$88 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

Cassidys Hotel

3 stars
Upper O Connell Street, Dublin, Dublin 1
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
58 reviews
Ireland Getaway!

We are from the US & this was our first time in Ireland. We were staying a couple hours from Dublin... See full review

  • Ireland fan Sandy
  • Apr 2, 2014
Fab place to stay

We were met by the manager who was lovely and charming as was the rest of the staff . Food was good... See full review

  • Mapland
  • Mar 23, 2014
The charm of a family-owned hotel in the polished city center

Cassidy's Hotel sprawls through three Georgian buildings on historic Parnell Square. Inside, guests will find tastefully up-to-date interiors with clean lines and uncomplicated views that invite relaxation. The hotel is steps away from the heart of Dublin on Upper O'Connell Street and Gate Theatre is across the street. Groome's Bar & Bistro serves a menu to match any mood. Visit the hotel website for a full list of events happening in the area. The Dublin Convention center is located nearby affording easy access for business travelers.

Highlights
  • Architecturally and historically significant building steps from central downtown Dublin
  • Comfortable bar and restaurant
  • Fitness room with up-to-date equipment
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi in every room, plus meeting facilities
Rooms
Cassidy's offers 113 standard rooms with complimentary Wi-Fi, flat screen TV and thoughtful touches like extra pillows and blackout curtains. Coffee and tea facilities, windows that open and laptop-size safes make the hotel's rooms especially comfortable. More spacious executive rooms offer individual doorbells, three phone lines and a rooftop smoking terrace.

 

Features

Groome's Bar & Bistro offers a menu to match almost any mood, from light snacks to full dinners. The hotel takes advantage of its central location by featuring a remarkably comprehensive list of events on the hotel website so guests will never be at a loss for activity. The hotel's meeting rooms can be arranged to fit almost any type of gathering for 12 to 100 people and the Fitness center boasts state-of-the-art equipment. Guests in town for business enjoy easy access to nearby Dublin Convention Center.

Transportation
  • Aircoach/Air Link (2 minutes)
  • Light rail, tram and bus service (short walk)
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Dublin Convention Center
  • Temple Bar
  • Gate Theatre
  • Theatre district
  • Trinity College
  • Dublin Castle
  • The Old Jameson Distillery
  • Dublin Writers Museum
Business
  • Five meeting rooms accommodate a capacity of 12 to 100 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi and stationery for attendees

Cassidys Hotel Rooms

Standard Single
A single or double bed for sole occupancy. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.
Standard Dbl Sing
A double and single bedded en suite room. Can sleep up to 3 persons. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.
Exec Single
Executive room for single occupancy Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Exec Dbl/Twin
Double or tiwn room in our executive wing Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Exec Double Single
Executive Room with a Double and Single bed in the room. Sleeps up to 3 people Individual room doorbell More spacious rooms Electronic Do not Disturb facility Complimentary large bottle of mineral water Roof-top Smoking Terrace Use of Executive lounge with 32" flat screen T.V. 3 direct dial telephones per room Power hair-dryer Executive Natural Extract Bathroom Amenities
Standard Dbl/Twin
A Double or Twin en suite room. All modern amenities are available in the bedroom. All of our bedrooms are tastefully decorated to create a warm, inviting atmosphere.

Amenities

  • WiFi
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Cassidys Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3529 -6.2616
Area served
Dublin City Centre. At the top of O Connell Street
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport. The air coach leaves from outside arrivals, and drops on O Connell Street. A Taxi Journey takes about 15-25 mins.
Area description
Cassidy's Hotel is located at the top of O Connell Street, Dublin’s main street.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.1 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.1 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.1 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.3 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • Grattan Bridge: 0.6 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.6 mi
  • Smithfield: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi
  • The Project Arts Centre: 0.6 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our central meeting room, the "Lir Suite", can cater for conferences of from 2 to 80 people in a range of styles: theatre, classroom, boardroom and interview, etc. Smaller meeting rooms are also available to suit all your needs. We can also cater for banquets/buffets for up to 50 people, particularly popular over the festive season, so be sure to book early. Our staff and management team are always on hand providing a professional service to help make your event a success.

Dining

Grooms Bar
Why not enjoy a traditional lunch or relaxed meal in our casual Bistro or unwind and pass some time over a cappuccino, espresso or a selection of refreshing herbal teas. Food Served Daily 12.15pm to 9.00pm.
Restaurant Six
"Restaurant Six" offers delicious, contemporary Irish cuisine in comfortable, stylish surroundings, which allows its clientele to be pampered by our friendly, attentive service. Fresh ingredients are used in all of our dishes with preference given to local, quality produce.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (58)

Ratings and reviews for Cassidys Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
58 out of 58
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.3

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Wisconsin, USA
Dec 27, 2009

Good and inexpensive.

The hotel was very nice, clean and the hotel restaurant was good. It was a little further from the city center than I thought, but easily within walking distance to Temple Bar and Trinity College area. The only negative was that the staff was not real friendly or knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jkealties
Business
Sheeps Head, West Cork
Feb 7, 2013

Handy centre city deal

Just in town for one day/night of training... This locale filled the bill, was convenient to Luas, eateries and restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a Leap card for easy access con Luas tram and, I think, city busses.

Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
New Jersey, USA
Aug 13, 2010

Cassidys Hotel

Location of Cassidy's was excellent. We were travelling with family and had 2 rooms booked. We arrived early (around 12 noon) but one room was ready so we were able to store our luggage in our daughter's room. Our room was for three individuals (the room actually had a double bed and two singles). Room was very large. Room was clean, staff was excellent. Breakfast was included in our rate. Breakfast was excellent - ham, sausage, eggs, fruits, pastries, cereals, coffee, tea, juices, cheeses, tomatoes. Very nice dining room. We did not eat lunch or dinner at Cassidys. However, one day we did order soup at the bar and were given large bowls with soda bread. Very reasonable and very good. The bar is open until late in the evening and is nice for waiting for the rest of your group or a fine closing to the evening. A lovely atmosphere. My only complaint was the ironing room. It is located on the second floor. Ironing cover could be replaced. One evening the iron was working but I couldn't get the light to go on, so I literally ironed in the dark.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Cassidys is a close walk to many major attractions. Close to Dublin Castle, Temple Bar area, etc. Ideal.

Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lindsay238
North Carolina
Mar 18, 2014

Great location & friendly staff

The location is perfect--not a far walk from the city Spire. The staff is very helpful. They would call a place whenever I had a question and answer all of our questions. The price is reasonable, and I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Blu Apple--a delight deli for breakfast and lunch.

Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mitchfam
California
Jun 25, 2014

Perfect location

Right on the main street in Dublin, across from the Gate Theatre, so not the noisy Temple Bar area. We had a room in the executive wing, so more modern amenities, but a long walk from the hotel entrance. Didn't eat in the restaurant or bar, since there were so many other choices just down the street (especially Murray's). Would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We had a great full Irish breakfast at Murray's one morning, then went back that night for dinner & traditional Irish music. Highly recommend!

Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Manchester
Feb 22, 2012

Good, comfortable stay :)

I stayed at this hotel for three nights this month and it was my first time to Dublin. The staff were absolutely fantastic, especially Sebastien and Cody on the front desk :) The onsite Fitness Suite is of a good standard too, treadmill, bike and cross trainer together with cable machine for all over weight workouts. The location of the hotel is ideal, being well within walking distance of all the shops that Dublin has to offer and Temple Bar's pubs and clubs, although within walking distance, 7 Euros in a taxi so not bad at all if you're feeling lazy (like me). The bar is open until very late (I left at 4am one night...oops) I would definately return to this hotel, great atmosphere and some good staff. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay!! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Auld Dubliner is a must for anyone wanting to experience an authentic Irish knees up and Goggarty's across the road is much of the same, with a lovely warm atmosphere and traditional ales on offer.

Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ken and Gill Bocock
York, England
Jun 25, 2012

Excellent break

All the staff were always friendly, welcoming, & helpful.We had a room at the back so it was very quiet in spite of being by the car park. Room very comfortable. tTe bathroom/shower room needed some updating and refurbishment but was adequate - the water was always warm. The buffet-style breakfast suited us with plenty of cereals and good selection of fruit. Because of the location on main bus and coach routes and near stations and the trams, we were able to visit many of Dublin's attractions and also some of the surrounding area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you are visiting Dublin for the first time, grab a good map and a hanful of leaflets from one of the tourist centres then take a full tour of the city on one of the tour buses. This gives you a good idea of the general layout of the city and the locations of the the many attractions. Also do walk around as much as possible to see the wonderful buildings

Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jinty
Kent
Mar 4, 2013

Great Staff

Our stay was very enjoyable, we had no criticism of the hotel other than the bedroom decor is dated and could be modernised. The room was very clean and the bed very comfortable. We had a view over the street which we loved. We had breakfast during our stay which was excellent. We also had snack food at the bar, which was also great. Last but not least, all the staff we encountered were fantastic, very friendly and nothing we asked was a problem. All were very professional and funny and we would highly recommend Cassidy's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping to be had..also a visit to the Jameson's Distillery in Smithfield.

Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rome NY
Apr 13, 2011

Good Value

Saw all the regular sites of Dublin. Hotel was ok for price. In a good location. Horrible smell from shower drain that staff did not seem to care about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Cassidys Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dublin traveler 123
Oak Ridge, TN
Aug 11, 2012

Comfortable stay

Great place to stay to see the sights in Dublin. Conveniently located. Beds are comfortable. Wireless works. Staff are very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top