$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 5, 2015 Check-out: Jan 8, 2015

Castle Hotel

3 stars
Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
48 reviews
Castle Hotel Stay.

This is an Excellent Hotel, the staff were more than helpful, rooms were neat and tidy, and very... See full review

  • EnochTC
  • Nov 24, 2014
Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful. See full review

  • Bolye
  • Jul 28, 2013
Georgian elegance in the heart of Dublin

The Castle Hotel offers a unique Georgian experience to its guests with recent restoration bringing original plasterwork, marble fireplaces and period staircases back to their full glory. Guests find that the central location puts them within easy walking distance of the many cultural and historic attractions in the city. In fact, the hotel is situated on the official Cultural Trail. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, Castle Hotel guests chill out in the famous Castle Restaurant, which features live Irish music twice a week.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Castle Hotel Rooms

The Castle Hotel exudes Georgian elegance and charm, and this distinctive ambience extends to the guest rooms as well. Guests choose between single, double, twin and family rooms and all guest rooms feature an en suite bathroom. A full Irish breakfast is included in the room rate, and a cold buffet selection is also available. Guest rooms also feature tea- and coffee-making facilities, a remote control TV and a direct-dial telephone. Nonsmoking rooms are available. The rooms are decorated tastefully and feature elegant furnishings along with their up-to-date amenities and facilities. All guest rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and a baby-sitting service is available. Guests looking for comfortable accommodations in the heart of Dublin that offer historical ambiance, modern amenities and excellent service will find everything they want at the Castle Hotel.

Things To Do
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Hotel Rooms

DOUBLE
1 Double bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
TWIN
2 Single Beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
SINGLE
1 Single bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
FAMILY
1 Double + 2 Single beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Croke Park: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.7 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.7 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.7 mi

Dining

Bar/Restaurant
The new Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm, it is walled with the same warm stone that has been in place for the past 200 years and has an exposed Vaulted Ceiling which was part of the Original 19th Century wine cellars An enchanting retreat and the perfect place to sit back and unwind after a busy day exploring the city of Dublin. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 2 small meeting rooms which can cater for parties of up to 15 people.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (48)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 48
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nads
Kent, England
Aug 14, 2012

fantastic city break

The Castle Hotel was a lovely hotel who's staff could not do enough for you. The room my husband and i were in was very small and i was very disappointed as our friends had a lovely spacious room. i am not usually a person that complains however i had been looking forward to this trip and felt disapponted with the room. I went to reception to let them know how i felt and within 5 minutes i was transfered to a new room which was wonderful. staff were very apologetic and made sure that i was happy the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A local pub that had fab entertainment every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
get stuffed
Business
northern ireland
Mar 18, 2014

weekend break

get the hotel inspector very poor quality hotel old worn out furniture not clean. dirty worn carpets. poor reception on television which was on a dirty glass stand. staff unfriendly. poor breakfast half a rasher of bacon no vegetarian sausages staff need to have their hair up when serving food. staff did not speak to us when we were leaving .this hotel should be avoided as it is dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

winding stair restaurant on the river is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kansas City John
Business
Kansas City
Dec 2, 2013

Warm, comfortable accomodations.

Great location and friendly, helpful staff made our trip everything we had hoped it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magnifideant
Business
Dublin Ireland
Nov 13, 2013

Great long weekend get away

Warm welcoming great location good breakfast worth having an evening meal in hotel. Our only complaint during our stay was the noise from the creaky stairs ask for a room away from them otherwise great we will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Killarney Me
Business
Orlando, Florida
Nov 7, 2013

Happy in Dublin

Great location, good hotel, walk to everything, they are accommodating !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZFIELD
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 8, 2013

Great Experience, Great Hotel

Loved this hotel and it's staff. I really enjoyed the vintage decor of the entire place. The restaurant and bar were fantastic, but maybe a little overpriced. Still great to be able to walk downstairs and grab a pint and a bite before heading out for a night on the town. I had the unfortunate room located above the back alley which was always booming with loud noises in the morning. It wasn't that big of a deal for me and definitely did not ruin my stay. The location is fantastic. Within walking distance to just about everything near the Liffey. Thanks for entertaining this Arizona desert dweller. I will be back eventually!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take O'Connell to Temple Bar. About at 15 min walk and a beautiful one at that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cazmac
Business
Scotland
Aug 6, 2013

Great Hotel in the Center of Dublin

We had a lovely few days at the Castle. The location is great just off O'Connell Street. Staff were superb as was the lovely Irish Breakfast. Rooms clean and adequate. We would definitely go back if we return to Dublin. I would also recommend the Hop on Hop off Bus it is a great way to see the City.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bolye
Business
London
Jul 28, 2013

Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Adge
Business
Dublin
Jul 9, 2013

Good City Hotel

A warm, clean and friendly City Hotel, just on fringe of City centre, perfect for walking to all connections and Sights. Fantastic breakfast only fault was the toast situation when busy. Would definitly stay there again when visiting Dublin. We got Local bus from the airport which stops just beyond corner of Hotel Rd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Irish Vacationers
Business
San Francisco, CA
Apr 29, 2013

Great week in Ireland

Castle Hotel is a great location! Within walking distance of everything we wanted to do in Dublin. Staff was very nice and helpful. Food in reataurant was great and the bar was a great place to listen to some Irish music. Family room was comfortable for a famly of four.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vosie
Business
Maine
Apr 20, 2013

Great Location

The rooms are smaller than American hotels but the location is great. The staff is really helpful and the breakfast is a great convenience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The Chester Beatty Library byt eh DUblin Castle is a wonderful museum experience and the restaurant is also very good. If the entrees look too big they do have a half plate option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top