$186 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 5, 2015

Fitzwilliam Hotel

5 stars
View map of St Stephen'S Green, Dublin, 2

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.5
out of 5
67 reviews
lovely romantic getaway

Absolutely lovely experience staff were extremely friendly even got upgraded to deluxe room and... See full review

  • Rachel D.
  • Apr 17, 2015
ms

excellant location, friendly helpful staff, oeverything very walkable ditance and restaurant served... See full review

  • Gail F.
  • Mar 10, 2015
Designer hotel with Michelin star restaurant equals five-star stay
No detail of the luxurious Ftizwilliam Hotel, from the fabrics to the in-room telephones, has escaped the talented eye of Sir Terence Conran. The illustrious British designer created this award-winning hotel by Dublin's St. Stephen's Green in 1998 for stylish travelers. Palatial bedrooms with views of the park and mountains transport guests from the bustle of the city center. A Michelin star restaurant and unique rooftop garden make this a refined refuge for travelers to the Irish capital.

 

Highlights
  • Contemporary award-winning hotel designed by famed British designer Sir Terence Conran
  • Michelin star chef Kevin Thornton serves Dublin's finest cuisine
  • Stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and Dublin Mountains, plus rooftop garden
Rooms

The sumptuously decorated rooms at the Fitzwilliam feature all standard amenities and luxuries like duck down bedding, fresh-cut flowers, complimentary still and sparkling water, daily newspaper, high-speed Internet and in-room safe. Superior and executive rooms have private balconies with stunning views of St. Stephen's Green and the Dublin Mountains.  Each room includes bathrobes and slippers for guests. A two-bedroom penthouse apartment is also available, complete with butler service.

Features

Although the Fitzwilliam's prime location is close to fine dining and entertainment, guests may want to stick close to their quarters. The hotel's Michelin-starred restaurant, Thornton's, run by chef extraordinaire Kevin Thornton, is seen by many as Dublin's best restaurant. The chic Citron restaurant serves modern Irish cuisine and guests can enjoy drinks late into the night at the intimate cocktail bar, Inn on the Green. The hotel's Spirit and Kaizen salons offer an array of luxurious beauty services and the gym is available 24 hours. The Fitzwilliam also features Ireland's largest rooftop garden.

Transportation
  • Luas stop: St. Stephen's Green, Green line
  • Dublin bus service 20B, 33X, 46B, 46N
  • On-site parking (fee applies)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center
  • Temple Bar
Business
  • Meeting rooms for up to 80 guests
  • Audiovisual facilities such as TV, projector and screen, DVD/VCR
  • Broadband Internet service
  • Onsite parking
  • Dining options

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzwilliam Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Fitzwilliam Hotel Rooms

EXECUTIVE GUEST ROOM
These newly refurbished rooms are designed with a soothing palette of aubergine, limes and whites.They may accommodate a queen or a king size bed and a window seat, from which you can view our roof garden. Enjoy the complimentary broadband and wifi in your room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
General
Concierge
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Nearby points of interest

  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Gaiety Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 0.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 0.1 mi
  • Grafton Street: 0.1 mi
  • The Keeling Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Mall: 0.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 0.2 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 0.2 mi
  • The Duke Street Gallery: 0.2 mi
  • Aungier Street: 0.2 mi
  • Whitefriar Street Carmelite Church: 0.2 mi
  • Castle Market: 0.2 mi
  • Brown Thomas: 0.2 mi
  • The Dolls Store Hospital & Museum: 0.2 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 0.3 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.3 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 0.3 mi
  • Chester Beatty Library: 0.3 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 0.3 mi
  • Leinster House: 0.3 mi
  • The Douglas Hyde Gallery: 0.3 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Trinity Street: 0.3 mi
  • The Garda Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.3 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 0.4 mi
  • College Green: 0.4 mi
  • Kildare Street: 0.4 mi
  • Dame Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 0.4 mi
  • Meeting House Square: 0.4 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.4 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 0.4 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.4 mi
  • Olympia Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Royal Exchange: 0.4 mi
  • The Ark: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Patrick's Cathedral: 0.4 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Old Library and Book of Kells: 0.4 mi
  • St Patricks Cathedral: 0.4 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
For conferences, meetings or presentations, The Fitzwilliam's flexible conference rooms accommodate 16 to 100 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Fitzwilliam Hotel

Overall score

4.5 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.9
Value:
4.1

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
orion1000
Chicago, IL
May 3, 2012

New favorite Dublin Hotel

My stay was fantastic. The service is GREAT here... I felt like I had a personal butler from the day I came in - the initial concierge / bellman greeted me by name daily & answered anything I asked...he was incredible. I haven't seen this at the Ritz Carlton, Four Seasons, or any top tier hotel. Even housekeeping remembers your personal preferences like extra towels and not so many pillows and so on. I have stayed at 2 other Dublin hotels in a similar price range (Shelbourne and Westbury) and although I had larger rooms in those, the service here made up for it. This hotel also has a younger / contemporary feel with staff that made me feel a little less like another American tourist wandering around (though the staff at the other two are great - it had a slightly different vibe here... I couldn't imagine someone in the Shelbourne letting me email them a file to print within 10 minutes of me needing it). Also, don't be too put off by the small room size in sq meters...whoever designed the layout was extremely thoughtful to put shelves and closets exactly where they needed to be. It didn't feel small - and was actually smaller than a NYC room I had that felt like a closet (because that place was not laid out well). The bathroom has a lot of shelf space and better shower pressure (plus a handheld) than the other two. Internet was free (thank you!). So - I would stay here again for sure. My room was also super quiet thanks to the courtyard...and it was very convenient to everything. You could not hear things above you like the Shelbourne - and there was minimal (if any) hall noise. Sometimes the voices in the next room came through, muffled - as they did in the other two hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Tons of cabs are out and to your left - any time. Also, if you are ever lost - just look for 2 things - the big dome on top of the shopping center (around the corner) and/or the TGI Fridays sign (of all things...) which is surprisingly just a couple doors down.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel D.
Business
Dundalk
Apr 17, 2015

lovely romantic getaway

Absolutely lovely experience staff were extremely friendly even got upgraded to deluxe room and were advised it can be noisy but it was perfect. Beautiful room,relaxing lounge area,breakfast was a fantastic spread loved the mini scones,top quality hotel would definately recommend staying as a treat if u want to spend a little extra definately worth it and in prime location,parking was also reasonably priced at €10. Check in early and get full experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gail F.
Business
N/A
Mar 10, 2015

ms

excellant location, friendly helpful staff, oeverything very walkable ditance and restaurant served lovely dinner. great experience, would definitely return

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracy L.
Business
New York
Jan 19, 2015

Perfect Mom/Daughter experience

Reviews were 100 correct. Staff were sincere and extraordinary. Great location such as: morning runs in St Stephens park, catching best coffee at Insomnia, Irish breakfast at Hutch & Sons and evenings at the Shelbourns #27 Bar with the #27. If staying in, make sure you book at Thornton's for a wonderful meal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wanderlost
Business
Washington, DC
Nov 11, 2014

Terrific staff and a wonderful visit

We visited the Fitzwilliam with our young daughter, and the staff was just terrific with her, from setting up a comfortable crib to playing baby "peek-a-boo" games in the lobby, giving her crayons in the bar/restaurant, and finding us a delicious child-friendly restaurant with open reservations around the corner. While it's clearly an upscale hotel, the staff treated our daughter like royalty and we loved the experience for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joseph m
Business
london
Oct 20, 2014

visit family

we had an executive queen room at back of hotel third floor as we were advised front rooms are noisy It was comfortable but small . We were however kept awake by a vibration sound which reception said came from the adjacent shopping centre. The windows face other rooms opposite and so blinds need to be drawn down for privacy,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
QuikTrvlr
Business
Texas, USA
Sep 24, 2014

Clean, Inviting & Located near everything!

Warm and welcoming, very friendly and helpful staff, called and arranged a Taxi to the Airport for us, located near the Green and around all kinds off restaurants, pubs, shopping, etc...Room was very clean, free WiFi, etc... Room was kind of small though and bed was a little too firm for my liking. Kind of pricy for one nights stay. Overall, a good experience and would recommend to others staying in Dublin :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
audreyyogini
Business
Hull,MA
Sep 19, 2014

great location, helpful concierge

very nice help, room was beautiful, just slightly small, bathroom was nice size and clean as a whistle

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar Area

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
orion1000
Business
USA
Sep 18, 2014

Been staying here five years - needs some work now

I've stayed here 5-6 times, and I love this hotel for the quiet and location. And, it's nice and very comfortable. This time, I didn't have a great stay. The shower had so much water pressure I almost couldn't even stand up in there. The little shower curtain let water all over the floor. The bed was too small - I thought I had a Queen from my reservation, but my feet hung off the end which is really uncomfortable. I think it was just a full size? I have a queen at home, and this wasn't a queen. They need to replace the carpeting in the rooms and fix the wood flooring because it's really worn out at this point. Some of my light switches didn't work either... they need to fix some stuff, really - room 314 guys, take a look. Anyway, the location and quiet can't be beat...and there's good air conditioning in the rooms. But it could use some TLC.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
YvonneLC
Business
Boston MA
Jun 12, 2014

budget hotel at a luxury rate

Starting with the positive - the location was amazing, right in the center of Dublin, walking distance to all the great places to visit. However, this is not a hotel I'd stay at again. Nothing was terrible, but everything was a little less than satisfactory - The room was nice but small, the bathroom was clean but the faucet leaks, and the minibar malfunctioned. The worst part of the experience was being charged 10 Euros for one local call. If this were a budget hotel, I would have no complaints, but it was definitely not worth the luxury hotel rate that we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzwilliam Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Links golfer
Business
Palo Alto,Ca
Jun 3, 2014

Exceptional staff

Stayed 3 days.Excellent good value parking facilities .All staff were extremely friendly and competent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top