$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

Castle Hotel

3 stars
View map of Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin, Dublin 1

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
57 reviews
Brilliant Midweek break

The castle hotel does not look much from the outside, but the minute you enter, you are given a... See full review

  • Ian W.
  • Jun 18, 2015
My experience

I have just got back from dublin and had a lovely time! Will definitely going back. The hotel was... See full review

  • Cory G.
  • Mar 16, 2015
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)
General

Georgian hotel with elegant period furnishings in the heart of Dublin

Location

The Castle Hotel offers a unique Georgian experience to its guests with recent restoration bringing original plasterwork, marble fireplaces and period staircases back to their full glory. Guests find that the central location puts them within easy walking distance of the many cultural and historic attractions in the city. In fact, the hotel is situated on the official Cultural Trail. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, Castle Hotel guests chill out in the famous Castle Restaurant, which features live Irish music twice a week.

Dining
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Rooms

The Castle Hotel exudes Georgian elegance and charm, and this distinctive ambience extends to the guest rooms as well. Guests choose between single, double, twin and family rooms and all guest rooms feature an en suite bathroom. A full Irish breakfast is included in the room rate, and a cold buffet selection is also available. Guest rooms also feature tea- and coffee-making facilities, a remote control TV and a direct-dial telephone. Nonsmoking rooms are available. The rooms are decorated tastefully and feature elegant furnishings along with their up-to-date amenities and facilities. All guest rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and a baby-sitting service is available. Guests looking for comfortable accommodations in the heart of Dublin that offer historical ambiance, modern amenities and excellent service will find everything they want at the Castle Hotel.

Highlights
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Nearby attractions
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

★★★
$88
4.1 / 5 60 reviews
★★★★
$143
4.2 / 5 92 reviews
★★★★
$113
4.3 / 5 37 reviews
★★★
$103
4.0 / 5 36 reviews
★★★
$91
4.0 / 5 51 reviews
★★
$91
3.0 / 5 2 reviews
★★
$96
5.0 / 5 Not yet reviewed
★★★
$97
3.5 / 5 75 reviews
★★★
$135
4.0 / 5 2 reviews

Castle Hotel Rooms

DOUBLE
1 Double bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
TWIN
2 Single Beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
SINGLE
1 Single bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
FAMILY
1 Double + 2 Single beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.4 mi
  • An Post Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Croke Park: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.7 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • Gallery 29: 0.7 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.7 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 2 small meeting rooms which can cater for parties of up to 15 people.

Dining

Bar/Restaurant
The new Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm, it is walled with the same warm stone that has been in place for the past 200 years and has an exposed Vaulted Ceiling which was part of the Original 19th Century wine cellars An enchanting retreat and the perfect place to sit back and unwind after a busy day exploring the city of Dublin. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
8 out of 57
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jennifer A.
Friends
N/A
May 28, 2015

Not too bad

Staff were friendly and helpful. There was no drinking water in the room. Room was just ok but I probably think insulation is poor as I could hear noise and noise from TV next door through out the nite. I found it very difficult to sleep as I am a light sleeper. This was on my first nite that I needed all the rest. On th plus side the breakfast was amazing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John H.
Friends
N/A
Mar 9, 2015

Business in Town

The Hotel is well-positioned and has g, reat character. Also, the staff were at all times friendly and helpful. The hotel building itself, being a conversion of a number of 18th Century Georgian houses, naturally had its problems - only 1 small lift, long complicated corridors, uneasy conversions at times - but it served its purpose and did its job for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jm LDN
Friends
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Awesome trip

Room was small but comfortable. The breakfasts in the morning were absolutely fab.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mitchell.10
Friends
Boston
Oct 23, 2014

Convenient location

I would recommend this hotel and the location is very convenient to shopping, Airport Bus, and all Dublin attractions including Pubs!. Staff very helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janej
Friends
London
Sep 15, 2014

Great for being in the city

Staff so helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was lovely no waiting and food was good (great if you had a trip booked) and had to be away quick. Loved the idea of baggage room so could spend more time before flying home. Location was good if you wanted to go out site seeing buses a few minutes walk away and pick up point was walking distance for day trips. 2nd time of staying will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the train from Tara Station and go to Howth cheap fare and a great day out

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magnifideant
Friends
Dublin Ireland
Nov 13, 2013

Great long weekend get away

Warm welcoming great location good breakfast worth having an evening meal in hotel. Our only complaint during our stay was the noise from the creaky stairs ask for a room away from them otherwise great we will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nads
Friends
Kent, England
Aug 14, 2012

fantastic city break

The Castle Hotel was a lovely hotel who's staff could not do enough for you. The room my husband and i were in was very small and i was very disappointed as our friends had a lovely spacious room. i am not usually a person that complains however i had been looking forward to this trip and felt disapponted with the room. I went to reception to let them know how i felt and within 5 minutes i was transfered to a new room which was wonderful. staff were very apologetic and made sure that i was happy the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A local pub that had fab entertainment every night.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Charlottesville, VA
Mar 29, 2011

Unbeatable location

The location of the hotel was fantastic! It was convenient to everything - parade, pubs, shopping - just great! The pub and restaurant in the hotel were just the thing after a long day of sightseeing. Having breakfast included every day, even the morning we left, was an added benefit. The staff was friendly and very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Back to menu Return to top