$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 1, 2015 Check-out: Feb 4, 2015

Castle Hotel

3 stars
Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
50 reviews
Awesome trip

Room was small but comfortable. The breakfasts in the morning were absolutely fab. See full review

  • jm LDN
  • Jan 20, 2015
Castle Hotel Stay.

This is an Excellent Hotel, the staff were more than helpful, rooms were neat and tidy, and very... See full review

  • EnochTC
  • Nov 24, 2014
Georgian elegance in the heart of Dublin

The Castle Hotel offers a unique Georgian experience to its guests with recent restoration bringing original plasterwork, marble fireplaces and period staircases back to their full glory. Guests find that the central location puts them within easy walking distance of the many cultural and historic attractions in the city. In fact, the hotel is situated on the official Cultural Trail. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, Castle Hotel guests chill out in the famous Castle Restaurant, which features live Irish music twice a week.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Castle Hotel Rooms

The Castle Hotel exudes Georgian elegance and charm, and this distinctive ambience extends to the guest rooms as well. Guests choose between single, double, twin and family rooms and all guest rooms feature an en suite bathroom. A full Irish breakfast is included in the room rate, and a cold buffet selection is also available. Guest rooms also feature tea- and coffee-making facilities, a remote control TV and a direct-dial telephone. Nonsmoking rooms are available. The rooms are decorated tastefully and feature elegant furnishings along with their up-to-date amenities and facilities. All guest rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and a baby-sitting service is available. Guests looking for comfortable accommodations in the heart of Dublin that offer historical ambiance, modern amenities and excellent service will find everything they want at the Castle Hotel.

Things To Do
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Hotel Rooms

DOUBLE
1 Double bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
TWIN
2 Single Beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
SINGLE
1 Single bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
FAMILY
1 Double + 2 Single beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Croke Park: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.7 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.7 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.7 mi

Dining

Bar/Restaurant
The new Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm, it is walled with the same warm stone that has been in place for the past 200 years and has an exposed Vaulted Ceiling which was part of the Original 19th Century wine cellars An enchanting retreat and the perfect place to sit back and unwind after a busy day exploring the city of Dublin. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 2 small meeting rooms which can cater for parties of up to 15 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (50)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
50 out of 50
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Irish Vacationers
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 29, 2013

Great week in Ireland

Castle Hotel is a great location! Within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in Dublin. Staff was very nice and helpful. Food in reataurant was great and the bar was a great place to listen to some Irish music. Family room was comfortable for a famly of four.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vosie
Business
Maine
Apr 20, 2013

Great Location

The rooms are smaller than American hotels but the location is great. The staff is really helpful and the breakfast is a great convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Chester Beatty Library byt eh DUblin Castle is a wonderful museum experience and the restaurant is also very good. If the entrees look too big they do have a half plate option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karen S
Business
Bury
Feb 12, 2013

Great place to stay

Recently stayed here first time in Dublin. Great location for getting around and the hotel was excellent. We were at the back so not great views but other than that it was great. The bar with live music is a good ending to some busy days

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Schmidt
Business
Germany
Jan 3, 2013

great visit to Dublin

Castle Hotel met our needs and was reasonably priced. The room was clean and the breakfast was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist on two wheels
Business
Wellesley, MA
Dec 2, 2012

Had a great stay

I had a very brief stay in Dublin, and the Castle Hotel fit my needs perfectly. The staff were incredibly helpful (including assistance with charting out a bicycling route), and the food at the restaurant was terrific. The location can't be beat, putting you within walking (or bicycling!) distance of all of the key things to see. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a bicycle from Paul at Phoenix Park Bicycle Rentals, it's the best way to get around Dublin!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The NYer
Business
New York City
Dec 1, 2012

Made my first visit to Dublin pleasurable

The hotel staff in this well-appointed hotel to a person was friendly and helpful. The hotel itself is conveniently located just off a major thoroughfare, O'Connell Street, and within easy walking distance of the major sites a first-time visitor to Dubline might want to visit, including the Abbey Theatre, the General Post Office, Trinity College, the Irish film Institute, the National Gallery, Grafton Street, the wonderful Hodges Figgis bookstore, Stephens Green and on and on.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk wherever you want to go within the center city, mix with the inhabitants and get a sense of the city's rhythms.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
A regular traveller
Business
Scotland
Nov 11, 2012

great value

a good location, great staff and a comfortable room. with great value pricing, the Castle is worth a visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
radzila
Business
NYC
Nov 6, 2012

Doable but not great

I wanted to stay in an old fashion hotel vs modern luxury but expected great service from reading the reviews. Hotel staff was not friendly at all, at least not to me and my companion. First room that we got was small and very very cold. They did listen to my concerns and switched our room that hit all the items on the list. Hotel walls are very thin, so don't expect to get much rest. Its in walking distance from all site seeing but its a bit of a walk. If you intend to be out the door first thing in morning and not nap during day, then hotel will meet your needs. I hate to say it, but you get what you pay for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right next to hotel there is a cute cafe, get your morning fix there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mj06830
Business
Connecticut
Sep 28, 2012

Great location

The location of the Castle is perfect. An easy walk to the downtown, yet far enough away not to be noisey. Rooms are of good size for a Europien hotel. Breakfast included and very good. They missed cleaning the room one day, when we called to have the room cleaned and fresh towels brought up the front desk said they had gone for the day sorry, but did bring fresh towels. Parking is a problem in Dublin but the Castle offers a car park for 10.00 Euro a day cheap as compared with the street but seems petty to pay for Hotel guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southernmost Steampunk
Business
Key West, Florida
Sep 24, 2012

Perfect for a Solo Steampunk

I stayed here while traveling on my own. I had been in the UK for the week and a half before my four nights here, and I must say this was probably the best hotel I stayed at. The room was clean and quite spacious. The en suite bathroom was also quite spacious for what I had seen during my trip. The hotel itself was lovely and I enjoyed the older style furnishings in the communal areas. I never did make to a breakfast, even though it was included. However, just a few blocks away is a French restaurant and bakery where you can get croissants at a good price. This worked well for me since I prefer a small breakfast that I can take on the go while I sight see. The only downsides to the whole experience were that I could hear the people in the room above me, the locations is just a bit more of a walk than I was expecting(though still very close to the major attractions), and my tv didn't work. The tv not working didn't bother me, but the fact that I mentioned it the first night and they never got around to fixing it did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a Penny's just a few blocks away. This is helpful if you have forgotten any clothing, or need clothing you hadn't thought of. I participated in a 10k run and hadn't thought to bring sweats as well as shorts. I was able to pick up what I needed at a very reasonable price the morning before the race.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top