$202 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
View map of St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orion1000
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2012

New favorite Dublin Hotel

My stay was fantastic. The service is GREAT here... I felt like I had a personal butler from the day I came in - the initial concierge / bellman greeted me by name daily & answered anything I asked...he was incredible. I haven't seen this at the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, or any top tier hotel. Even housekeeping remembers your personal preferences like extra towels and not so many pillows and so on. I have stayed at 2 other Dublin hotels in a similar price range (Shelbourne and Westbury) and although I had larger rooms in those, the service here made up for it. This hotel also has a younger / contemporary feel with staff that made me feel a little less like another American tourist wandering around (though the staff at the other two are great - it had a slightly different vibe here... I couldn't imagine someone in the Shelbourne letting me email them a file to print within 10 minutes of me needing it). Also, don't be too put off by the small room size in sq meters...whoever designed the layout was extremely thoughtful to put shelves and closets exactly where they needed to be. It didn't feel small - and was actually smaller than a NYC room I had that felt like a closet (because that place was not laid out well). The bathroom has a lot of shelf space and better shower pressure (plus a handheld) than the other two. Internet was free (thank you!). So - I would stay here again for sure. My room was also super quiet thanks to the courtyard...and it was very convenient to everything. You could not hear things above you like the Shelbourne - and there was minimal (if any) hall noise. Sometimes the voices in the next room came through, muffled - as they did in the other two hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of cabs are out and to your left - any time. Also, if you are ever lost - just look for 2 things - the big dome on top of the shopping center (around the corner) and/or the TGI Fridays sign (of all things...) which is surprisingly just a couple doors down.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RoomRaider69
Business
Bermuda
Jun 1, 2014

Good enough

I have stayed at all four of the main hotels near St. Stephen's Green and the Merrion Sq area. They're all fine and booking the cheapest isn't a bad way to go if one is a lot cheaper than the others. Fitzwilliam is a new modern property but lacks the old Irish charm of two of the others nearby... the Irish Constitution definitely wasn't signed on the second floor of this property. The Fitzwilliam location is probably best, as it's closest to Gaiety Corner and Grafton St, from which it's a short walk to Temple Bar and other prime areas. The walls are a bit flimsy here - possible to hear conversations in the next room - and the sound of running water in the middle of the night was a bit annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJH14
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 23, 2014

Lovely Hotel in Perfect Location

I don't know what more you could want from a hotel. Sir Terrance Conran-designed, you get a lovely room that's not only well-appointed, but comfortable and unbelievably serene in a large city. It's location is perfect for doing anything in Dublin and steps away from Grafton Street for shopping or a play at the Gaiety Theater. This was a great deal within the pre-paid package we bought, as well. A Five-Star hotel for the price of a 2-3 star! So remember to watch for the air-hotel packages! We didn't use a lot of the amenities, since we've been to Dublin many times -- but the staff couldn't have been friendlier with the delivery of giant chocolate eggs for Easter (a hotel gift) and a hug from the doorman when we left. :) What more could you want? :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
nickii
Business
Scotland
Mar 24, 2014

Single lady traveller

excellent , so helpful , food great Will be back, terrific location .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Visiting Non Dignitary
Business
Marin, California
Nov 12, 2013

I will stay here again!

I stayed a week while visiting my daughter and the hotel staff (concierge, desk, door, and room) were all incredibly helpful, informed, and kind to both of us! It was a perfect home-base for exploring Dublin and the surrounding area. Most mornings I would pick up my coffee americano from the Bald Barrista next door and walk around St Stephen's Green before heading out with my tour guide for the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Thornton's restaurant, though the most expensive meal of my stay, was a truly amazing dining experience. And it was right next to the hotel as well. I usually avoid hotel restaurants - not this one!

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orion1000
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 22, 2013

Very nice hotel and quiet

This is in a great location, has a quiet view of the courtyard. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pegasus121
Business
Buchillon Switzerland
Sep 20, 2013

Nice Hotel probably ready for an upgrade

Friendly and welcoming with some interesting touches. Rooms a little small and décor becoming dated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emes
Business
Dublin
Sep 9, 2013

A feel-good spot

My 2night stay at the Fitzwilliam was made most memorable because of the excellent staff. On every level all services were very friendly and welcoming without over familiarity. This quality was what set the hotel apart.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Toolward
Business
Parker CO
Aug 5, 2013

First time to Dublin

Front desk staff were very nice and the room was very nice too. We overlooked the green and I was concerned about the street noise but the windows were well insulated. Bed and bath were very nice and the location couldn't be beat, easy walk to pubs. The hotel showed its age in stairwells but otherwise was in very good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Bruxxels pub had great live music.

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ed Gex
Business
Carrollton, KY 41008, USA
May 31, 2013

Great location for walking

Staff was very helpful in everyway. Concierge was extremely helpful. Did leave a personal item that was not found after we left.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cauliflower Queen
Business
New York
May 26, 2013

Clean and convenient 5 star

I was glad the hotel was up to snuff. Being in Dublin and other large cities one can get something terrible when you don't know the city. The location was ideal and the room was very clean and comfortable, however we were not able to check in at 2:00 pm because check in was at 3 p.m. and the room was not ready. Really and hour before check in and the room is not ready?. The room was smaller than I expected but it is the city and space is precious. Overall a nice 5 star place that I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top