enjoy and relax in Dublin. So we ventured out on our own taking advise from the locals. Our taxi driver, a life-long Dubliner, gave us the best advice. The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk to Temple Bar and at the end of the busy Grafton Street. Can walk 5 minutes to the National Gallery and Library as well. The hotel bar is open 24 hours but was too quiet for our taste. Seemed to cater to the business person. Can't comment on the food because we didn't eat at the hotel. Suggest to explore Dublin. We never had a bad meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Guiness and Black for the ladies. They add a shot of blackcurrent to your pint. Gogarty's in Temple Bar for great food and entertainment. First-timers to Dublin, take a hop-on hop-off tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paddy Patty
Business
London
Jun 9, 2010

Superb!

Really enjoyed my stay, cool decor, great staff and very chilled. In a perfect part of the city centre, walking distance to many areas and attractions and close enough to the night-out areas without dealing with the noise when you are done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucestershire
Oct 19, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel, rooms really quiet - particularly considering the size and location! Staff helful and friendly. Beds comfortable. Big bath. What more could you ask for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys cafe is just down the road and does good breakfasts/lunches. Also had a good meal at Fallon and Byrne - though the service wasn't great the food was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wild
Business
Richmond, VA
Apr 22, 2011

Dublin trip

Fitz William was FANTASTIC! Staff was great and very helpful. Prior to trip they answered every email promptly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JPWOWS
Business
Ireland
Mar 13, 2012

True 5 star

This was a long weekend to celebrate a 27th wedding anniversary and we could not have selected a better venue. The room was fantastic and the service was unobtrusive, but that is what great service should be. Every member of staff with whom we came into contact was both professional and friendly, which is a great combination. Nothing was too much trouble and every request was attended to without hesitation. I have used the hotel for business, but it is also a great hotel for a holiday base in a wonderful city - although I am Irish and perhaps biased!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fire Restaurant in Dawson Street - simply magnificent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Silvia0
Business
Deutschland
Apr 25, 2012

Great weekend in The Fitzwilliam!

Had a great room, the staff was superfriendly! The hotel location is great and we were able to reach the main sights just by foot. Would book the hotel again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orion1000
Business
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2012

New favorite Dublin Hotel

My stay was fantastic. The service is GREAT here... I felt like I had a personal butler from the day I came in - the initial concierge / bellman greeted me by name daily & answered anything I asked...he was incredible. I haven't seen this at the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, or any top tier hotel. Even housekeeping remembers your personal preferences like extra towels and not so many pillows and so on. I have stayed at 2 other Dublin hotels in a similar price range (Shelbourne and Westbury) and although I had larger rooms in those, the service here made up for it. This hotel also has a younger / contemporary feel with staff that made me feel a little less like another American tourist wandering around (though the staff at the other two are great - it had a slightly different vibe here... I couldn't imagine someone in the Shelbourne letting me email them a file to print within 10 minutes of me needing it). Also, don't be too put off by the small room size in sq meters...whoever designed the layout was extremely thoughtful to put shelves and closets exactly where they needed to be. It didn't feel small - and was actually smaller than a NYC room I had that felt like a closet (because that place was not laid out well). The bathroom has a lot of shelf space and better shower pressure (plus a handheld) than the other two. Internet was free (thank you!). So - I would stay here again for sure. My room was also super quiet thanks to the courtyard...and it was very convenient to everything. You could not hear things above you like the Shelbourne - and there was minimal (if any) hall noise. Sometimes the voices in the next room came through, muffled - as they did in the other two hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of cabs are out and to your left - any time. Also, if you are ever lost - just look for 2 things - the big dome on top of the shopping center (around the corner) and/or the TGI Fridays sign (of all things...) which is surprisingly just a couple doors down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pooley
Business
Ahakista, west cork
Feb 3, 2013

Fitzwilliam hotel

We stay here each time we are in Dublin, about 5 or 6 times a year, it never disappoints, always up to a 5star level.....Betsey Cutler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Russie
Business
Sussex
Mar 20, 2013

Fabulous Romantic St Patricks Day

I booked this weekend break as a gift for my niece`s 21st birthday on St Patricks day. The hotel couldn`t do enough for her and even surprised her in her room with some cakes and goodies! Fantastic-I`ll be going myself in the spring!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top