$50 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Cassidys Hotel

3 stars
Upper O Connell Street, Dublin, Dublin 1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
53 reviews
Friendly staff, great location

We arrived early on a Sunday, could have had a room immediately but as we had booked a specific... See full review

  • swintontraveller
  • Dec 11, 2014
Ireland Getaway!

We are from the US & this was our first time in Ireland. We were staying a couple hours from Dublin... See full review

  • Ireland fan Sandy
  • Apr 2, 2014
The charm of a family-owned hotel in the polished city center

Cassidy's Hotel sprawls through three Georgian buildings on historic Parnell Square. Inside, guests will find tastefully up-to-date interiors with clean lines and uncomplicated views that invite relaxation. The hotel is steps away from the heart of Dublin on Upper O'Connell Street and Gate Theatre is across the street. Groome's Bar & Bistro serves a menu to match any mood. Visit the hotel website for a full list of events happening in the area. The Dublin Convention center is located nearby affording easy access for business travelers.

Highlights
  • Architecturally and historically significant building steps from central downtown Dublin
  • Comfortable bar and restaurant
  • Fitness room with up-to-date equipment
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in every room, plus meeting facilities
Rooms
Cassidy's offers 113 standard rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi, flat screen TV and thoughtful touches like extra pillows and blackout curtains. Coffee and tea facilities, windows that open and laptop-size safes make the hotel's rooms especially comfortable. More spacious executive rooms offer individual doorbells, three phone lines and a rooftop smoking terrace.

 

Features

Groome's Bar & Bistro offers a menu to match almost any mood, from light snacks to full dinners. The hotel takes advantage of its central location by featuring a remarkably comprehensive list of events on the hotel website so guests will never be at a loss for activity. The hotel's meeting rooms can be arranged to fit almost any type of gathering for 12 to 100 people and the Fitness center boasts state-of-the-art equipment. Guests in town for business enjoy easy access to nearby Dublin Convention Center.

Transportation
  • Aircoach/Air Link (2 minutes)
  • Light rail, tram and bus service (short walk)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Dublin Convention Center
  • Temple Bar
  • Gate Theatre
  • Theatre district
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
  • Dublin Writers Museum
Business
  • Five meeting rooms accommodate a capacity of 12 to 100 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and stationery for attendees

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cassidys Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Cassidys Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
A single or double bed for sole occupancy. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.
Standard Dbl Sing
A double and single bedded en suite room. Can sleep up to 3 persons. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.
Exec Single
Executive room for single occupancy Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Exec Dbl/Twin
Double or tiwn room in our executive wing Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Exec Double Single
Executive Room with a Double and Single bed in the room. Sleeps up to 3 people Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Standard Dbl/Twin
A Double or Twin en suite room. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our central meeting room, the "Lir Suite", can cater for conferences of from 2 to 80 people in a range of styles: theatre, classroom, boardroom and interview, etc. Smaller meeting rooms are also available to suit all your needs. We can also cater for banquets/buffets for up to 50 people, particularly popular over the festive season, so be sure to book early. Our staff and management team are always on hand providing a professional service to help make your event a success.

Dining

Grooms Bar
Why not enjoy a traditional lunch or relaxed meal in our casual Bistro or unwind and pass some time over a cappuccino, espresso or a selection of refreshing herbal teas. Food Served Daily 12.15pm to 9.00pm.
Restaurant Six
"Restaurant Six" offers delicious, contemporary Irish cuisine in comfortable, stylish surroundings, which allows its clientele to be pampered by our friendly, attentive service. Fresh ingredients are used in all of our dishes with preference given to local, quality produce.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (53)

Ratings and reviews for Cassidys Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
53 out of 53
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cole233
Business
Coshocton Ohio
Aug 2, 2014

perfect location for the city

Located near the start of the bus route for the visitor to Dublin. Comfortable rooms, helpful staff at reasonable rates make Cassidys Hotel a great place for a stay in the city. The on site restaurant has good food at fair prices. Located in the theater district of Dublin near the local shopping areas all within easy walking distance. Cassidys Hotel is located 20 minutes from the airport easily accessible by taxi or bus. Great location, helpful staff , good food and reasonable prices will make your stay at Cassidys Hotel worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Many of the restaurants and pubs have wonderful Irish music playing nightly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
A.Traveller
Business
UK
Aug 28, 2014

Good Stay

The hotel is in a good location. I was out most of the day and came back to go to sleep but the room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast that was severed was of better quality and quantity than that served at a nearby hotel some of my other friends were staying at. Some of the rooms and bathrooms could do with a repaint as it looks like it has been awhile since that was done but they seemed to be starting that while I was there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sherpa14
Business
UK
Sep 3, 2014

Weekend trip

Staff on Reception were outstanding and professional. As this is a 3 star the rooms reflect this standard. Rooms are relatively clean, bathroom has a squashed feel to it. Although I slept very well, my initial thought was that the mattress wasn't of great quality. I would recommend this hotel and will definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
John birder
Business
Cambridge, Ontario, Canada
Nov 16, 2014

First time in dublin

We just stayed 2 nights in the hotel we were visiting from Canada. Everything was within walking distance that we needed, including the train station, grocery store and tourist attractions. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Brophy's
Business
Houston, Texas
Oct 19, 2013

Great Location

Excellent location; comfortable beds, very clean rooms; VERY small rooms and bathroom and no frills! easy walking to tourist sites; staff very friendly; breakfast overpriced when the food just a few doors down was better and lower priced. Nice place to sleep while seeing the city - not a place to go expecting luxury.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murray's Pub - just down the block - great food, music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mick B
Business
Nottingham UK
Jan 22, 2014

Weekend break

This hotel was neat and tidy, all the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. It is perfectly located for access to everything we wanted to do in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
quinny
Business
dublin
Feb 9, 2014

need new beds

we really enjoyed our stay in dublin and cassidys hotel is in a perfect position and at a reasonable price the room had plenty of space but the bed wasnt very comfortable and both me and my wife had bad backs for the duration of our stay (we are only in our 20's) i would stay here again considering the price

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

PRINT YOUR FLIGHT CHECK IN FORM BEFORE YOU SET OFF!!!! OR GET STUNG £70 EACH FOR A BOARDING CARD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JME
Business
Iowa City, IA
Jun 3, 2011

In Dublin's Fair City

I have been to Dublin 4 times, and for the money this hotel was pretty good. The online website sells it as a little bit more classy than it really was, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly. Its on O'Connell St which is a fantastic location, and like I said for the money it was fine. The area was nice enough, of course you will always have your typical city sounds, traffic, drunk folks and all the other trimmings. The hotel bar was great, we enjoyed having it in the hotel, good for a night cap. The only thing I didn't care for was the smells of the kitchen below, we stayed on the far side of the hotel. I work in kitchen, so for me it was kind of unpleasant to have to smell fried fish for half the day. This might only be in the room where I was staying too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Try and catch early bird specials, Dublin is very expensive to eat out in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
muppet1
Business
wolverhampton
Jun 18, 2014

nothing to shout about

very noisy doors all ways banging found it very expensive without breakfast staff cold smile a bit more would not stop agaim

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Templebar very expensive be carefull

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Wiltshire Dogwalker
Business
Wiltshire
Jun 29, 2014

Some good, some not so good

The good - a) central location right at top of Upper O'Connell St; b) comfortable hotel (although Georgian front belies conventional modern hotel behind); c) very friendly & helpful staff, especially when we requested a quieter room after being kept awake all night by revellers in a pub garden just across from our room. The not so good - a) discovered Lonely Planet advised area adjacent to Upper O'Connell Street dodgy after dark, which made us uneasy when heading out for dinner, b) on third afternoon, footsore and needing a cuppa, returned to find room had not been serviced. A fresh supply of milk/tea etc was brought to our room and fresh towels offered but no offer of servicing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Winding Stair - great food, great atmosphere, overlooking the Liffey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top