$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 21, 2015

Castle Hotel

3 stars
Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
47 reviews
Castle Hotel Stay.

This is an Excellent Hotel, the staff were more than helpful, rooms were neat and tidy, and very... See full review

  • EnochTC
  • Nov 24, 2014
Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful. See full review

  • Bolye
  • Jul 28, 2013
Georgian elegance in the heart of Dublin

The Castle Hotel offers a unique Georgian experience to its guests with recent restoration bringing original plasterwork, marble fireplaces and period staircases back to their full glory. Guests find that the central location puts them within easy walking distance of the many cultural and historic attractions in the city. In fact, the hotel is situated on the official Cultural Trail. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, Castle Hotel guests chill out in the famous Castle Restaurant, which features live Irish music twice a week.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Castle Hotel Rooms

The Castle Hotel exudes Georgian elegance and charm, and this distinctive ambience extends to the guest rooms as well. Guests choose between single, double, twin and family rooms and all guest rooms feature an en suite bathroom. A full Irish breakfast is included in the room rate, and a cold buffet selection is also available. Guest rooms also feature tea- and coffee-making facilities, a remote control TV and a direct-dial telephone. Nonsmoking rooms are available. The rooms are decorated tastefully and feature elegant furnishings along with their up-to-date amenities and facilities. All guest rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and a baby-sitting service is available. Guests looking for comfortable accommodations in the heart of Dublin that offer historical ambiance, modern amenities and excellent service will find everything they want at the Castle Hotel.

Things To Do
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Hotel Rooms

DOUBLE
1 Double bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
TWIN
2 Single Beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
SINGLE
1 Single bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
FAMILY
1 Double + 2 Single beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Croke Park: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.7 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.7 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 2 small meeting rooms which can cater for parties of up to 15 people.

Dining

Bar/Restaurant
The new Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm, it is walled with the same warm stone that has been in place for the past 200 years and has an exposed Vaulted Ceiling which was part of the Original 19th Century wine cellars An enchanting retreat and the perfect place to sit back and unwind after a busy day exploring the city of Dublin. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (47)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
47 out of 47
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the Kansas couple
Business
Overland Park, KS, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Great hidden Georgian treasure

We thoroughly enjoyed our six night stay at this very clean, quiet and delightful hotel. It is a short walk to downtown on O'Connell Street. It is also around the corner from the Writer's Museum. Breakfasts, included in the cost of the hotel, were fantastic. We could order a full Irish breakfast as well as dine from the continental buffet. The staff was knowledgeable, helpful and very friendly. They went out of their way to accommodate guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PortuguesePrincess
Business
New Jersey, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Best Place To Stay In Dublin!!!

The Castle-Hotel is a beautiful building! Our room was cozy and perfect, the bathroom was a bit small, but the bed and room size was great. The staff is beyond wonderful, always willing to help with directions and suggestions for out-of-the-way places. The hotel restaurant is amazing! There was live music on Friday and Saturday, the food was so good that we decided to eat dinner there every night! We will definitely be back there in the next few months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nads
Business
Kent, England
Aug 14, 2012

fantastic city break

The Castle Hotel was a lovely hotel who's staff could not do enough for you. The room my husband and i were in was very small and i was very disappointed as our friends had a lovely spacious room. i am not usually a person that complains however i had been looking forward to this trip and felt disapponted with the room. I went to reception to let them know how i felt and within 5 minutes i was transfered to a new room which was wonderful. staff were very apologetic and made sure that i was happy the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A local pub that had fab entertainment every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bolye
Business
London
Jul 28, 2013

Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EnochTC
Business
Freeport, Michigan
Nov 24, 2014

Castle Hotel Stay.

This is an Excellent Hotel, the staff were more than helpful, rooms were neat and tidy, and very comfortable, the meals excellent, Extremely pleased with my stay at this Hotel!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skint from IE
Business
Brighton
Sep 14, 2010

Very friendly staff, great for the price

Castle Hotel is situated at the top of O'Connell street which is a pretty central location - 5 mins to the Liffey that divides the city in half. Saying that most of the tourist stuff happens on the south side so if you don't like a bit of a walk may be not for you? It isn't a palace, but for the price I have no complaints. Comfortable beds, smiley staff - they did forget to tell us there was a lift when we first came with our bags though! My mum had a room facing the street and she said it was a bit noisy, but earplugs sorted that out. Great bar staff James is an angel. I don't have any comparrisons with other Dublin hotels, but this one is great budget accommodation. Dinner was expensive though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Literary pub crawl a lot of fun.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pay the man
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Nov 28, 2011

good location

easy walk to all the sites of Dublin, restaurant and bar were very good. Food was better than i anticipated and service was very good. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

I recomend eating dinner in the hotel one night and enjoy the food and live music. Food was good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
susieq4th
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

great value

Centrally located to dining and shopping. Chapter one is 2 blocks away. Ask for a room in the back, will be much more quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple bar is not far

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big 6
Business
Sothern California
Jul 28, 2012

Trip to Dublin

The Castle Hotel overall was a great hotel for the value. The rooms are of average size for Europe and the style of the hotel takes you back to days past. It is a short walk to all the attractions in Dublin from O' Connel St. to Temple Bar. We did not need to take the bus to get around. Also, it is very easy to get to by taking the airlink from the airport. The Castle Hotel was great and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Dublin. Also, one of the only hotels I saw that gives you a free breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pablo Grande
Business
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire, UK
Jun 10, 2012

Ideal base in Dublin Town

This is a great & handy place to stay in Dublin town all the local attractions are within a short walk, 5 mins walk from the airport bus stop. If you do not like road noise ask for a rear room as this is a georgian hotel with sash windows that allow a litttle road noise through, although saying this the room was great with lots of extras that make your stay comfortable, tea, coffee, hair dryer, large bed, sofa, free internet access & an amazing traditional Irish breakfast with added fruit juice, cereal or continental additions- Recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Parnell Heritage Pub on Parnell street great food & listed on Voucher Cloud as well you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top