$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 20, 2014 Check-out: Oct 21, 2014

Cassidys Hotel

3 stars
Upper O Connell Street, Dublin, Dublin 1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
51 reviews
Ireland Getaway!

We are from the US & this was our first time in Ireland. We were staying a couple hours from Dublin... See full review

  • Ireland fan Sandy
  • Apr 2, 2014
Fab place to stay

We were met by the manager who was lovely and charming as was the rest of the staff . Food was good... See full review

  • Mapland
  • Mar 23, 2014
The charm of a family-owned hotel in the polished city center

Cassidy's Hotel sprawls through three Georgian buildings on historic Parnell Square. Inside, guests will find tastefully up-to-date interiors with clean lines and uncomplicated views that invite relaxation. The hotel is steps away from the heart of Dublin on Upper O'Connell Street and Gate Theatre is across the street. Groome's Bar & Bistro serves a menu to match any mood. Visit the hotel website for a full list of events happening in the area. The Dublin Convention center is located nearby affording easy access for business travelers.

Highlights
  • Architecturally and historically significant building steps from central downtown Dublin
  • Comfortable bar and restaurant
  • Fitness room with up-to-date equipment
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in every room, plus meeting facilities
Rooms
Cassidy's offers 113 standard rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi, flat screen TV and thoughtful touches like extra pillows and blackout curtains. Coffee and tea facilities, windows that open and laptop-size safes make the hotel's rooms especially comfortable. More spacious executive rooms offer individual doorbells, three phone lines and a rooftop smoking terrace.

 

Features

Groome's Bar & Bistro offers a menu to match almost any mood, from light snacks to full dinners. The hotel takes advantage of its central location by featuring a remarkably comprehensive list of events on the hotel website so guests will never be at a loss for activity. The hotel's meeting rooms can be arranged to fit almost any type of gathering for 12 to 100 people and the Fitness center boasts state-of-the-art equipment. Guests in town for business enjoy easy access to nearby Dublin Convention Center.

Transportation
  • Aircoach/Air Link (2 minutes)
  • Light rail, tram and bus service (short walk)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Dublin Convention Center
  • Temple Bar
  • Gate Theatre
  • Theatre district
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
  • Dublin Writers Museum
Business
  • Five meeting rooms accommodate a capacity of 12 to 100 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and stationery for attendees

Hotel Map

53.3529 -6.2616
Area served
Dublin City Centre. At the top of O Connell Street
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport. The air coach leaves from outside arrivals, and drops on O Connell Street. A Taxi Journey takes about 15-25 mins.
Area description
Cassidy's Hotel is located at the top of O Connell Street, Dublin’s main street.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cassidys Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Cassidys Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
A single or double bed for sole occupancy. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.
Standard Dbl Sing
A double and single bedded en suite room. Can sleep up to 3 persons. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.
Exec Single
Executive room for single occupancy Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Exec Dbl/Twin
Double or tiwn room in our executive wing Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Exec Double Single
Executive Room with a Double and Single bed in the room. Sleeps up to 3 people Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Standard Dbl/Twin
A Double or Twin en suite room. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi

Dining

Grooms Bar
Why not enjoy a traditional lunch or relaxed meal in our casual Bistro or unwind and pass some time over a cappuccino, espresso or a selection of refreshing herbal teas. Food Served Daily 12.15pm to 9.00pm.
Restaurant Six
"Restaurant Six" offers delicious, contemporary Irish cuisine in comfortable, stylish surroundings, which allows its clientele to be pampered by our friendly, attentive service. Fresh ingredients are used in all of our dishes with preference given to local, quality produce.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our central meeting room, the "Lir Suite", can cater for conferences of from 2 to 80 people in a range of styles: theatre, classroom, boardroom and interview, etc. Smaller meeting rooms are also available to suit all your needs. We can also cater for banquets/buffets for up to 50 people, particularly popular over the festive season, so be sure to book early. Our staff and management team are always on hand providing a professional service to help make your event a success.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (51)

Ratings and reviews for Cassidys Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
51 out of 51
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JME
Iowa City, IA
Jun 3, 2011

In Dublin's Fair City

I have been to Dublin 4 times, and for the money this hotel was pretty good. The online website sells it as a little bit more classy than it really was, but it was clean and the staff was very friendly. Its on O'Connell St which is a fantastic location, and like I said for the money it was fine. The area was nice enough, of course you will always have your typical city sounds, traffic, drunk folks and all the other trimmings. The hotel bar was great, we enjoyed having it in the hotel, good for a night cap. The only thing I didn't care for was the smells of the kitchen below, we stayed on the far side of the hotel. I work in kitchen, so for me it was kind of unpleasant to have to smell fried fish for half the day. This might only be in the room where I was staying too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Try and catch early bird specials, Dublin is very expensive to eat out in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Jun 2, 2011

Great location hotel

We stay in Cassidy's hotel during a vacation trip to Dublin, Ireland. The hotel have a great location within a walking distance to all the attractions in Dublin. Hotel staff were very helpfull and friendly. The hotel room was very clean and in great condition. The only problem was that the room was kept very warm and there was no way to control the temperature. Also, the bed has a blanket-sheet together that keep you too warm. It will be nicer if they can have separete sheet and blanket, so you can use what you need at the time. Overall, I will recommend this hotel to anyone that do not want to spend a lot of money for a nice hotel in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Bus routes are nearby and will take you anywhere you need to go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First time Dubliner
Madrid, Spain
Apr 16, 2011

Cassidys Hotel

Great location, at the top of O'Connell Street. Short walk to shopping, dining, Trinity College & River Liffey. Super-friendly staff at the ready to assist. Got a good deal on the room and felt like it was money well spent. Would definitely recommend to the budget-conscious traveler looking to stay in the middle of it all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Venture off O'Connell street for more "local" fare; a trip to The Church for a nice dinner is worth the extra euro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rome NY
Apr 13, 2011

Good Value

Saw all the regular sites of Dublin. Hotel was ok for price. In a good location. Horrible smell from shower drain that staff did not seem to care about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rota, Spain
Apr 12, 2011

Was a wonderful stay

The location for the hotel was great. Close to O'Connell Street, the tour bus stopped right by the hotel and if you go during St Patricks day, the parade goes rigth by the enterance. Wish I could gotten a street view for the parade. If you do go, take the Dublin Ghost Bus tour. It was a blast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are there for a weekend, take advantage of the tour bus service in Dublin, but just be aware that if you out doing a pub crawl, the tour bus service will not be running and will have to take a taxi. Don't worry, the taxi fares in town were not expensive. Actually took a taxi from the airport to the hotel for about 25 Euro.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Bern, North Carolina
Nov 3, 2010

Cassidy's Hotel, Dublin

Nice, friendly hotel. Very convenient to everything: within easy walking distance to all of central Dublin plus restaurants, pubs, shopping, and attractions. Very convenient to Air Coach airport transport and other buses. Room was small but clean and comfortable. Nice bathroom and shower. Especially liked the in-room tea/coffee maker and the safe for valuables.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey, USA
Aug 13, 2010

Cassidys Hotel

Location of Cassidy's was excellent. We were travelling with family and had 2 rooms booked. We arrived early (around 12 noon) but one room was ready so we were able to store our luggage in our daughter's room. Our room was for three individuals (the room actually had a double bed and two singles). Room was very large. Room was clean, staff was excellent. Breakfast was included in our rate. Breakfast was excellent - ham, sausage, eggs, fruits, pastries, cereals, coffee, tea, juices, cheeses, tomatoes. Very nice dining room. We did not eat lunch or dinner at Cassidys. However, one day we did order soup at the bar and were given large bowls with soda bread. Very reasonable and very good. The bar is open until late in the evening and is nice for waiting for the rest of your group or a fine closing to the evening. A lovely atmosphere. My only complaint was the ironing room. It is located on the second floor. Ironing cover could be replaced. One evening the iron was working but I couldn't get the light to go on, so I literally ironed in the dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cassidys is a close walk to many major attractions. Close to Dublin Castle, Temple Bar area, etc. Ideal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, Illinois
Jun 12, 2010

Great location and price!

Great location and very friendly staff. Our flight arrived at 8AM and the airport airbus dropped us off down the block which was nice. We were able to check in early and start our day with suggestions from the front desk staff. The hotel bar was open late and the bartender was friendly -even supplying us with a bucket of ice for our room (ice seems to be a hot commodity in Ireland!). The hotel offers free WiFi in the rooms and has a computer/printer in the lobby. The rooms were very clean and tidy. The cleaning staff did an excellent job. One day we elected to have no cleaning service, the maid left towels/shampoo/coffee/teas at the door for us which was very nice. Our flight left late and the hotel was kind enough to store our luggage so that we could shop and sight-see during the day. Again the staff couldn't have been nicer! I would absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great shopping a few blocks away..really ALL major shopping within walking distance!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Apr 11, 2010

Cassidy's Hotel Dublin, Ireland

The hotel is an easy walk to the attractions on the south side of the Liffey. My room was very clean and comfortable. The staff was consistently helpful and friendly. My only complaints are that the location of my room was a bit of a hike from the entrance area and there was no hair dryer in the room. I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Gate Theater is literally across the street. The performance I saw was outstanding!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 27, 2009

Good and inexpensive.

The hotel was very nice, clean and the hotel restaurant was good. It was a little further from the city center than I thought, but easily within walking distance to Temple Bar and Trinity College area. The only negative was that the staff was not real friendly or knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search