$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Castle Hotel

3 stars
Great Denmark Street, Gardiner Row, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
49 reviews
Lovely and Good for its value

First impression very good. Staff very polite and helpful. See full review

  • Bolye
  • Jul 28, 2013
Old world charm in modern city

Excellent service, great food, and unique rooms make this Dublin hotel special. The restaurants... See full review

  • Jobasmith
  • Jul 18, 2014
Georgian elegance in the heart of Dublin

The Castle Hotel offers a unique Georgian experience to its guests with recent restoration bringing original plasterwork, marble fireplaces and period staircases back to their full glory. Guests find that the central location puts them within easy walking distance of the many cultural and historic attractions in the city. In fact, the hotel is situated on the official Cultural Trail. After a day of sightseeing and shopping, Castle Hotel guests chill out in the famous Castle Restaurant, which features live Irish music twice a week.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Unparalleled Georgian period atmosphere and decor
  • Right next to shopping venues and close to many major Dublin attractions
  • Excellent value for the money, with a friendly and helpful staff
Castle Hotel Rooms

The Castle Hotel exudes Georgian elegance and charm, and this distinctive ambience extends to the guest rooms as well. Guests choose between single, double, twin and family rooms and all guest rooms feature an en suite bathroom. A full Irish breakfast is included in the room rate, and a cold buffet selection is also available. Guest rooms also feature tea- and coffee-making facilities, a remote control TV and a direct-dial telephone. Nonsmoking rooms are available. The rooms are decorated tastefully and feature elegant furnishings along with their up-to-date amenities and facilities. All guest rooms feature complimentary Wi-Fi access, and a baby-sitting service is available. Guests looking for comfortable accommodations in the heart of Dublin that offer historical ambiance, modern amenities and excellent service will find everything they want at the Castle Hotel.

Things To Do
  • Dublin Castle (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • The Custom House (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Trinity College (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Temple Bar (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Dublin Writers Museum (0.1 mi/0.2 km)
  • Fry Model Railway (0.2 mi/0.2 km)
  • Irish Museum of Modern Art (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • James Joyce Centre (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • James Joyce Tower (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • Croke Park stadium(1.6 mi/2.2 km)
  • The Abbey Theatre(0.6 mi/1.0 km)
  • The Gate Theatre (210m)

Hotel Map

53.3549 -6.2633
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The Castle Hotel is located in the centre of Dublin, a short walking distance from all the major cultural and sporting venues. Being a short distance form the Financial Service Centre in Dublin makes the hotel an ideal location for the tourists and business traveller alike. The hotel has its own private car park and is convenient to airport, rail, and sea terminals.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Castle Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Castle Hotel Rooms

DOUBLE
1 Double bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
TWIN
2 Single Beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
SINGLE
1 Single bed with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access
FAMILY
1 Double + 2 Single beds with En-Suite bathroom. Full Irish Breakfast, plus a selection from our cold buffet is included in room rate. Tea and Coffee Making Facilities - Direct Dial Telephone - Remote Control TV - Hairdryer and Complimentary Wi-Fi access

Amenities

  • Free full breakfast
  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Free full breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking

Nearby points of interest

  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.3 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.4 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.4 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.4 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.4 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.4 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.5 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.5 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.6 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.6 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Grangegorman: 0.6 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.6 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.6 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.6 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.6 mi
  • Croke Park: 0.6 mi
  • Baile Phib: 0.7 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.7 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.7 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.7 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.7 mi
  • GAA Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Old Jameson Distillery: 0.7 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.7 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The hotel has 2 small meeting rooms which can cater for parties of up to 15 people.

Dining

Bar/Restaurant
The new Bar & Restaurant "The Castle Vaults" has a relaxed and cosy atmosphere, combining all the amenities of a modern bar with the ambiance of old world charm, it is walled with the same warm stone that has been in place for the past 200 years and has an exposed Vaulted Ceiling which was part of the Original 19th Century wine cellars An enchanting retreat and the perfect place to sit back and unwind after a busy day exploring the city of Dublin. It offers a variety of menus to suit all tastes and hosts a Live Traditional Irish Music Band every Thursday Friday and Saturday and Sunday Nights(Summer Months) and Friday and Saturday Nights (Rest of the Year)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (49)

Ratings and reviews for Castle Hotel

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
49 out of 49
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
PortuguesePrincess
New Jersey, USA
Mar 24, 2012

Best Place To Stay In Dublin!!!

The Castle-Hotel is a beautiful building! Our room was cozy and perfect, the bathroom was a bit small, but the bed and room size was great. The staff is beyond wonderful, always willing to help with directions and suggestions for out-of-the-way places. The hotel restaurant is amazing! There was live music on Friday and Saturday, the food was so good that we decided to eat dinner there every night! We will definitely be back there in the next few months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jobasmith
Indpls, IN
Jul 18, 2014

Old world charm in modern city

Excellent service, great food, and unique rooms make this Dublin hotel special. The restaurants offer tasty food and have charming, authentic decor. Within walking distance of most attractions. Located directly across from a beautiful memorial park. Only downfall is city noise at night. Great value for price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Church restaurant with live Irish music and dancing as well as excellent food

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MichandMum
Dorset, England
Jul 5, 2014

Fantastic weekend break

Over 3 days managed to fit in lots of visits to local attractions. The hotel was very close to the city centre but not a noisy location. The staff were excellent, very friendly and the evening entertainment with "Irish balladeers" very good. The breakfast was basic but good with a good choice of hot food and cereals. Would definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a Dublin pass and a 2 or 3 day bus pass so you can "hop-on-and -hop-off" to see as many attractions as possible.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Doreann1
San Francisco, California
May 31, 2014

Delightful First-Time Stay for One

This is my second time trying to post this review, so cannot be so detailed, but I was very satisfied with this private hotel and so glad I chose it rather than a chain. It was so easy to book and pay for on line - much faster than writing this review! The hotel has a family owned feeling, because it is, and is in a row house that is easily recognizable at Georgian, and in my view it has considerable charm coupled with convenience - like a lift, restaurant and bar on premises, and within walking distance from the airport bus drop off and tours. There are also a couple of sights right next door - a garden of remembrance and a writers' museum, both worth a visit. O'Connell Street, the river, Trinity etc., locally-crafted shops etc. are also within walking distance, along with music bars and eateries. The food at the hotel is good, served in the cellar bar/restaurant, breakfast was included in my room and was served, or there was a buffet. I am a senior single and was given a double bed, with pine-colored furniture, and the room was freshly and sweetly decorated. Nice bathroom etc. There are plenty of public sitting areas on the main level, and the staff are very nice indeed. I hope this posts!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Panamuna
Perth,Australia
May 31, 2014

Good Value

Excellent Location, Good size room and ensuite, Tasty Breakfast, Well run hotel and staff very helpfull and offered umbrella as it was raining. Wi Fi great. Good resources available and reception gave advice on where to go. Overall a pleasant stay in Ireland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A must do go on the Dart Train in both directions. Got a day ticket so did both ways on the same ticket. Both Sea side places with amazing views and good fish and chips.

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Suz3
Rockville, MD
May 23, 2014

Quirky!

My sisters and I spent a week @ the Castle Hotel. My room was fine though had trouble trying to adjust the heat. Beds were comfortable. Bathroom could use some updating. There was a desk with drawers for clothing also a wardrobe for hanging. My other sister's room was quite the opposite. No place for their clothing and the shower curtain didn't reach the floor so there was a flood every time they took a shower. It was reported and they did try but it just needed a longer curtain which I guess they didn't have. Our rooms were quite a distance from the elevator and a joke was made about leaving a trail of breadcrumbs as there were many doors to go through and ups and downs in the floor. Quirky! The included breakfasts were fine and service was excellent. The food in the restaurant in the evening was very good. The salmon was great and the steak sandwiches even better. They also allowed substitutions so we could get veggies instead of fries. I would definitely stay there again but I don't think my sister would. Too bad but I enjoyed it and the location right off of O'Connell Street was a bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
get stuffed
northern ireland
Mar 18, 2014

weekend break

get the hotel inspector very poor quality hotel old worn out furniture not clean. dirty worn carpets. poor reception on television which was on a dirty glass stand. staff unfriendly. poor breakfast half a rasher of bacon no vegetarian sausages staff need to have their hair up when serving food. staff did not speak to us when we were leaving .this hotel should be avoided as it is dreadful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

winding stair restaurant on the river is excellent

Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kansas City John
Kansas City
Dec 2, 2013

Warm, comfortable accomodations.

Great location and friendly, helpful staff made our trip everything we had hoped it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magnifideant
Dublin Ireland
Nov 13, 2013

Great long weekend get away

Warm welcoming great location good breakfast worth having an evening meal in hotel. Our only complaint during our stay was the noise from the creaky stairs ask for a room away from them otherwise great we will be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Killarney Me
Orlando, Florida
Nov 7, 2013

Happy in Dublin

Great location, good hotel, walk to everything, they are accommodating !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Castle Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AZFIELD
Phoenix, Arizona
Oct 8, 2013

Great Experience, Great Hotel

Loved this hotel and it's staff. I really enjoyed the vintage decor of the entire place. The restaurant and bar were fantastic, but maybe a little overpriced. Still great to be able to walk downstairs and grab a pint and a bite before heading out for a night on the town. I had the unfortunate room located above the back alley which was always booming with loud noises in the morning. It wasn't that big of a deal for me and definitely did not ruin my stay. The location is fantastic. Within walking distance to just about everything near the Liffey. Thanks for entertaining this Arizona desert dweller. I will be back eventually!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Take O'Connell to Temple Bar. About at 15 min walk and a beautiful one at that.

Back to menu Return to top