$95 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 22, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

4 stars
Killiney, --, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
21 reviews
Ireland wedding

This hotel had fabulous facilities and service. Prompt room service, cleaning and supplies. I would... See full review

  • 1st time Irelander
  • Jul 14, 2014
Mini break

Relaxing and quiet v nice trees and location Friendly staff and good afternoon teas See full review

  • Cocopops
  • Jul 9, 2014
Welcome to Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin, the epitome of elegance on the South Dublin Coast. Situated just 20 minutes from Dublin City Center, Fitzpatrick Castle, an 18th Century 4 Star Castle Hotel, offers opulence and tranquility within breathtaking surroundings overlooking Dublin bay. This hotel is non smoking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel Rooms

Deluxe Double
All Deluxe rooms are equipped with multi-channel TV, tea and coffee making facilities, hair dryer and trouser press.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Conference facilities
Currency exchange
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Nearby points of interest

  • The Bedroom Studio and Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dalkey Island: 1.2 mi
  • James Joyce Tower and Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Maritime Museum of Ireland: 1.8 mi
  • Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology: 1.9 mi
  • Christ the King Statue: 2 mi
  • Millrace Gallery: 3.4 mi
  • Blackrock Town Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Stillorgan: 3.9 mi
  • Leopardstown: 4.1 mi
  • Dublin Bay : 4.1 mi
  • University College Dublin: 5.2 mi
  • Donnybrook: 5.5 mi
  • Poolbeg Generating Station: 5.8 mi
  • RDS Arena: 6.2 mi
  • The Bedroom Studio and Gallery: 0.7 mi
  • Dalkey Island: 1.2 mi
  • James Joyce Tower and Museum: 1.3 mi
  • National Maritime Museum of Ireland: 1.8 mi
  • Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology: 1.9 mi
  • Christ the King Statue: 2 mi
  • Millrace Gallery: 3.4 mi
  • Blackrock Town Hall: 3.5 mi
  • Stillorgan: 3.9 mi
  • Leopardstown: 4.1 mi
  • Dublin Bay : 4.1 mi
  • University College Dublin: 5.2 mi
  • Donnybrook: 5.5 mi
  • Poolbeg Generating Station: 5.8 mi
  • RDS Arena: 6.2 mi
  • Herbert Park: 6.5 mi
  • Powerscourt Estate: 6.6 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 6.6 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 6.6 mi
  • Irishtown: 6.7 mi
  • National Print Museum: 6.8 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 6.9 mi
  • Bull Island: 6.9 mi
  • Pearse Museum: 7 mi
  • Grand Canal: 7.1 mi
  • Dublin Port: 7.1 mi
  • 3Arena: 7.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 7.2 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 7.3 mi
  • Rathmines: 7.3 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 7.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 7.3 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 7.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 7.4 mi
  • Merrion Square: 7.4 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 7.5 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 7.5 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 7.5 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 7.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 7.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 7.5 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 7.5 mi
  • River Dodder: 7.6 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 7.6 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 7.6 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 21
Amenities:
4.6
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.9
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
4

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travelista
Business
Co.Down
Jul 11, 2013

Disappointing

Good: Staff were very friendly, courteous and well presented. We ate at the Grill, service and food excellent. View from room over Dublin Day was good. Bad: Room was tired, wallpaper lifting at the seams, dirty and missing skirting, dirty windows and particles of old food residue visible under the bed. Bed itself was clean. Balcony, peeling paint and dirty, obviously has not been swept for a considerable time. Leisure facilities good but equipment dated in gym and some needed maintenance. Downstairs the hotel looks every bit a 4 star property, however the room was not up to the standard expected from the rating. It would not take a lot to fix, more attention to details and proper cleaning. We stayed room only as the booking agency did not offer a package option to include breakfast, booking directly with the hotel we could have gotten a better deal. Overall would not describe this as value for money, have stayed at better lower rated properties.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Dalkey and some of the tourist walks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peadair
Business
Abu Dhabi
Jun 25, 2012

General

Nice hotel, comfortable with friendly staff, nice restaurant and comfy bar. Not far to walk to Dalkey, a nice suburb of the city beside the sea. Negatives: Nobody at door to take our luggage after we pulled up. Internet requires a code which took three calls to receive from staff! All in, a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jaipur, INdian Restaurant in the village of Dalkey. 10 min walk downhill, delicious food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susie and Jeff
Business
Kansas
May 26, 2012

Get Away from the hustle and bustle of Dublin

From the moment we stepped foot into this wonderful hotel until our departure was an excellent experience. Nicola was great in assisting us in all avenues of our stay. We were close to the Dart, about 10 minute walk from hotel. It is a up hill walk from the Dart. We rented a car and paid for 1 week of parking at the Dart. We drove to the Dart station and then bought a 1 week ticket to Conelly station. We would then take the Dart into Dublin. (Got off at the Pearse station, this is right behind Trinity College) YOU DONT want to drive in Dublin. We did rent the car in Dublin, and Nicola gave us excellent directions on how to get there, but it still is difficult to navigate Dublin City. We rented from Alamo, get the full coverage with 0 deduction, as we did get hit in the round about by a taxi. Alamo was wonderful, was concerned about our safety. Didn't cost a dime. Got to meet the Garda (police) very nice officers. Watch those roundabouts. When we returned our car and came back to the hotel we ate in Dalkey and was exhausted from taking the car back to Dublin. We called the hotel after eating at Queens (wonderful food) and they came in their own car and picked us up so we would not have to walk back up that hill to the hotel. PJ's had a good breakfast for not to bad a price. All you can eat full breakfast. It was 12 euros and was very filling. With this hearty breakfast we did not eat much until dinner. We did eat in the Dungeon, food was good, but the service was very slow. We ate there several times and the service was always the same. Our room was lovely and we had a great view. Bed was very comfortable. Staff was great and helpful. If we go back to Dublin we will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Queens steak room. Great food in Dalkey. Ask the hotel to take and pick you up it is a up hill walk. In the evening they have great specials.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristenChuck
Business
New York, United States
Feb 4, 2012

Wonderful Stay!

My husband and I traveled to Ireland for our first time. We cold not have picked a better hotel. We checked in right away, which was a lovely surprise because we were certainly exhausted from our journey. Although, I was prepared to spend an hour or two in the pretty lobby with afternoon tea. Everything was clean and spacious. The breakfast selection was delicious and the staff was friendly. We particularly enjoyed this hotel because it's out of the city but close to great walking/running areas (Killiney Hill), very close to Dalkey village (pubs, shops, convenience store) and a short drive (or doable walk) to the DART station, which is an excellent mode of transportation, especially if one is used to New York City trains. Our only complaint would be the noise in the middle of the night from a wedding, which has more to do with hotel guests than the hotel itself. We had a great time and want to take our parents back with us to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the Aircoach that will bring you to the hotel from the Dublin airport as well as bring you back to the airport from the hotel. Aircoach stops at this hotel, which makes things easier! You can also pre-pay for the tickets on the Aircoach website and just present the e-ticket to the driver!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying Welshman
Business
Italy
Nov 22, 2011

Enchanting Seaside Getaway

Everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Excellent staff, beautiful hotel, very spacious room, and an excellent restaurant. I would only recommend this hotel if you're going to have/rent a vehicle as it's a short drive into Dublin, but would be a much longer commute by bus or rail. I knocked room comfort rating as the beds were VERY firm, but everthing else was great (especially shower water pressure/temperature). This is a beautiful hotel with an amazing view of the ocean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet is a real treat. It's a little more expensive than out in town, but the quality is top notch and it's the only all you can eat breakfast I found in all Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, Va
Apr 25, 2011

Great location

Great time! The location was wonderful- nice wallks every morning after visiting the fitness center, which was so refreshing in the morning. Views from the "Hills" are awesome. Dalkey is a must- good atmosphere, food and people. The hotel is in a great location. The staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly ( if you find my camera let me know). Cannot wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do not in in the Hotel, Queen Anne's is a must. Get the steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missoula Montana
Apr 7, 2011

Unbelievable Experience

From the moment we drove into the parking lot, we were taken back by the beauty of the castle. Each & every staff member were absolutely fabulous in every aspect! Definitely would recommend to anyone, anytime for any occassion. Restaurant downstairs, The Dungeon, has great food or a short drive to the village just down the hill, Dalkey, has great little restaurants & pubs. Oh & one more thing... most have the "Irish Bagel Sandwich" for breakfast!! Out of this world!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive or walk down the road to Dalkey where you can catch the commuter train to Tara Station which will put you right in the heart of Dublin. A short walk from the train station to Grifton Street offers great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top