Castle Hotel

3 stars
View map of Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin, Dublin 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kiran M.
Business
Brooklyn
Dec 20, 2014

I love Ireland

Quaint hotel in a good location - Georgian architecture in area. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was generous. Single room is small but comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take public transport (DART and buses) for a local experience.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mitchell.10
Business
Boston
Oct 23, 2014

Convenient location

I would recommend this hotel and the location is very convenient to shopping, Airport Bus, and all Dublin attractions including Pubs!. Staff very helpful and friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Janej
Business
London
Sep 15, 2014

Great for being in the city

Staff so helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was lovely no waiting and food was good (great if you had a trip booked) and had to be away quick. Loved the idea of baggage room so could spend more time before flying home. Location was good if you wanted to go out site seeing buses a few minutes walk away and pick up point was walking distance for day trips. 2nd time of staying will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get the train from Tara Station and go to Howth cheap fare and a great day out

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LynneyB
Business
Orlando, FL
Sep 4, 2014

Thin Walls and Traffic

We were in town for the UCF/Penn St. football game and had 2 rooms and stayed 4 nights at the hotel. The first room was on the street side and was very noisy because of traffic and late night revelers. It was warm so the windows were open but a PM pill allowed us a fairly good night's sleep until the last night when guests in the next room were very loud. The other room was on the courtyard side and much quieter but very warm in the room. The staff was wonderful--happily taking care of all our requests quickly. The service and friendliness of the bar staff left a lot to be desired but the entertainment was good. The breakfast was very good and the cafe staff very accommodating. The hotel is very charming and its location was perfect. We walked to the stadium and many nearby restaurants and pubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jobasmith
Business
Indpls, IN
Jul 18, 2014

Old world charm in modern city

Excellent service, great food, and unique rooms make this Dublin hotel special. The restaurants offer tasty food and have charming, authentic decor. Within walking distance of most attractions. Located directly across from a beautiful memorial park. Only downfall is city noise at night. Great value for price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Church restaurant with live Irish music and dancing as well as excellent food

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MichandMum
Business
Dorset, England
Jul 5, 2014

Fantastic weekend break

Over 3 days managed to fit in lots of visits to local attractions. The hotel was very close to the city centre but not a noisy location. The staff were excellent, very friendly and the evening entertainment with "Irish balladeers" very good. The breakfast was basic but good with a good choice of hot food and cereals. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Dublin pass and a 2 or 3 day bus pass so you can "hop-on-and -hop-off" to see as many attractions as possible.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doreann1
Business
San Francisco, California
May 31, 2014

Delightful First-Time Stay for One

This is my second time trying to post this review, so cannot be so detailed, but I was very satisfied with this private hotel and so glad I chose it rather than a chain. It was so easy to book and pay for on line - much faster than writing this review! The hotel has a family owned feeling, because it is, and is in a row house that is easily recognizable at Georgian, and in my view it has considerable charm coupled with convenience - like a lift, restaurant and bar on premises, and within walking distance from the airport bus drop off and tours. There are also a couple of sights right next door - a garden of remembrance and a writers' museum, both worth a visit. O'Connell Street, the river, Trinity etc., locally-crafted shops etc. are also within walking distance, along with music bars and eateries. The food at the hotel is good, served in the cellar bar/restaurant, breakfast was included in my room and was served, or there was a buffet. I am a senior single and was given a double bed, with pine-colored furniture, and the room was freshly and sweetly decorated. Nice bathroom etc. There are plenty of public sitting areas on the main level, and the staff are very nice indeed. I hope this posts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panamuna
Business
Perth,Australia
May 31, 2014

Good Value

Excellent Location, Good size room and ensuite, Tasty Breakfast, Well run hotel and staff very helpfull and offered umbrella as it was raining. Wi Fi great. Good resources available and reception gave advice on where to go. Overall a pleasant stay in Ireland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A must do go on the Dart Train in both directions. Got a day ticket so did both ways on the same ticket. Both Sea side places with amazing views and good fish and chips.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suz3
Business
Rockville, MD
May 23, 2014

Quirky!

My sisters and I spent a week @ the Castle Hotel. My room was fine though had trouble trying to adjust the heat. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom could use some updating. There was a desk with drawers for clothing also a wardrobe for hanging. My other sister's room was quite the opposite. No place for their clothing and the shower curtain didn't reach the floor so there was a flood every time they took a shower. It was reported and they did try but it just needed a longer curtain which I guess they didn't have. Our rooms were quite a distance from the elevator and a joke was made about leaving a trail of breadcrumbs as there were many doors to go through and ups and downs in the floor. Quirky! The included breakfasts were fine and service was excellent. The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good. The salmon was great and the steak sandwiches even better. They also allowed substitutions so we could get veggies instead of fries. I would definitely stay there again but I don't think my sister would. Too bad but I enjoyed it and the location right off of O'Connell Street was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yorkshire Lass
Business
Bridger,Montana
May 18, 2014

good value

Enjoyable stay on our first visit to Dublin. Problem wit h wc was sorted after 2 days. Staff very friendly. Lots of little steps but lift to other floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Dart trains.

Back to menu Return to top