$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 30, 2015

Castle Hotel

3 stars
View map of Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nads
Kent, England
Aug 14, 2012

fantastic city break

The Castle Hotel was a lovely hotel who's staff could not do enough for you. The room my husband and i were in was very small and i was very disappointed as our friends had a lovely spacious room. i am not usually a person that complains however i had been looking forward to this trip and felt disapponted with the room. I went to reception to let them know how i felt and within 5 minutes i was transfered to a new room which was wonderful. staff were very apologetic and made sure that i was happy the rest of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

A local pub that had fab entertainment every night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jobasmith
Business
Indpls, IN
Jul 18, 2014

Old world charm in modern city

Excellent service, great food, and unique rooms make this Dublin hotel special. The restaurants offer tasty food and have charming, authentic decor. Within walking distance of most attractions. Located directly across from a beautiful memorial park. Only downfall is city noise at night. Great value for price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Church restaurant with live Irish music and dancing as well as excellent food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MichandMum
Business
Dorset, England
Jul 5, 2014

Fantastic weekend break

Over 3 days managed to fit in lots of visits to local attractions. The hotel was very close to the city centre but not a noisy location. The staff were excellent, very friendly and the evening entertainment with "Irish balladeers" very good. The breakfast was basic but good with a good choice of hot food and cereals. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Dublin pass and a 2 or 3 day bus pass so you can "hop-on-and -hop-off" to see as many attractions as possible.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doreann1
Business
San Francisco, California
May 31, 2014

Delightful First-Time Stay for One

This is my second time trying to post this review, so cannot be so detailed, but I was very satisfied with this private hotel and so glad I chose it rather than a chain. It was so easy to book and pay for on line - much faster than writing this review! The hotel has a family owned feeling, because it is, and is in a row house that is easily recognizable at Georgian, and in my view it has considerable charm coupled with convenience - like a lift, restaurant and bar on premises, and within walking distance from the airport bus drop off and tours. There are also a couple of sights right next door - a garden of remembrance and a writers' museum, both worth a visit. O'Connell Street, the river, Trinity etc., locally-crafted shops etc. are also within walking distance, along with music bars and eateries. The food at the hotel is good, served in the cellar bar/restaurant, breakfast was included in my room and was served, or there was a buffet. I am a senior single and was given a double bed, with pine-colored furniture, and the room was freshly and sweetly decorated. Nice bathroom etc. There are plenty of public sitting areas on the main level, and the staff are very nice indeed. I hope this posts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panamuna
Business
Perth,Australia
May 31, 2014

Good Value

Excellent Location, Good size room and ensuite, Tasty Breakfast, Well run hotel and staff very helpfull and offered umbrella as it was raining. Wi Fi great. Good resources available and reception gave advice on where to go. Overall a pleasant stay in Ireland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A must do go on the Dart Train in both directions. Got a day ticket so did both ways on the same ticket. Both Sea side places with amazing views and good fish and chips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suz3
Business
Rockville, MD
May 23, 2014

Quirky!

My sisters and I spent a week @ the Castle Hotel. My room was fine though had trouble trying to adjust the heat. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom could use some updating. There was a desk with drawers for clothing also a wardrobe for hanging. My other sister's room was quite the opposite. No place for their clothing and the shower curtain didn't reach the floor so there was a flood every time they took a shower. It was reported and they did try but it just needed a longer curtain which I guess they didn't have. Our rooms were quite a distance from the elevator and a joke was made about leaving a trail of breadcrumbs as there were many doors to go through and ups and downs in the floor. Quirky! The included breakfasts were fine and service was excellent. The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good. The salmon was great and the steak sandwiches even better. They also allowed substitutions so we could get veggies instead of fries. I would definitely stay there again but I don't think my sister would. Too bad but I enjoyed it and the location right off of O'Connell Street was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
get stuffed
Business
northern ireland
Mar 18, 2014

weekend break

get the hotel inspector very poor quality hotel old worn out furniture not clean. dirty worn carpets. poor reception on television which was on a dirty glass stand. staff unfriendly. poor breakfast half a rasher of bacon no vegetarian sausages staff need to have their hair up when serving food. staff did not speak to us when we were leaving .this hotel should be avoided as it is dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

winding stair restaurant on the river is excellent

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kansas City John
Business
Kansas City
Dec 2, 2013

Warm, comfortable accomodations.

Great location and friendly, helpful staff made our trip everything we had hoped it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magnifideant
Business
Dublin Ireland
Nov 13, 2013

Great long weekend get away

Warm welcoming great location good breakfast worth having an evening meal in hotel. Our only complaint during our stay was the noise from the creaky stairs ask for a room away from them otherwise great we will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Killarney Me
Business
Orlando, Florida
Nov 7, 2013

Happy in Dublin

Great location, good hotel, walk to everything, they are accommodating !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZFIELD
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 8, 2013

Great Experience, Great Hotel

Loved this hotel and it's staff. I really enjoyed the vintage decor of the entire place. The restaurant and bar were fantastic, but maybe a little overpriced. Still great to be able to walk downstairs and grab a pint and a bite before heading out for a night on the town. I had the unfortunate room located above the back alley which was always booming with loud noises in the morning. It wasn't that big of a deal for me and definitely did not ruin my stay. The location is fantastic. Within walking distance to just about everything near the Liffey. Thanks for entertaining this Arizona desert dweller. I will be back eventually!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take O'Connell to Temple Bar. About at 15 min walk and a beautiful one at that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top