$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 3, 2015

Cassidys Hotel

3 stars
View map of Upper O Connell Street, Dublin, Dublin 1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Cassidys Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
67 out of 67
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.5
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.4

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brophy's
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 19, 2013

Great Location

Excellent location; comfortable beds, very clean rooms; VERY small rooms and bathroom and no frills! easy walking to tourist sites; staff very friendly; breakfast overpriced when the food just a few doors down was better and lower priced. Nice place to sleep while seeing the city - not a place to go expecting luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murray's Pub - just down the block - great food, music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JME
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jun 3, 2011

In Dublin's Fair City

I have been to Dublin 4 times, and for the money this hotel was pretty good. The online website sells it as a little bit more classy than it really was, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly. Its on O'Connell St which is a fantastic location, and like I said for the money it was fine. The area was nice enough, of course you will always have your typical city sounds, traffic, drunk folks and all the other trimmings. The hotel bar was great, we enjoyed having it in the hotel, good for a night cap. The only thing I didn't care for was the smells of the kitchen below, we stayed on the far side of the hotel. I work in kitchen, so for me it was kind of unpleasant to have to smell fried fish for half the day. This might only be in the room where I was staying too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Try and catch early bird specials, Dublin is very expensive to eat out in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
muppet1
Business
wolverhampton
Jun 18, 2014

nothing to shout about

very noisy doors all ways banging found it very expensive without breakfast staff cold smile a bit more would not stop agaim

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Templebar very expensive be carefull

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wiltshire Dogwalker
Business
Wiltshire
Jun 29, 2014

Some good, some not so good

The good - a) central location right at top of Upper O'Connell St; b) comfortable hotel (although Georgian front belies conventional modern hotel behind); c) very friendly & helpful staff, especially when we requested a quieter room after being kept awake all night by revellers in a pub garden just across from our room. The not so good - a) discovered Lonely Planet advised area adjacent to Upper O'Connell Street dodgy after dark, which made us uneasy when heading out for dinner, b) on third afternoon, footsore and needing a cuppa, returned to find room had not been serviced. A fresh supply of milk/tea etc was brought to our room and fresh towels offered but no offer of servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Winding Stair - great food, great atmosphere, overlooking the Liffey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Paul from London
Business
London
Jul 6, 2012

business trip

regular business trip. Have used the hotel several times as prefer independent hotels to chains. Staff pleasant, food ok and bed comfortable. Hotel getting very tired now and bathroom tatty. Toilet handle falling off, tile grouting amd mastic mucky, plug rusty and chain fell off, towels old, shower luke warm. Staff not overly concerned upon complaint. Hotel has good potential but will look elsewhere next month.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Flying Irish
Business
Bellingham, MA
Nov 10, 2013

Facility needs some upgrades

The staff were wonderful however the rooms need upgrades such as air conditioning, showers that work, new mattresses, walls painted, carpets washed, more than one towel each. I chose this hotel option as I was led to believe that breakfast was included however when we got there we were informed that breakfast would cost extra. This thru off our budget for the trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is located near the Dublin hop on/off tour (real money & transportation saver). Also across the street is the Peace Park- lovely place and across the street from the park is an Art museum (free). The Art museum was very nice & beautiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FCW555
Business
South Salem, NY USA
Oct 9, 2012

One word...shabby.

I feel deceived by what was represented on the web site. Old, run down, shabby hotel. Too far out from the city center. I would never, ever stay here again. Low end!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top