$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 22, 2014 Check-out: Jul 25, 2014

Castle Hotel

3 stars
Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
48 reviews
Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful. See full review

  • Bolye
  • Jul 28, 2013
Delightful First-Time Stay for One

This is my second time trying to post this review, so cannot be so detailed, but I was very... See full review

  • Doreann1
  • May 31, 2014
Georgian elegance in the heart of Dublin

The Castle Hotel offers a unique Georgian experience to its guests with recent restoration bringing original plasterwork, marble fireplaces and period staircases back to their full glory. Guests find that the central location puts them within easy walking distance of the many cultural and historic attractions in the city. In fact, the hotel is situated on the official Cultural Trail. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, Castle Hotel guests chill out in the famous Castle Restaurant, which features live Irish music twice a week.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Castle Hotel Rooms

The Castle Hotel exudes Georgian elegance and charm, and this distinctive ambience extends to the guest rooms as well. Guests choose between single, double, twin and family rooms and all guest rooms feature an en suite bathroom. A full Irish breakfast is included in the room rate, and a cold buffet selection is also available. Guest rooms also feature tea- and coffee-making facilities, a remote control TV and a direct-dial telephone. Nonsmoking rooms are available. The rooms are decorated tastefully and feature elegant furnishings along with their up-to-date amenities and facilities. All guest rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and a baby-sitting service is available. Guests looking for comfortable accommodations in the heart of Dublin that offer historical ambiance, modern amenities and excellent service will find everything they want at the Castle Hotel.

Things To Do
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)

Hotel Map

53.3549 -6.2633
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The Castle Hotel is located in the centre of Dublin, a short walking distance from all the major cultural and sporting venues. Being a short distance form the Financial Service Centre in Dublin makes the hotel an ideal location for the tourists and business traveller alike. The hotel has its own private car park and is convenient to airport, rail, and sea terminals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Hotel Rooms

DOUBLE
1 Double bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
TWIN
2 Single Beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
SINGLE
1 Single bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
FAMILY
1 Double + 2 Single beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Croke Park: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.7 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.7 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.7 mi

Dining

Bar/Restaurant
The new Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm, it is walled with the same warm stone that has been in place for the past 200 years and has an exposed Vaulted Ceiling which was part of the Original 19th Century wine cellars An enchanting retreat and the perfect place to sit back and unwind after a busy day exploring the city of Dublin. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 2 small meeting rooms which can cater for parties of up to 15 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mj06830
Connecticut
Sep 28, 2012

Great location

The location of the Castle is perfect. An easy walk to the downtown, yet far enough away not to be noisey. Rooms are of good size for a Europien hotel. Breakfast included and very good. They missed cleaning the room one day, when we called to have the room cleaned and fresh towels brought up the front desk said they had gone for the day sorry, but did bring fresh towels. Parking is a problem in Dublin but the Castle offers a car park for 10.00 Euro a day cheap as compared with the street but seems petty to pay for Hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southernmost Steampunk
Key West, Florida
Sep 24, 2012

Perfect for a Solo Steampunk

I stayed here while traveling on my own. I had been in the UK for the week and a half before my four nights here, and I must say this was probably the best hotel I stayed at. The room was clean and quite spacious. The en suite bathroom was also quite spacious for what I had seen during my trip. The hotel itself was lovely and I enjoyed the older style furnishings in the communal areas. I never did make to a breakfast, even though it was included. However, just a few blocks away is a French restaurant and bakery where you can get croissants at a good price. This worked well for me since I prefer a small breakfast that I can take on the go while I sight see. The only downsides to the whole experience were that I could hear the people in the room above me, the locations is just a bit more of a walk than I was expecting(though still very close to the major attractions), and my tv didn't work. The tv not working didn't bother me, but the fact that I mentioned it the first night and they never got around to fixing it did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Penny's just a few blocks away. This is helpful if you have forgotten any clothing, or need clothing you hadn't thought of. I participated in a 10k run and hadn't thought to bring sweats as well as shorts. I was able to pick up what I needed at a very reasonable price the morning before the race.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danny is always gone
Business
CT, USA
Sep 19, 2012

Nice hotel - just a little cumbersome

Based on what you are used to. Staff friendly. Parking is an adventure. Great exercise stair climbing and very long hallways (more steps up and down). Price was good? Next time Dublin I will step one up.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nads
Kent, England
Aug 14, 2012

fantastic city break

The Castle Hotel was a lovely hotel who's staff could not do enough for you. The room my husband and i were in was very small and i was very disappointed as our friends had a lovely spacious room. i am not usually a person that complains however i had been looking forward to this trip and felt disapponted with the room. I went to reception to let them know how i felt and within 5 minutes i was transfered to a new room which was wonderful. staff were very apologetic and made sure that i was happy the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A local pub that had fab entertainment every night.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Shanghai, china
Aug 5, 2012

So so

If u want to experience the hub life of Dublin this hotel might not be an ideal location. Away from colorful life. However the restaurant is good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big 6
Sothern California
Jul 28, 2012

Trip to Dublin

The Castle Hotel overall was a great hotel for the value. The rooms are of average size for Europe and the style of the hotel takes you back to days past. It is a short walk to all the attractions in Dublin from O' Connel St. to Temple Bar. We did not need to take the bus to get around. Also, it is very easy to get to by taking the airlink from the airport. The Castle Hotel was great and I would recommend it to anyone staying in Dublin. Also, one of the only hotels I saw that gives you a free breakfast!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pablo Grande
Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire, UK
Jun 10, 2012

Ideal base in Dublin Town

This is a great & handy place to stay in Dublin town all the local attractions are within a short walk, 5 mins walk from the airport bus stop. If you do not like road noise ask for a rear room as this is a georgian hotel with sash windows that allow a litttle road noise through, although saying this the room was great with lots of extras that make your stay comfortable, tea, coffee, hair dryer, large bed, sofa, free internet access & an amazing traditional Irish breakfast with added fruit juice, cereal or continental additions- Recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Parnell Heritage Pub on Parnell street great food & listed on Voucher Cloud as well you will not be disappointed.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Curious Traveler
Oregon
Apr 10, 2012

I knew it was old but....

There is something charming about an older Hotel. This one reminded me of old New York, before the Great Gentrification. The heating system involves opening and closing old windows, the bed was hard and the pillows were flat. That said, the shower was excellent, it was all clean enough and the staff are very, very nice. The location is good too. The restaruant is really excellent. My cousin had a huge Irish beef steak that was cooked perfectly and I had the Salmon with a white wine sauce that was pretty much the best I have ever tasted-and I'm from the Northwest where Salmon is King. I might choose a quiter hotel with better beds (if possible in Ireland) next time but the value for what you get is there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

You really can't get better for the money and location so I'd just eat there if I were you.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PortuguesePrincess
New Jersey, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Best Place To Stay In Dublin!!!

The Castle-Hotel is a beautiful building! Our room was cozy and perfect, the bathroom was a bit small, but the bed and room size was great. The staff is beyond wonderful, always willing to help with directions and suggestions for out-of-the-way places. The hotel restaurant is amazing! There was live music on Friday and Saturday, the food was so good that we decided to eat dinner there every night! We will definitely be back there in the next few months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PJBusy
Southern California USA
Jan 31, 2012

Castle Hotel - Dublin Ireland

We stayed at the Castle Hotel during our last weekend in Ireland because we wanted to visit some specific attractions/areas in Dubmin during the two days we had left on our twelve day trip. This hotel is located in a questionable area (very dark, not safe at night in my opinion) about a 20 minute walk from the Temple Bar area, the hop on hop off bus stop and the airport bus. There is a bank with an ATM and a store for drinks and snacks about 2 blocks away. Pros:The staff was really helpful and offered really good advice on planning. They also sell tickets to the hop on hop off bus at a really good rate. The restaurant is really great for dinner and the live music on Saturday night was fantastic!! The food was really good and portions were good. The room was clean and has a coffee/tea maker with tea and coffee provided. The bathroom is useable and worked fine. The lighting in the room and bathroom was very good. Cons:The hotel is very old (it really was a castle so that should be a clue) so there is no sound proofing anywhere. We could here everything in the surronding rooms and hallways (and I do mean everything, including snoring and other sounds) the walkways/hallways are narrow and winding with several firedoors throughout (probably every 3 rooms) so you hear the people talking as they walk through the halls and every door slaming including the fire doors and room doors. You can also hear every noise outside the hotel because the windows are single pane thin glass. There is no vending at the hotel and you can not get money exchanged at the hotel. There is an elevator but there are several steps within the halls on each floor. So even though you can take the elevator to your floor, once on the floor you will have to deal with walking up and down stairs on your floor. Not a lot of stairs but if you have heavy bags you will need to deal with the stairs. The rooms are small but useable, we had a twin room (2 twin beds) there was a small desk, a small table and a cabinet to hang a few items. No safe no ironing board & iron, no air conditioning (although the heat works very well). The bathroom was just OK, it had the smallest shower we had ever seen. There is no counter space so what would not fit on the sink went on the window ledge. Breakfast was provided in the price of the room but it is a disaster! there was not enough room for eveyone to sit and the buffet was very sparse. You basically get your hot food from a server (if they remember what you ordered and if they get to you) I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. The price I paid was on line with a much better hotel and we really felt ripped off for the amount we paid to stay here for two days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Friday and Saturday the Castle Hotel restaurant has live music and it is fantastic. The food was really great and the service was good. We would recommend it to everyone.

Back to menu Return to top