$104 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 8, 2015

Castle Hotel

3 stars
View map of Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin, Dublin 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
get stuffed
Business
northern ireland
Mar 18, 2014

weekend break

get the hotel inspector very poor quality hotel old worn out furniture not clean. dirty worn carpets. poor reception on television which was on a dirty glass stand. staff unfriendly. poor breakfast half a rasher of bacon no vegetarian sausages staff need to have their hair up when serving food. staff did not speak to us when we were leaving .this hotel should be avoided as it is dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

winding stair restaurant on the river is excellent

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kansas City John
Business
Kansas City
Dec 2, 2013

Warm, comfortable accomodations.

Great location and friendly, helpful staff made our trip everything we had hoped it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magnifideant
Business
Dublin Ireland
Nov 13, 2013

Great long weekend get away

Warm welcoming great location good breakfast worth having an evening meal in hotel. Our only complaint during our stay was the noise from the creaky stairs ask for a room away from them otherwise great we will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Killarney Me
Business
Orlando, Florida
Nov 7, 2013

Happy in Dublin

Great location, good hotel, walk to everything, they are accommodating !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZFIELD
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 8, 2013

Great Experience, Great Hotel

Loved this hotel and it's staff. I really enjoyed the vintage decor of the entire place. The restaurant and bar were fantastic, but maybe a little overpriced. Still great to be able to walk downstairs and grab a pint and a bite before heading out for a night on the town. I had the unfortunate room located above the back alley which was always booming with loud noises in the morning. It wasn't that big of a deal for me and definitely did not ruin my stay. The location is fantastic. Within walking distance to just about everything near the Liffey. Thanks for entertaining this Arizona desert dweller. I will be back eventually!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take O'Connell to Temple Bar. About at 15 min walk and a beautiful one at that.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cazmac
Business
Scotland
Aug 6, 2013

Great Hotel in the Center of Dublin

We had a lovely few days at the Castle. The location is great just off O'Connell Street. Staff were superb as was the lovely Irish Breakfast. Rooms clean and adequate. We would definitely go back if we return to Dublin. I would also recommend the Hop on Hop off Bus it is a great way to see the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bolye
Business
London
Jul 28, 2013

Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adge
Business
Dublin
Jul 9, 2013

Good City Hotel

A warm, clean and friendly City Hotel, just on fringe of City centre, perfect for walking to all connections and Sights. Fantastic breakfast only fault was the toast situation when busy. Would definitly stay there again when visiting Dublin. We got Local bus from the airport which stops just beyond corner of Hotel Rd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greg Magnus
Business
Willow Spring, NC
Jun 4, 2013

First time to Dublin

It was my wifes first trip to Europe together and I must say we had a wonderful time. The staff at The Castle were friendly and helpful. We spent our entire 6 day trip in one place and the staff really got to know us. We felt very welcomed. The hotel was a short 15 min walk to the Temple Bar and Grafton St. area and had all the old world charm we were looking for in our stay. That said there were 2 drawbacks, 1. The beds in our room were so firm that we were not able to sleep all that well during our stay. 2. The consruction outside our hotel room begain very early (6:30am most days) that on the 2 days we wanted to sleep in we were unable to. Other than those two issues we were very happy with our stay in Dublin and at The Castle hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple bar area was fantastic, Highly recomment The Quay's Bar (pronounced The Key's).

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Irish Vacationers
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 29, 2013

Great week in Ireland

Castle Hotel is a great location! Within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in Dublin. Staff was very nice and helpful. Food in reataurant was great and the bar was a great place to listen to some Irish music. Family room was comfortable for a famly of four.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top