$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 7, 2014 Check-out: Oct 8, 2014

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
59 reviews
Exceptional staff

Stayed 3 days.Excellent good value parking facilities .All staff were extremely friendly and... See full review

  • Links golfer
  • Jun 3, 2014
Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location . See full review

  • nickii
  • Mar 24, 2014
Designer hotel with Michelin star restaurant equals five-star stay
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Transportation
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options

Hotel Map

53.3393 -6.2612
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
Dublin, (DUB), 15.00, KM, S;
Area description
From its central location, in amongst this buzzing vibrant city it is an easy stroll to explore the leading cultural, historical and leisure attractions. Or just step out to the chic shopping, high energy bars, fine dining restaurants and chattering Cafes

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • St Stephen's Green: 0 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • Dublin Castle Gardens: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
English Eddy
London
Sep 22, 2010

Lovely stay, although noisy bed?

As the title suggests, it's a lovely hotel in a GREAT position; right next to Grafton Street, nice restaurants, shops, etc, without being too noisy or rough in the evenings. There is a carpark beneath the hotel for which hotel guests are subsidised - although this is not stated anywhere else that their website, so even though it only states one price for day/night at the carpark entrance, go and ask at reception and they will validate your parking at a reduced rate. Sounds obvious, but there were no signs pertaining to this when we were there, and were not told as such by any staff members until we asked why we were being charged £80 for two nights and one day's worth of parking. Our room had a squeaky bed. Doesn't sound like a big deal, but it kept on waking me up in the night until I got to such a state of exhaustion that I was able to sleep through it. I'm not a particularly big guy (under 200lbs), so I'd hope that it wasn't that! Don't hesitate to book if you feel as though it may be right for you, it's a great hotel. Lovely room service from the Citron restaurant, too!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

Room service. Roast beef sandwich. Cheese platter. Run down the road to an off-license to grab a bottle of wine less the 300% markup, and ask for a bucket of ice with the order. Perfection.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadJamesR
Kennesaw, GA
Sep 20, 2010

Great Location

The location was great! We were within walking distance of everything we wanted to see in Dublin and didn't need our rental car while staying at the hotel. The service was also great as they were very nice and helped in any way they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Baltimore, MD
Aug 22, 2010

Excellent service and comfort

The location was fantastic, both at the end of Grafton Street with excellent shopping and across from St. Stephens Green, a beautiful large city park. The room had fresh flowers (orchid and peonies), robes and slippers, a stereo system, rain shower and deep tub, candles, window seats, down pillows and comforter, and attractive furnishings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Ely's Wine Bar on the other side of St. Stephen's Green has a great wine list and delicious nosh. It's a quiet, intimate setting.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SteveB
Tampa, FL
Aug 8, 2010

Great hotel in a great location

This hotel is perfectly located across from the beautiful St. Stephens Green, and at the base of Grafton Street. The rooms are beautiful, spacious, quiet and comfortable. The staff pays extreme attention to detail, and service is of the highest quality. The concierges are extremely knowledgeable and helpful. One of them provided three restaurant recommendations and made the reservations for us. All three were superb. We always try to stay at excellent hotels, and this is one of the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R Tyler
Denver CO
Jul 29, 2010

Great location

Great location. Nice rooms although small. Very modern decore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jul 13, 2010

A great hotel in a great location.

The hotel was amazing and the location was perfect. It was right near everything but not in the middle of everything. The front desk staff that checked us in showed us to our room and arranged for someone to watch our car (double parked out front) while we went up to the room. The only negative is that we were told that there was internet and that was a small part of our decision to stay there. It was down 3 of the 4 days we were there and it didn't seem like the staff really cared. Even stranger, the concierge internet worked yet ours didn't. The rooms were small but immaculate and very fun in their design. The conciereges were very attentive and helped arrange golf, restaurants, and reminded us to take our umbrellas. Would definitely stay there again. We didn't eat in the restaurants so we can't comment on those. Gym= 3 machines and a few weights. Nothing stellar but you can run in St. Stephen's Green right across the street instead!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bird lover from kensington
Kensington, MD, USA
Jun 28, 2010

Contemporary Hotel, Great Location

This hotel has a tasteful contemporary design, both in the common rooms and in the guest rooms. If you're looking for traditional, this is not the hotel for you but we loved it. It's on St. Stephens Green near Grafton Street so there the location is perfect for shopping, dining and sightseeing. The rooms were very clean, reasonably sized, amenity filled and had modern well lit bathrooms. The concierge, [...], was super -- very helpful and knowledgeable. We had a quiet room overlooking the rooftop garden. The only slight problem was that we couldn't get the room temperature below 24 (75) degrees and the beds only had quite warm duvets. But the room windows did open and it did cool off at night. Dublin was quite warm and sunny during our stay at the Fitzwilliam. Now we're staying at the Shelbourne so we can compare the two. Style-wise we prefer the Fitzwilliam, in all other considerations -- cleanliness, food, service, amenities -- the two hotels are comparable. The air conditioning works better at the Shelbourne.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfasts can be expensive at the hotels unless you have a deal where it is included. We didn't at the Fitzwilliam but because there are so many streets closeby that have great places it wasn't a problem. We particularly liked the Boulangerie Cafe on Chatham Street between Grafton and Clarendon. Great coffee and yummy omelets -- and their breads and pastries are great too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paddy Patty
London
Jun 9, 2010

Superb!

Really enjoyed my stay, cool decor, great staff and very chilled. In a perfect part of the city centre, walking distance to many areas and attractions and close enough to the night-out areas without dealing with the noise when you are done!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JCamp
NYC
Jun 2, 2010

Excellent Mojitos

I liked the area. It was quite and functional. My room was cleaner than other 5 star hotels I've been in. It is not a social hotel. It is not ritzy and/or glitzy. You don't see posers hanging around. It is quite sedate and peaceful and very close to everywhere without the noise. The staff are not intrusive. Don't expect to see elaborate decor in the lobby. The bar serves good drinks and they let you be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel food is quite good if not better than most in the surrounding area. I'm a "foodie" and am accustomed to the many selections of restaurants in NYC. I walked around the area and found that many of the hotel restaurants including Fitzwilliam is much better than the surrounding non-restaurants food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ottawa, Canada
May 31, 2010

This Hotel is GREAT

First class treatment from the greeting at the door till we left. We felt welcomed and able to ask for whatever we wanted and no problem for the staff. Room was laid out beautifully, even had a live orchid in the room. Bed was super comfortable, queen sized and furniture and decor all added to the pleasure of being in the room. very quiet, except for the running of the shower in the room next door, and that was not a big deal. Gym was worth a visit and had everything needed to keep in the routine of fitness. Shower AND bath and great lighting. Internet was both cord and wireless and worked well. Perfect location for Dublin exploring - park across the street is quiet and a joy; lots of shopping right nearby; get to tours easily and the neighbourhood is easy-going. Only 2 negatives and they were small: we consulted the concierge for a couple of things and two different ones steered us toward things they were pushing, instead of getting us what we wanted. 2nd was the shower curtain didn't go around enough and water pooled on the bathroom floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search