Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
View map of St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
70 reviews
lovely romantic getaway

Absolutely lovely experience staff were extremely friendly even got upgraded to deluxe room and... See full review

  • Rachel D.
  • Apr 17, 2015
ms

excellant location, friendly helpful staff, oeverything very walkable ditance and restaurant served... See full review

  • Gail F.
  • Mar 10, 2015
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
General

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Location
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Dining
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Property features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Nearby attractions
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options
Transportation
Luxury hotel offers stylish retreat in the heart of Dublin

 

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Hotel Map

53.3393 -6.2612
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (DUB), 15.00, KM, S;
Area description
From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (70)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
70 out of 70
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
irishbarl
Business
Boston, MA
Dec 2, 2010

I could live there

They thought of everything. A lovely stay all around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Nov 22, 2010

Not bad.

Nice room. A little small. Kept all amenities and mini bar stocked. Food not that great, Irish. Get out to the restaurants and pubs instead. Kept clean. I recommend a stay there is you can get a great rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joe Six-Guinness
Business
Clearwater, FL
Nov 14, 2010

Wonderful experience!

The hotel is located in a great spot, right in front of the main entrance to St. Stephen's Green and literally seconds from Grafton street, multiple taxis, bus stops, the Luas, and more. Our room itself was great, albeit a tad smaller than what we're used to in the states, and had a balcony overlooking the green which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the concierge team. We didn't have a chance to visit the restaurants in the hotel, but the quality of food served up via room service was disappointing compared to places nearby with comparable price. All in all, great hotel, nice views, nice location, good staff, just avoid the room service and you'll love it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're heading out of Dublin to visit other spots that aren't easily walkable, such as Howth or Malahide, just hop on the DART system instead of a taxi or tour bus. It's very fast and costs less than 5 euro round trip.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny
Business
Hastings, UK
Oct 30, 2010

Great locatioN

The room was smaller than I expected at the price. When the TV didn't work properly we were upgraded to a VERY nice room. The tram stops outside, so in the summer the bell ringing during the night would be a problem if the windows were open. (There is air conditioning, so it could be closed). Overall the hotel felt calm and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're seconds away from bars, clubs and shops.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny
Business
Hastings, UK
Oct 30, 2010

Great locatioN

The room was smaller than I expected at the price. When the TV didn't work properly we were upgraded to a VERY nice room. The tram stops outside, so in the summer the bell ringing during the night would be a problem if the windows were open. (There is air conditioning, so it could be closed). Overall the hotel felt calm and peaceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

You're seconds away from bars, clubs and shops.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Oct 27, 2010

Excellent Location - Mediocre Service

We were not impressed with reservationist/front desk because we requested a smoking/corner room with balcony - it was confirmed although not available when we arrived. Not all rooms overlook Stephen's Green and ours did not. Hotel services very expensive and room service food totally unimpressive. Housekeeping Services were excellent. Concierge and Front desk services were often to busy for customers. Stay there but eat elsewhere. Laundry services extremely expensive i.e. Three Euros for One Handkerchief!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Make a left out of the Fitzwilliam and walk straight down Grafton Street. You have everything here! I recommend Bewley's Cafe for full Irish breakfast just 9 euros, great food at O'Neils Pub across from Tourist center on Suffolk. Do only Rail Tours Ireland & you'll have a great time!

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucestershire
Oct 19, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel, rooms really quiet - particularly considering the size and location! Staff helful and friendly. Beds comfortable. Big bath. What more could you ask for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys cafe is just down the road and does good breakfasts/lunches. Also had a good meal at Fallon and Byrne - though the service wasn't great the food was excellent.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Gloucestershire
Oct 19, 2010

Great hotel

Great hotel, rooms really quiet - particularly considering the size and location! Staff helful and friendly. Beds comfortable. Big bath. What more could you ask for...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bewleys cafe is just down the road and does good breakfasts/lunches. Also had a good meal at Fallon and Byrne - though the service wasn't great the food was excellent.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Eddy
Business
London
Sep 22, 2010

Lovely stay, although noisy bed?

As the title suggests, it's a lovely hotel in a GREAT position; right next to Grafton Street, nice restaurants, shops, etc, without being too noisy or rough in the evenings. There is a carpark beneath the hotel for which hotel guests are subsidised - although this is not stated anywhere else that their website, so even though it only states one price for day/night at the carpark entrance, go and ask at reception and they will validate your parking at a reduced rate. Sounds obvious, but there were no signs pertaining to this when we were there, and were not told as such by any staff members until we asked why we were being charged £80 for two nights and one day's worth of parking. Our room had a squeaky bed. Doesn't sound like a big deal, but it kept on waking me up in the night until I got to such a state of exhaustion that I was able to sleep through it. I'm not a particularly big guy (under 200lbs), so I'd hope that it wasn't that! Don't hesitate to book if you feel as though it may be right for you, it's a great hotel. Lovely room service from the Citron restaurant, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service. Roast beef sandwich. Cheese platter. Run down the road to an off-license to grab a bottle of wine less the 300% markup, and ask for a bucket of ice with the order. Perfection.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Eddy
Business
London
Sep 22, 2010

Lovely stay, although noisy bed?

As the title suggests, it's a lovely hotel in a GREAT position; right next to Grafton Street, nice restaurants, shops, etc, without being too noisy or rough in the evenings. There is a carpark beneath the hotel for which hotel guests are subsidised - although this is not stated anywhere else that their website, so even though it only states one price for day/night at the carpark entrance, go and ask at reception and they will validate your parking at a reduced rate. Sounds obvious, but there were no signs pertaining to this when we were there, and were not told as such by any staff members until we asked why we were being charged £80 for two nights and one day's worth of parking. Our room had a squeaky bed. Doesn't sound like a big deal, but it kept on waking me up in the night until I got to such a state of exhaustion that I was able to sleep through it. I'm not a particularly big guy (under 200lbs), so I'd hope that it wasn't that! Don't hesitate to book if you feel as though it may be right for you, it's a great hotel. Lovely room service from the Citron restaurant, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service. Roast beef sandwich. Cheese platter. Run down the road to an off-license to grab a bottle of wine less the 300% markup, and ask for a bucket of ice with the order. Perfection.

Back to menu Return to top