$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Castle Hotel

3 stars
Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
78 reviews
Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful. See full review

  • Bolye
  • Jul 28, 2013
Old world charm in modern city

Excellent service, great food, and unique rooms make this Dublin hotel special. The restaurants... See full review

  • Jobasmith
  • Jul 18, 2014
Georgian elegance in the heart of Dublin

The Castle Hotel offers a unique Georgian experience to its guests with recent restoration bringing original plasterwork, marble fireplaces and period staircases back to their full glory. Guests find that the central location puts them within easy walking distance of the many cultural and historic attractions in the city. In fact, the hotel is situated on the official Cultural Trail. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, Castle Hotel guests chill out in the famous Castle Restaurant, which features live Irish music twice a week.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Castle Hotel Rooms

The Castle Hotel exudes Georgian elegance and charm, and this distinctive ambience extends to the guest rooms as well. Guests choose between single, double, twin and family rooms and all guest rooms feature an en suite bathroom. A full Irish breakfast is included in the room rate, and a cold buffet selection is also available. Guest rooms also feature tea- and coffee-making facilities, a remote control TV and a direct-dial telephone. Nonsmoking rooms are available. The rooms are decorated tastefully and feature elegant furnishings along with their up-to-date amenities and facilities. All guest rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and a baby-sitting service is available. Guests looking for comfortable accommodations in the heart of Dublin that offer historical ambiance, modern amenities and excellent service will find everything they want at the Castle Hotel.

Things To Do
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)

Hotel Map

53.3549 -6.2633
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The Castle Hotel is located in the centre of Dublin, a short walking distance from all the major cultural and sporting venues. Being a short distance form the Financial Service Centre in Dublin makes the hotel an ideal location for the tourists and business traveller alike. The hotel has its own private car park and is convenient to airport, rail, and sea terminals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Hotel Rooms

DOUBLE
1 Double bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
TWIN
2 Single Beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
SINGLE
1 Single bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
FAMILY
1 Double + 2 Single beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Croke Park: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.7 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.7 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 2 small meeting rooms which can cater for parties of up to 15 people.

Dining

Bar/Restaurant
The new Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm, it is walled with the same warm stone that has been in place for the past 200 years and has an exposed Vaulted Ceiling which was part of the Original 19th Century wine cellars An enchanting retreat and the perfect place to sit back and unwind after a busy day exploring the city of Dublin. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (78)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
78 out of 78
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.2

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PortuguesePrincess
New Jersey, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Best Place To Stay In Dublin!!!

The Castle-Hotel is a beautiful building! Our room was cozy and perfect, the bathroom was a bit small, but the bed and room size was great. The staff is beyond wonderful, always willing to help with directions and suggestions for out-of-the-way places. The hotel restaurant is amazing! There was live music on Friday and Saturday, the food was so good that we decided to eat dinner there every night! We will definitely be back there in the next few months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Huck Finn
Brisbane QLD, Australia
Mar 23, 2012

Wonderful Place to explore Dublin

The hotel is in a great location within easy walking distance to central Dublin. You end up walking down one of the main streets so it is easy to find your way back if you are a new visitor to Dublin. The hotel has a good restaurant with a local folk band providing entertainment while were there. Cooked Irish breakfast was included and was a good way to start the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A Dublin bus tour with live commentary is good value and can provide many laughs. It is a short walk from the hotel to where you can catch the bus.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PJBusy
Southern California USA
Jan 31, 2012

Castle Hotel - Dublin Ireland

We stayed at the Castle Hotel during our last weekend in Ireland because we wanted to visit some specific attractions/areas in Dubmin during the two days we had left on our twelve day trip. This hotel is located in a questionable area (very dark, not safe at night in my opinion) about a 20 minute walk from the Temple Bar area, the hop on hop off bus stop and the airport bus. There is a bank with an ATM and a store for drinks and snacks about 2 blocks away. Pros:The staff was really helpful and offered really good advice on planning. They also sell tickets to the hop on hop off bus at a really good rate. The restaurant is really great for dinner and the live music on Saturday night was fantastic!! The food was really good and portions were good. The room was clean and has a coffee/tea maker with tea and coffee provided. The bathroom is useable and worked fine. The lighting in the room and bathroom was very good. Cons:The hotel is very old (it really was a castle so that should be a clue) so there is no sound proofing anywhere. We could here everything in the surronding rooms and hallways (and I do mean everything, including snoring and other sounds) the walkways/hallways are narrow and winding with several firedoors throughout (probably every 3 rooms) so you hear the people talking as they walk through the halls and every door slaming including the fire doors and room doors. You can also hear every noise outside the hotel because the windows are single pane thin glass. There is no vending at the hotel and you can not get money exchanged at the hotel. There is an elevator but there are several steps within the halls on each floor. So even though you can take the elevator to your floor, once on the floor you will have to deal with walking up and down stairs on your floor. Not a lot of stairs but if you have heavy bags you will need to deal with the stairs. The rooms are small but useable, we had a twin room (2 twin beds) there was a small desk, a small table and a cabinet to hang a few items. No safe no ironing board & iron, no air conditioning (although the heat works very well). The bathroom was just OK, it had the smallest shower we had ever seen. There is no counter space so what would not fit on the sink went on the window ledge. Breakfast was provided in the price of the room but it is a disaster! there was not enough room for eveyone to sit and the buffet was very sparse. You basically get your hot food from a server (if they remember what you ordered and if they get to you) I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The price I paid was on line with a much better hotel and we really felt ripped off for the amount we paid to stay here for two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Friday and Saturday the Castle Hotel restaurant has live music and it is fantastic. The food was really great and the service was good. We would recommend it to everyone.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
susieq4th
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 8, 2012

great value

Centrally located to dining and shopping. Chapter one is 2 blocks away. Ask for a room in the back, will be much more quiet

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple bar is not far

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
susieq4th
Atlanta, GA, USA
Jan 7, 2012

hot hotel

the rooms can be hot, leave a window open. Ask for a room in the back as the front of the hotel can be noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Chapter One is near by, one the better restaurants in Dublin

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pay the man
Orlando, FL, USA
Nov 28, 2011

good location

easy walk to all the sites of Dublin, restaurant and bar were very good. Food was better than i anticipated and service was very good. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

I recomend eating dinner in the hotel one night and enjoy the food and live music. Food was good.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
the Kansas couple
Overland Park, KS, USA
Nov 3, 2011

Great hidden Georgian treasure

We thoroughly enjoyed our six night stay at this very clean, quiet and delightful hotel. It is a short walk to downtown on O'Connell Street. It is also around the corner from the Writer's Museum. Breakfasts, included in the cost of the hotel, were fantastic. We could order a full Irish breakfast as well as dine from the continental buffet. The staff was knowledgeable, helpful and very friendly. They went out of their way to accommodate guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cromartie
dc
Sep 29, 2011

3 days at the Castle Hotel

Clean hotel that is close to the main downtown area of Dublin. You can get an AirCoach bus to the airport and back right down the street. The hotel has hot water but it takes awhile to turn on. The downside was the noise level. It is an old hotel and the floors creak plus it is tricky navigating inside the hotel to get to your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dreamtrip
Broken Arrow, OK, USA
Sep 13, 2011

Hotel Review

Staff in hotel were very helpful, polite and professional. Breakfast was good and plentiful, wait staff very efficient and speedy. Especially enjoyed Josie who gave us advice on a good place to hear local music. Restaurant food was very good, served well and we enjoyed the live music. On the down side the room was hot, we had the impression that there would be air conditioning, electrial outlets were insufficient and the shower was dangerous because the water was too often scalding hot changing to icy cold. Too much noise from room directly above ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Akron, Ohio
Jul 7, 2011

great location and reasonable price

I used castle hotel as my main place to come back to and relax after a day of sightseeing of dublin and the surrounding counties. The hotel was very nice and the staff was always friendly. The breakfast was awesome and the wait stuff was awesome. I did not have to wait very long for a great irish breakfast. Nothing wa smissing from my hotel experience. This was a wonderful trip for me it was my first trip to europe and it was the first time i have used [...]to plan a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

basically if you stay at the castle hotel it is a short walk to many great places to eat.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search