$95 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 5, 2015

Clontarf Castle Hotel

4 stars
Castle Avenue, Clontarf, Dublin 3, Clontarf, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
95 reviews
Our Time at Clontarf

This is a nice hotel at a continent location. Staff are friendly and make you feel at home. Room is... See full review

  • Robert Dallas
  • Nov 21, 2014
Great Experience!

We felt more like family than guests! Our initial room bathroom light was inoperable and we were... See full review

  • Sanfordand Son
  • Jun 25, 2014
Restful getaway in gilded quarters fit for a king
Experience 800 years of Irish history with a stay at award-winning Clontarf Castle, a unique luxury hotel in the Dublin suburbs. Four-poster beds, sumptuous fabrics, gilded furnishings and service fit for a king are all part of the guest experience. Modern flourishes include a gym, Internet access, babysitting and secretarial services. Fall asleep in a lavishly-appointed guestroom to the soothing sound of the nearby Irish Sea. Concierge service arranges many activities for guests including golf, horse riding and clay pigeon shooting.

 

Highlights
  • Stay in a historic Irish castle renovated into a luxury hotel
  • Sophisticated restaurant and bars radiate ambience with menus specializing in local produce
  • Concierge service can arrange special activities
Rooms
The hotel's 111 opulently-decorated rooms feature every comfort from pillow top mattress, interactive satellite TV, Internet access and well-stocked mini bar to four-poster beds and fluffy bathrobes in suites. Some luxury suites also include a separate dining area and Victorian claw-foot tubs in the bathrooms.
Features
Dating back to 1172, Clontarf is the site of many significant battles and events in Ireland's history. In keeping with this pedigree, many original features were preserved during castle renovation. Clontarf maintains period touches like rich fabrics, gilded furniture and four-poster beds. Only 2 miles from Dublin, Clontarf's quiet location near the Irish Sea makes it a perfect restful getaway.

 

Dining

The oversized sofas and low-lit chandeliers of Clontarf's award-winning Indigo Lounge make it the place to relax any time of day. Fahrenheit Grill with its stunning vaulted ceiling specializes in local steak and seafood. Cozy down in the castle's original quarters at Knight's Bar and enjoy cocktail-appropriate atmosphere with stained glass windows and huge fireplaces.

Activities

  • City tours and full-day excursions
  • Golf
  • Extreme sports and activities
  • Horse-riding
  • Clay pigeon shooting
  • Archery
  • Fishing
Transportation
  • Free parking
  • Close to Killester and Clontarf Road DART stations
Attractions
  • Site of the Battle of Clontarf and the Brian Boru Well
  • Birthplace of Bram Stoker and Bram Stoker Park
  • North Bull Island Nature Reserve and Bird Sanctuary
  • St. Anne's Park and Rose Gardens
Business
  • Hotel's conference and events team available to coordinate events
  • 4 meeting rooms, plus the Grand Hall conference and banquet venue with capacity of 600
  • Audiovisual facilities available (extra charge)
  • Free shuttle between hotel and East Point Business Park
  • Pre-function lobby suitable for event registration or refreshments
  • Dining available

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Clontarf Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Clontarf Castle Hotel Rooms

Double
The bedding option for the room is one double bed. Room offers Air conditioning, Alarm clock, Bathroom amenities, Cable / Satellite TV, Color TV, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Iron / Ironing board, Laundry service, Mini bar, Pay-per-view movies, Room service, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voicemail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Clontarf: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Park: 0.7 mi
  • St Anne's Park: 1.2 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 1.5 mi
  • Dublin Port: 1.5 mi
  • 3Arena: 1.5 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 1.7 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 1.8 mi
  • GAA Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Irishtown: 1.8 mi
  • Croke Park: 1.9 mi
  • Poolbeg Generating Station: 1.9 mi
  • River Tolka: 1.9 mi
  • Clontarf: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Park: 0.7 mi
  • St Anne's Park: 1.2 mi
  • An Port Thoir: 1.5 mi
  • Dublin Port: 1.5 mi
  • 3Arena: 1.5 mi
  • St Michan's Church: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Canal: 1.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 1.7 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 1.8 mi
  • GAA Museum: 1.8 mi
  • Irishtown: 1.8 mi
  • Croke Park: 1.9 mi
  • Poolbeg Generating Station: 1.9 mi
  • River Tolka: 1.9 mi
  • Raheny: 1.9 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1.9 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 1.9 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 2 mi
  • Connolly station: 2 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 2 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 2 mi
  • River Liffey: 2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 2.1 mi
  • University of Dublin: 2.1 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 2.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 2.2 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 2.2 mi
  • The Custom House: 2.2 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 2.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 2.2 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 2.3 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 2.3 mi
  • Science Gallery: 2.3 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 2.3 mi
  • Grand Canal: 2.3 mi
  • Pearse Street: 2.3 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 2.3 mi
  • National Print Museum: 2.3 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 2.3 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 2.3 mi
  • Belvedere College: 2.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 2.4 mi
  • Bull Island: 2.4 mi

Dining

Indigo Lounge
Indigo Lounge is an ultra-chic bar that serves breakfast, lunch and cafe style diner menus. Serving delicious sweet treats, Indigo Lounge is also the perfect setting for afternoon tea. Lavishly decorated with rich color, oversized sofas and chandeliers, the opulent lounge radiates elegance.
Knights Bar
Knights Bar is a place of refinement which evokes a feeling of medieval romance. The bar is firmly rooted in the traditions of an ancient castle, while providing guests with 21st century standards and service. Time honoured and respected, this bar is located in the original castle showcasing a dramatic ceiling, huge open fire places and atmospheric stained glass windows. The food menu offers guests an all day, casual dining experience, including a traditional carvery lunch.
Fahrenheit Grill
Clontarf Castle Hotel now offers diners a choice of three diverse food offerings, Fahrenheit Grill, Knights Bar and Indigo Lounge. The variety of cuisine presented will whet the appetite of guests who appreciate a high quality dining experience. Fahrenheit Grill is the premium dining addition to Clontarf Castle's existing culinary offering, hotel's commitment is to deliver to your plate, high quality perfectly cooked food from the Grill. The property willl match this with elegant food presentation and friendly service and offer it in a relaxed dining experience within the historical walls. Fahrenheit Grill's produce from the fish to beef is sourced from exceptional local Irish suppliers to ensure freshness and quality of flavor. The hotel uses only dry aged beef that has been specially selected for you by one of Dublin's finest butchers. The fish is delivered fresh from the boat and straight to kitchen. That's what makes the Grill so special!

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Each of our unique conference & banqueting rooms offer the latest technology, coupled with unobtrusive service, and create a unique and sophisticated environment catering from 1 - 600.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Clontarf Castle Hotel

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelKnight
Business
London, UK
Dec 7, 2014

Amazing hotel!!

This was my first time in Dublin so I wanted to stay at a castle. Clontarf was amazing. The staff was incredibly friendly, the room was very nice and the castle itself is beautiful. I had a few minor issues. There is nowhere close by to get food and the fridge is stocked with food and drinks so it sort of forces you to eat at the hotel. Although the food is good, it was expensive. Getting into the city from the hotel is also a bit inconvenient. Buses in Dublin are very unreliable, so taking a cab is recommended but it can add up. Overall, I enjoyed my stay and had a pleasant time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Unknown
Business
Dublin
Dec 7, 2014

Beautiful hotel

Venue is beautiful and luxurious facilities. Our room was nothing special though. Noisy and bit cold even with air conditioning especially in the bathroom. I guess that's what you get when you pay less than 100e night in such a beautiful place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobbyboy
Business
Pa.
Dec 2, 2014

Beautiful Castle

I would stay in this hotel again. the staff couldn't do enough for us, very accomadateing. Food in the restaurant was excellant. You won't be disapointed if you choose this castle to stay in. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

We had breskfast, lunch and dinner here. All very good, no complaints. Highly recomended

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Robert Dallas
Business
Arlington, Texas
Nov 21, 2014

Our Time at Clontarf

This is a nice hotel at a continent location. Staff are friendly and make you feel at home. Room is comfortable, We are planning to go back to Dublin and would love to stay at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The buff
Business
Oxford
Sep 2, 2014

Lovely hotel...but no escape from lively Dublin!

Its a busy hotel; the bar, restaurant, lobby etc. Dublin centre is lively (10 mins in a cab, quicker and just as cheap as the bus) and so is this hotel, especially with the wedding season in full tilt! However, calm, peace and comfort are to be found on the other side of your bedroom door....and a lovely bedroom it is aswell!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Pre book a hire car to collect at the airport to travel to/from the hotel. Bus = 2 links/2hrs, Taxi is around 30euro; but the car....£24 for the whole weekend!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rutzy
Business
Madison, Wisconsin
Aug 27, 2014

Great Castle Stay in Dublin!

The hotel was a bit hard to find but once we did find Clontarf Castle it was great! the driveway to the castle was very neat as it revealed the castle and the remodel in 2006 was stunning mixing new architectural elements with the old castle feel. The rooms are not specifically in the castle (built right up next to it but behind) however they are so close that you still feel like you are staying in the castle with all of the amenities that you would expect from a 4-star hotel. I would gladly stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ray Tlr
Business
Florida
Aug 22, 2014

Nice quite area

Great location close to city good food at the Knights Bar

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bobbiee
Business
essex
Aug 4, 2014

exploring dublin

Overall very good. Reception staff polite but functional. Restaurant staff excellent. It's the little things that matter hence my only real criticism was lack of a toothbrush and paste on arrival. International clientele arriving from all over would appreciate handy pack as you get on long haul flights. Would I stay again.? Most definitely YES!! Robert Crooks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

eurogiant chain of shops. great value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NIni B
Business
Scranton, PA
Jul 20, 2014

Nice hotel

I don't really have much input on this hotel since I checked in at 11 PM and checked out at 6 AM the following morning. I could say that the staff at the front just was very helpful. The rooms were very clean and the bed was very, very comfortable. I feel that a major drawback to the hotel is the location. We spent the day in Center City Dublin with the rental car and had a lot of difficulty finding the hotel, a lot of difficulty is probably an understatement.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you're looking for some night life activities in Dublin, go to the Temple Bar area on a Friday night. The clubs were packed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Clontarf Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sanfordand Son
Business
Biloxi, Mississippi
Jun 25, 2014

Great Experience!

We felt more like family than guests! Our initial room bathroom light was inoperable and we were upgraded to the Royal Suite by the front desk for the inconvenience. My wife and I were perfectly fine but the staff insisted we change rooms to enjoy our wedding anniversary. The food was very good for the price paid. Nice place to stay to relax and travel from Clontarf Dart Station to other parts of Ireland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The Dart (train) station is close to teh hotel to travel to other destinations and return the same day. Howth is not toofar as a port for fresh fish to arrive daily and to your delicious dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top