$97 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 16, 2015 Check-out: Jun 17, 2015

Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

4 stars
View map of Killiney, --, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 28
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sassy kris
Business
Boise
Oct 3, 2012

Not what I expected

This hotel is really pretty but for the amount I spent on the hotel room. I was really hoping for a nicer room. It seemed a little dark and gloomy. The hotel is away from the town so in order to get anywhere you do need to take a shuttle, train or taxi. Seems the people in the bar in the dungeon kept forgetting about us and our drinks and the people were kind of snooty in the bar in the hotel. The staff that checked us in were very friendly and kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Peadair
Business
Abu Dhabi
Jun 25, 2012

General

Nice hotel, comfortable with friendly staff, nice restaurant and comfy bar. Not far to walk to Dalkey, a nice suburb of the city beside the sea. Negatives: Nobody at door to take our luggage after we pulled up. Internet requires a code which took three calls to receive from staff! All in, a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jaipur, INdian Restaurant in the village of Dalkey. 10 min walk downhill, delicious food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gail 123
Business
Ohio
Jun 12, 2012

Fitzpatrick Hotel, Killiney Ireland

Excellent! Sits away from Dublin, but close enough to Dalkey to get a good meal or have a pint! The view is extraordinary, the bay, the town below...just beautiful! The only recommendation I would make to the hotel is to improve the breakfast in PJ's restaurant. For 12 euros, it needs better eggs, and more variety.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Susie and Jeff
Business
Kansas
May 26, 2012

Get Away from the hustle and bustle of Dublin

From the moment we stepped foot into this wonderful hotel until our departure was an excellent experience. Nicola was great in assisting us in all avenues of our stay. We were close to the Dart, about 10 minute walk from hotel. It is a up hill walk from the Dart. We rented a car and paid for 1 week of parking at the Dart. We drove to the Dart station and then bought a 1 week ticket to Conelly station. We would then take the Dart into Dublin. (Got off at the Pearse station, this is right behind Trinity College) YOU DONT want to drive in Dublin. We did rent the car in Dublin, and Nicola gave us excellent directions on how to get there, but it still is difficult to navigate Dublin City. We rented from Alamo, get the full coverage with 0 deduction, as we did get hit in the round about by a taxi. Alamo was wonderful, was concerned about our safety. Didn't cost a dime. Got to meet the Garda (police) very nice officers. Watch those roundabouts. When we returned our car and came back to the hotel we ate in Dalkey and was exhausted from taking the car back to Dublin. We called the hotel after eating at Queens (wonderful food) and they came in their own car and picked us up so we would not have to walk back up that hill to the hotel. PJ's had a good breakfast for not to bad a price. All you can eat full breakfast. It was 12 euros and was very filling. With this hearty breakfast we did not eat much until dinner. We did eat in the Dungeon, food was good, but the service was very slow. We ate there several times and the service was always the same. Our room was lovely and we had a great view. Bed was very comfortable. Staff was great and helpful. If we go back to Dublin we will stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Queens steak room. Great food in Dalkey. Ask the hotel to take and pick you up it is a up hill walk. In the evening they have great specials.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KristenChuck
Business
New York, United States
Feb 4, 2012

Wonderful Stay!

My husband and I traveled to Ireland for our first time. We cold not have picked a better hotel. We checked in right away, which was a lovely surprise because we were certainly exhausted from our journey. Although, I was prepared to spend an hour or two in the pretty lobby with afternoon tea. Everything was clean and spacious. The breakfast selection was delicious and the staff was friendly. We particularly enjoyed this hotel because it's out of the city but close to great walking/running areas (Killiney Hill), very close to Dalkey village (pubs, shops, convenience store) and a short drive (or doable walk) to the DART station, which is an excellent mode of transportation, especially if one is used to New York City trains. Our only complaint would be the noise in the middle of the night from a wedding, which has more to do with hotel guests than the hotel itself. We had a great time and want to take our parents back with us to the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take advantage of the Aircoach that will bring you to the hotel from the Dublin airport as well as bring you back to the airport from the hotel. Aircoach stops at this hotel, which makes things easier! You can also pre-pay for the tickets on the Aircoach website and just present the e-ticket to the driver!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MIss Tina
Business
United States
Jan 23, 2012

Family trip

A very nice hotel located in a beautiful upscale residential nieghborhood. A bit of a walk to the DART train into Dublin-about 20 minutes or so-uphill walking back. We enjoyed the location and the small quaint town of Dalkey it is located in which has lovely shops and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Flying Welshman
Business
Italy
Nov 22, 2011

Enchanting Seaside Getaway

Everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. Excellent staff, beautiful hotel, very spacious room, and an excellent restaurant. I would only recommend this hotel if you're going to have/rent a vehicle as it's a short drive into Dublin, but would be a much longer commute by bus or rail. I knocked room comfort rating as the beds were VERY firm, but everthing else was great (especially shower water pressure/temperature). This is a beautiful hotel with an amazing view of the ocean. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The breakfast buffet is a real treat. It's a little more expensive than out in town, but the quality is top notch and it's the only all you can eat breakfast I found in all Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norfolk, Va
Apr 25, 2011

Great location

Great time! The location was wonderful- nice wallks every morning after visiting the fitness center, which was so refreshing in the morning. Views from the "Hills" are awesome. Dalkey is a must- good atmosphere, food and people. The hotel is in a great location. The staff was wonderful, helpful and friendly ( if you find my camera let me know). Cannot wait to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

If you do not in in the Hotel, Queen Anne's is a must. Get the steak.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dancing Mom
Business
Boston, Ma
Apr 24, 2011

Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

The hotel was okay, the outside is more impressive than the inside. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The rooms are ordinary rooms, there is nothing special about them. The Dungeon restaurant is very modern, but the food is good. We expected it to be more "castle" like so we were a bit disappointed, but overall it was okay. It is close to the train so we were able to take the train into Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Fitzpatricks Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missoula Montana
Apr 7, 2011

Unbelievable Experience

From the moment we drove into the parking lot, we were taken back by the beauty of the castle. Each & every staff member were absolutely fabulous in every aspect! Definitely would recommend to anyone, anytime for any occassion. Restaurant downstairs, The Dungeon, has great food or a short drive to the village just down the hill, Dalkey, has great little restaurants & pubs. Oh & one more thing... most have the "Irish Bagel Sandwich" for breakfast!! Out of this world!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

A short drive or walk down the road to Dalkey where you can catch the commuter train to Tara Station which will put you right in the heart of Dublin. A short walk from the train station to Grifton Street offers great shopping.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top