$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 23, 2014 Check-out: Nov 24, 2014

Castle Hotel

3 stars
Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
46 reviews
Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful. See full review

  • Bolye
  • Jul 28, 2013
Convenient location

I would recommend this hotel and the location is very convenient to shopping, Airport Bus, and all... See full review

  • Mitchell.10
  • Oct 23, 2014
Georgian elegance in the heart of Dublin

The Castle Hotel offers a unique Georgian experience to its guests with recent restoration bringing original plasterwork, marble fireplaces and period staircases back to their full glory. Guests find that the central location puts them within easy walking distance of the many cultural and historic attractions in the city. In fact, the hotel is situated on the official Cultural Trail. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, Castle Hotel guests chill out in the famous Castle Restaurant, which features live Irish music twice a week.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Castle Hotel Rooms

The Castle Hotel exudes Georgian elegance and charm, and this distinctive ambience extends to the guest rooms as well. Guests choose between single, double, twin and family rooms and all guest rooms feature an en suite bathroom. A full Irish breakfast is included in the room rate, and a cold buffet selection is also available. Guest rooms also feature tea- and coffee-making facilities, a remote control TV and a direct-dial telephone. Nonsmoking rooms are available. The rooms are decorated tastefully and feature elegant furnishings along with their up-to-date amenities and facilities. All guest rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and a baby-sitting service is available. Guests looking for comfortable accommodations in the heart of Dublin that offer historical ambiance, modern amenities and excellent service will find everything they want at the Castle Hotel.

Things To Do
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)

Hotel Map

53.3549 -6.2633
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The Castle Hotel is located in the centre of Dublin, a short walking distance from all the major cultural and sporting venues. Being a short distance form the Financial Service Centre in Dublin makes the hotel an ideal location for the tourists and business traveller alike. The hotel has its own private car park and is convenient to airport, rail, and sea terminals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Hotel Rooms

DOUBLE
1 Double bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
TWIN
2 Single Beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
SINGLE
1 Single bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
FAMILY
1 Double + 2 Single beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Croke Park: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.7 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.7 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 2 small meeting rooms which can cater for parties of up to 15 people.

Dining

Bar/Restaurant
The new Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm, it is walled with the same warm stone that has been in place for the past 200 years and has an exposed Vaulted Ceiling which was part of the Original 19th Century wine cellars An enchanting retreat and the perfect place to sit back and unwind after a busy day exploring the city of Dublin. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (46)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
get stuffed
Business
northern ireland
Mar 18, 2014

weekend break

get the hotel inspector very poor quality hotel old worn out furniture not clean. dirty worn carpets. poor reception on television which was on a dirty glass stand. staff unfriendly. poor breakfast half a rasher of bacon no vegetarian sausages staff need to have their hair up when serving food. staff did not speak to us when we were leaving .this hotel should be avoided as it is dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

winding stair restaurant on the river is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PJBusy
Business
Southern California USA
Jan 31, 2012

Castle Hotel - Dublin Ireland

We stayed at the Castle Hotel during our last weekend in Ireland because we wanted to visit some specific attractions/areas in Dubmin during the two days we had left on our twelve day trip. This hotel is located in a questionable area (very dark, not safe at night in my opinion) about a 20 minute walk from the Temple Bar area, the hop on hop off bus stop and the airport bus. There is a bank with an ATM and a store for drinks and snacks about 2 blocks away. Pros:The staff was really helpful and offered really good advice on planning. They also sell tickets to the hop on hop off bus at a really good rate. The restaurant is really great for dinner and the live music on Saturday night was fantastic!! The food was really good and portions were good. The room was clean and has a coffee/tea maker with tea and coffee provided. The bathroom is useable and worked fine. The lighting in the room and bathroom was very good. Cons:The hotel is very old (it really was a castle so that should be a clue) so there is no sound proofing anywhere. We could here everything in the surronding rooms and hallways (and I do mean everything, including snoring and other sounds) the walkways/hallways are narrow and winding with several firedoors throughout (probably every 3 rooms) so you hear the people talking as they walk through the halls and every door slaming including the fire doors and room doors. You can also hear every noise outside the hotel because the windows are single pane thin glass. There is no vending at the hotel and you can not get money exchanged at the hotel. There is an elevator but there are several steps within the halls on each floor. So even though you can take the elevator to your floor, once on the floor you will have to deal with walking up and down stairs on your floor. Not a lot of stairs but if you have heavy bags you will need to deal with the stairs. The rooms are small but useable, we had a twin room (2 twin beds) there was a small desk, a small table and a cabinet to hang a few items. No safe no ironing board & iron, no air conditioning (although the heat works very well). The bathroom was just OK, it had the smallest shower we had ever seen. There is no counter space so what would not fit on the sink went on the window ledge. Breakfast was provided in the price of the room but it is a disaster! there was not enough room for eveyone to sit and the buffet was very sparse. You basically get your hot food from a server (if they remember what you ordered and if they get to you) I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The price I paid was on line with a much better hotel and we really felt ripped off for the amount we paid to stay here for two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Friday and Saturday the Castle Hotel restaurant has live music and it is fantastic. The food was really great and the service was good. We would recommend it to everyone.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dreamtrip
Business
Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Hotel Review

Staff in hotel were very helpful, polite and professional. Breakfast was good and plentiful, wait staff very efficient and speedy. Especially enjoyed Josie who gave us advice on a good place to hear local music. Restaurant food was very good, served well and we enjoyed the live music. On the down side the room was hot, we had the impression that there would be air conditioning, electrial outlets were insufficient and the shower was dangerous because the water was too often scalding hot changing to icy cold. Too much noise from room directly above ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
susieq4th
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

hot hotel

the rooms can be hot, leave a window open. Ask for a room in the back as the front of the hotel can be noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chapter One is near by, one the better restaurants in Dublin

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Curious Traveler
Business
Oregon
Apr 10, 2012

I knew it was old but....

There is something charming about an older Hotel. This one reminded me of old New York, before the Great Gentrification. The heating system involves opening and closing old windows, the bed was hard and the pillows were flat. That said, the shower was excellent, it was all clean enough and the staff are very, very nice. The location is good too. The restaruant is really excellent. My cousin had a huge Irish beef steak that was cooked perfectly and I had the Salmon with a white wine sauce that was pretty much the best I have ever tasted-and I'm from the Northwest where Salmon is King. I might choose a quiter hotel with better beds (if possible in Ireland) next time but the value for what you get is there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

You really can't get better for the money and location so I'd just eat there if I were you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shanghai, china
Aug 5, 2012

So so

If u want to experience the hub life of Dublin this hotel might not be an ideal location. Away from colorful life. However the restaurant is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
radzila
Business
NYC
Nov 6, 2012

Doable but not great

I wanted to stay in an old fashion hotel vs modern luxury but expected great service from reading the reviews. Hotel staff was not friendly at all, at least not to me and my companion. First room that we got was small and very very cold. They did listen to my concerns and switched our room that hit all the items on the list. Hotel walls are very thin, so don't expect to get much rest. Its in walking distance from all site seeing but its a bit of a walk. If you intend to be out the door first thing in morning and not nap during day, then hotel will meet your needs. I hate to say it, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to hotel there is a cute cafe, get your morning fix there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A regular traveller
Business
Scotland
Nov 11, 2012

great value

a good location, great staff and a comfortable room. with great value pricing, the Castle is worth a visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kansas City John
Business
Kansas City
Dec 2, 2013

Warm, comfortable accomodations.

Great location and friendly, helpful staff made our trip everything we had hoped it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suz3
Business
Rockville, MD
May 23, 2014

Quirky!

My sisters and I spent a week @ the Castle Hotel. My room was fine though had trouble trying to adjust the heat. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom could use some updating. There was a desk with drawers for clothing also a wardrobe for hanging. My other sister's room was quite the opposite. No place for their clothing and the shower curtain didn't reach the floor so there was a flood every time they took a shower. It was reported and they did try but it just needed a longer curtain which I guess they didn't have. Our rooms were quite a distance from the elevator and a joke was made about leaving a trail of breadcrumbs as there were many doors to go through and ups and downs in the floor. Quirky! The included breakfasts were fine and service was excellent. The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good. The salmon was great and the steak sandwiches even better. They also allowed substitutions so we could get veggies instead of fries. I would definitely stay there again but I don't think my sister would. Too bad but I enjoyed it and the location right off of O'Connell Street was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top