$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Castle Hotel

3 stars
View map of Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin, Dublin 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist on two wheels
Business
Wellesley, MA
Dec 2, 2012

Had a great stay

I had a very brief stay in Dublin, and the Castle Hotel fit my needs perfectly. The staff were incredibly helpful (including assistance with charting out a bicycling route), and the food at the restaurant was terrific. The location can't be beat, putting you within walking (or bicycling!) distance of all of the key things to see. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a bicycle from Paul at Phoenix Park Bicycle Rentals, it's the best way to get around Dublin!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The NYer
Business
New York City
Dec 1, 2012

Made my first visit to Dublin pleasurable

The hotel staff in this well-appointed hotel to a person was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is conveniently located just off a major thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and within easy walking distance of the major sites a first-time visitor to Dubline might want to visit, including the Abbey Theatre, the General Post Office, Trinity College, the Irish film Institute, the National Gallery, Grafton Street, the wonderful Hodges Figgis bookstore, Stephens Green and on and on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk wherever you want to go within the center city, mix with the inhabitants and get a sense of the city's rhythms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A regular traveller
Business
Scotland
Nov 11, 2012

great value

a good location, great staff and a comfortable room. with great value pricing, the Castle is worth a visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
radzila
Business
NYC
Nov 6, 2012

Doable but not great

I wanted to stay in an old fashion hotel vs modern luxury but expected great service from reading the reviews. Hotel staff was not friendly at all, at least not to me and my companion. First room that we got was small and very very cold. They did listen to my concerns and switched our room that hit all the items on the list. Hotel walls are very thin, so don't expect to get much rest. Its in walking distance from all site seeing but its a bit of a walk. If you intend to be out the door first thing in morning and not nap during day, then hotel will meet your needs. I hate to say it, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to hotel there is a cute cafe, get your morning fix there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mj06830
Business
Connecticut
Sep 28, 2012

Great location

The location of the Castle is perfect. An easy walk to the downtown, yet far enough away not to be noisey. Rooms are of good size for a Europien hotel. Breakfast included and very good. They missed cleaning the room one day, when we called to have the room cleaned and fresh towels brought up the front desk said they had gone for the day sorry, but did bring fresh towels. Parking is a problem in Dublin but the Castle offers a car park for 10.00 Euro a day cheap as compared with the street but seems petty to pay for Hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southernmost Steampunk
Business
Key West, Florida
Sep 24, 2012

Perfect for a Solo Steampunk

I stayed here while traveling on my own. I had been in the UK for the week and a half before my four nights here, and I must say this was probably the best hotel I stayed at. The room was clean and quite spacious. The en suite bathroom was also quite spacious for what I had seen during my trip. The hotel itself was lovely and I enjoyed the older style furnishings in the communal areas. I never did make to a breakfast, even though it was included. However, just a few blocks away is a French restaurant and bakery where you can get croissants at a good price. This worked well for me since I prefer a small breakfast that I can take on the go while I sight see. The only downsides to the whole experience were that I could hear the people in the room above me, the locations is just a bit more of a walk than I was expecting(though still very close to the major attractions), and my tv didn't work. The tv not working didn't bother me, but the fact that I mentioned it the first night and they never got around to fixing it did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Penny's just a few blocks away. This is helpful if you have forgotten any clothing, or need clothing you hadn't thought of. I participated in a 10k run and hadn't thought to bring sweats as well as shorts. I was able to pick up what I needed at a very reasonable price the morning before the race.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny is always gone
Business
CT, USA
Sep 19, 2012

Nice hotel - just a little cumbersome

Based on what you are used to. Staff friendly. Parking is an adventure. Great exercise stair climbing and very long hallways (more steps up and down). Price was good? Next time Dublin I will step one up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nads
Business
Kent, England
Aug 14, 2012

fantastic city break

The Castle Hotel was a lovely hotel who's staff could not do enough for you. The room my husband and i were in was very small and i was very disappointed as our friends had a lovely spacious room. i am not usually a person that complains however i had been looking forward to this trip and felt disapponted with the room. I went to reception to let them know how i felt and within 5 minutes i was transfered to a new room which was wonderful. staff were very apologetic and made sure that i was happy the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A local pub that had fab entertainment every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Shanghai, china
Aug 5, 2012

So so

If u want to experience the hub life of Dublin this hotel might not be an ideal location. Away from colorful life. However the restaurant is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big 6
Business
Sothern California
Jul 28, 2012

Trip to Dublin

The Castle Hotel overall was a great hotel for the value. The rooms are of average size for Europe and the style of the hotel takes you back to days past. It is a short walk to all the attractions in Dublin from O' Connel St. to Temple Bar. We did not need to take the bus to get around. Also, it is very easy to get to by taking the airlink from the airport. The Castle Hotel was great and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Dublin. Also, one of the only hotels I saw that gives you a free breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top