$189 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
View map of St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
71 out of 71
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orion1000
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2012

New favorite Dublin Hotel

My stay was fantastic. The service is GREAT here... I felt like I had a personal butler from the day I came in - the initial concierge / bellman greeted me by name daily & answered anything I asked...he was incredible. I haven't seen this at the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, or any top tier hotel. Even housekeeping remembers your personal preferences like extra towels and not so many pillows and so on. I have stayed at 2 other Dublin hotels in a similar price range (Shelbourne and Westbury) and although I had larger rooms in those, the service here made up for it. This hotel also has a younger / contemporary feel with staff that made me feel a little less like another American tourist wandering around (though the staff at the other two are great - it had a slightly different vibe here... I couldn't imagine someone in the Shelbourne letting me email them a file to print within 10 minutes of me needing it). Also, don't be too put off by the small room size in sq meters...whoever designed the layout was extremely thoughtful to put shelves and closets exactly where they needed to be. It didn't feel small - and was actually smaller than a NYC room I had that felt like a closet (because that place was not laid out well). The bathroom has a lot of shelf space and better shower pressure (plus a handheld) than the other two. Internet was free (thank you!). So - I would stay here again for sure. My room was also super quiet thanks to the courtyard...and it was very convenient to everything. You could not hear things above you like the Shelbourne - and there was minimal (if any) hall noise. Sometimes the voices in the next room came through, muffled - as they did in the other two hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of cabs are out and to your left - any time. Also, if you are ever lost - just look for 2 things - the big dome on top of the shopping center (around the corner) and/or the TGI Fridays sign (of all things...) which is surprisingly just a couple doors down.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aaron go Bragh
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 19, 2010

Fitzwilliam Hotel Dublin

Nice funishings at the Hotel. Location at St Stephen's Green was walking distance from plenty of sites

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get room snacks at Tesco's or the mall.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irishbarl
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 2, 2010

I could live there

They thought of everything. A lovely stay all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Not bad.

Nice room. A little small. Kept all amenities and mini bar stocked. Food not that great, Irish. Get out to the restaurants and pubs instead. Kept clean. I recommend a stay there is you can get a great rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Six-Guinness
Business
Clearwater, FL
Nov 14, 2010

Wonderful experience!

The hotel is located in a great spot, right in front of the main entrance to St. Stephen's Green and literally seconds from Grafton street, multiple taxis, bus stops, the Luas, and more. Our room itself was great, albeit a tad smaller than what we're used to in the states, and had a balcony overlooking the green which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge team. We didn't have a chance to visit the restaurants in the hotel, but the quality of food served up via room service was disappointing compared to places nearby with comparable price. All in all, great hotel, nice views, nice location, good staff, just avoid the room service and you'll love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're heading out of Dublin to visit other spots that aren't easily walkable, such as Howth or Malahide, just hop on the DART system instead of a taxi or tour bus. It's very fast and costs less than 5 euro round trip.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny
Business
Hastings, UK
Oct 30, 2010

Great locatioN

The room was smaller than I expected at the price. When the TV didn't work properly we were upgraded to a VERY nice room. The tram stops outside, so in the summer the bell ringing during the night would be a problem if the windows were open. (There is air conditioning, so it could be closed). Overall the hotel felt calm and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're seconds away from bars, clubs and shops.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny
Business
Hastings, UK
Oct 30, 2010

Great locatioN

The room was smaller than I expected at the price. When the TV didn't work properly we were upgraded to a VERY nice room. The tram stops outside, so in the summer the bell ringing during the night would be a problem if the windows were open. (There is air conditioning, so it could be closed). Overall the hotel felt calm and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're seconds away from bars, clubs and shops.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 27, 2010

Excellent Location - Mediocre Service

We were not impressed with reservationist/front desk because we requested a smoking/corner room with balcony - it was confirmed although not available when we arrived. Not all rooms overlook Stephen's Green and ours did not. Hotel services very expensive and room service food totally unimpressive. Housekeeping Services were excellent. Concierge and Front desk services were often to busy for customers. Stay there but eat elsewhere. Laundry services extremely expensive i.e. Three Euros for One Handkerchief!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a left out of the Fitzwilliam and walk straight down Grafton Street. You have everything here! I recommend Bewley's Cafe for full Irish breakfast just 9 euros, great food at O'Neils Pub across from Tourist center on Suffolk. Do only Rail Tours Ireland & you'll have a great time!

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucestershire
Oct 19, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel, rooms really quiet - particularly considering the size and location! Staff helful and friendly. Beds comfortable. Big bath. What more could you ask for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys cafe is just down the road and does good breakfasts/lunches. Also had a good meal at Fallon and Byrne - though the service wasn't great the food was excellent.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucestershire
Oct 19, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel, rooms really quiet - particularly considering the size and location! Staff helful and friendly. Beds comfortable. Big bath. What more could you ask for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys cafe is just down the road and does good breakfasts/lunches. Also had a good meal at Fallon and Byrne - though the service wasn't great the food was excellent.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Eddy
Business
London
Sep 22, 2010

Lovely stay, although noisy bed?

As the title suggests, it's a lovely hotel in a GREAT position; right next to Grafton Street, nice restaurants, shops, etc, without being too noisy or rough in the evenings. There is a carpark beneath the hotel for which hotel guests are subsidised - although this is not stated anywhere else that their website, so even though it only states one price for day/night at the carpark entrance, go and ask at reception and they will validate your parking at a reduced rate. Sounds obvious, but there were no signs pertaining to this when we were there, and were not told as such by any staff members until we asked why we were being charged £80 for two nights and one day's worth of parking. Our room had a squeaky bed. Doesn't sound like a big deal, but it kept on waking me up in the night until I got to such a state of exhaustion that I was able to sleep through it. I'm not a particularly big guy (under 200lbs), so I'd hope that it wasn't that! Don't hesitate to book if you feel as though it may be right for you, it's a great hotel. Lovely room service from the Citron restaurant, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service. Roast beef sandwich. Cheese platter. Run down the road to an off-license to grab a bottle of wine less the 300% markup, and ask for a bucket of ice with the order. Perfection.

Back to menu Return to top