$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

3 stars
Merrion Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Dublin, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
99 reviews
Excellent Spot in Dublin

A beautiful hotel located in an upscale quiet Dublin neighborhood, but still has convenient access... See full review

  • Brett Luke
  • Feb 26, 2014
Excellent experience

We stayed at Bewleys Ballsbridge for 15 nights whilst visiting family in Dublin and nearby towns.... See full review

  • Mister and Misses Us
  • Dec 6, 2013
Magnificent 19th century restoration in Dublin’s business district
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge is located in the heart of Dublin's business district, adjacent to the Royal Dublin Society.  A short train ride from the nearby DART station takes guests to the city center. Housed in a magnificent 19th century building, the hotel offers business and family-friendly accommodations which include connecting rooms, facilities for children and conference and meeting rooms. Dining facilities include the Brasserie Restaurant, complete with a children's menu and games, as well as the stylish Tom's Bar for pub fare and snacks.

 

Highlights
  • Situated in the heart of Dublin's business district, adjacent to the RDS complex
  • Family-friendly hotel with connecting rooms, kids menus and games
  • Three restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms
Rest peacefully under plush duvets in sound-proof rooms with plasma TV, free high-speed Internet access, tea and coffee station and clothes care amenities. Connecting rooms keep families together while ensuring privacy and wheelchair adapted rooms make it easy to get around. For guests seeking a deluxe stay, superior accommodations are available in the grand Thomas Prior wing. Rooms are furnished in mahogany wood with richly-colored décor. A luxury suite offers a separate lounge area and marble bathroom. Bathrobes, slippers and toiletries are included with all deluxe rooms.

 

Features
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge is housed in a grand 19th century school building with many original characteristics. The hotel features three restaurants serving meals, refreshments and pub fare, as well as private dining rooms. The recently-restored period building, Thomas Prior Hall, is available for special events and holds up to 300 guests. Families travelling with children can make use of amenities such as connecting rooms, kids' menus, babysitting (book in advance), high chairs, cribs, games and toys in the Brasserie restaurant. The hotel and all guest rooms are wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities include Wi-Fi access, audiovisual equipment, on-site parking and refreshments.

 

 

Transportation
  • DART at Sandymount Station
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Dublin Castle
  • Dublin Zoo
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • National Aquatic Center
  • Temple Bar
  • Trinity College
Business
  • Thomas Prior Hall with capacity for 300 guests
  • 7 Meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Onsite parking
  • Refreshments and lunch included in day rates
  • Situated close to RDS Arena

Hotel Map

53.3262 -6.2246
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Bewley's Hotel, Ballsbridge is located a short distance from the city centre, adjacent to the RDS, Avvia Stadium grounds in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district & embassy belt.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge Rooms

Standard room
The room offers one twin and one double bed and includes Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • RDS Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.5 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.6 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Donnybrook: 0.9 mi
  • Irishtown: 1 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1 mi
  • Grand Canal: 1 mi
  • University College Dublin: 1.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 1.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 1.3 mi
  • Merrion Square: 1.4 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.5 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.6 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Donnybrook: 0.9 mi
  • Irishtown: 1 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1 mi
  • Grand Canal: 1 mi
  • University College Dublin: 1.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 1.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 1.3 mi
  • Merrion Square: 1.4 mi
  • Dublin Port: 1.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 1.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 1.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 1.5 mi
  • The O2: 1.5 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 1.5 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 1.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 1.5 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 1.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 1.6 mi
  • Leinster House: 1.6 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 1.6 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 1.6 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 1.6 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 1.6 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Science Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Pearse Street: 1.7 mi
  • Mansion House: 1.7 mi
  • River Liffey: 1.7 mi
  • Rathmines: 1.7 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 1.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Brasserie Restaurant & Lounge bar offer a selection of dishes & lite bites to suit the most discerning of palettes. Lunch is served 12-2.30pm. Dinner is served 5.30 - 9.30pm. Breakfast is at 10 euros per person per day (approx). A 3 course dinner is at 25 euros per person (approx).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob W
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Sep 6, 2011

Just another hotel

I expected a warmer more friendly atmosphere. Located near the city, near taxi stand, not near outside restaurents. Was difficult to change my time of stay when business required me to leave 2 days early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Hotel Queen 1
Westmeath Ireland
Apr 22, 2014

Bewleys Ballsbridge

Good location. About half hour walk to Grafton St (Main shopping area) but lots of nice restaurants and bars close by. Spacious room. Clean. Bar food very ordinary and over priced. Beer expensive. Parking is €12 extra per day. Room rate was reasonable. Nice hotel, lovely building. I would return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lovely restaurants 5 minute walk away. Kites (Chinese) Beluccis (Italian) Dubliner pub in Ballsbridge Hotel is lovely as is Searsons Pub on Baggots St.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DesertLew
Tucson, as
Aug 26, 2012

Well cared for and friendly

Even though we arrived early our room was ready. The price we paid was a bargin for Dublin, but made the bus ride to city center a little longer. good trade off! Very clean room and well maintained. Hotel staff helped with transportation and sight seeing advise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Orlando, FL
May 9, 2010

Dublin

Fantastic history - great appearance - would have liked to have a full history of the building - not a big, modern hotel building which we really liked

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

good group of pubs and dining locations within a 15 min walk

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Edmond, OK
Jun 4, 2010

An excellent hotel

Excellent hotel with courteous helpful staff. Located in very nice area. It was a little noisy due to soccer game fans but tolerable

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bryan and jeana
Bemidji, MN
Apr 13, 2011

Fantastically Wonderful!

It is an old but updated building. Very pretty outside and very comfortable inside. The staff was very friendly and always helpful, we got fantastic recommendations for meals in the area as well as directions to get around. The hotel is away from City Center and Temple Bar but the bus stop is right outside the gate and it took no more than ten or fifteen minutes to be any where we wanted to be. There was a wedding party one night we were there and while we could hear the music it was not intrusive. The restaurant was expensive but good and there are several others within three blocks that are less expensive. We got a great room at an incredible price and would DEFINITELY stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased a Dublin Pass from Dublin Tourism and a five day bus pass and were able to stay at this hotel which is out of the touristy areas and spend far less on our hotel. The pass and bus fare saved us a bundle getting around town and in to attractions. Plus with the pass you can skip the lines at most places.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackG
Perry, Georgia
Oct 19, 2010

Great hotel in a great location.

The hotel was great from check-in to departure with plenty of on-site parking. Located about 1.5 miles from Dublin city center with city buses running every 10 minutes. Close to US Embassy, Trinity College (see the Book of Kell's), Jamison distillery as well as Guiness and hundreds of pubs, restaurants, etc. Room was very comfortable, with comfortable beds and pillows. The only thing missing from the room were bath cloths, shampoo and conditioner !!! Hotel restaurant and bar were larger than expected. Food was very good and compared to Dublin prices, was priced right. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 20 minute walk or 10 minute bus ride to Grafton and/or O'Connell Streets where restaurants, pubs, shopping are plentiful.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nkasarda
Wake, Virginia
Sep 23, 2009

Dublin trip

Hotel was a fabulous location, very posh, very safe. Bus directly from airport let me out at the hotel, local city buses was right in front of Hotel. Local pubs and resturants a 5 minute walk from Hotel. Was safe to walk home at night by myself. Locals were very friendly and helpful. Bank was a 5 minute walk from hotel to change my money. Will stay at Bewley's Hotel every time I go to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Salt Lake City, Utah
May 28, 2010

Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge Ireland

The accomodations were just great. The room was clean and well kept, as was the entire establishment. The hotel pub was a great place to watch a football match or just sit back and relax a little. (I did both and enjoyed both.) As far as location, I couldn't imagine a more prime spot t ostay. I wasn't more than 15 minutes away from anything. The only complaint that I had (and it might sound ridiculous) is that the cleaning staff was overzealous. Despite my "Do Not Disturb" door hanger and my repeated requests for privacy, the cleaning staff refused to be ignored. One day a staff member walked into my room, even as I was calling out for him to stop, to find me just out of the shower and not exactly ready for guests. It bothered me quite a bit. Other than that, an outstanding place. One other thing, the hotel is right across the street from the football stadium, so check to make sure there are no matches. Imagine being next door to Staples Center on a Laker's game night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tifany101602
St Augustine, FL
Apr 15, 2010

better than expected

I had low expectations of this hotel because of the fair price I paid and was pleasantly surprised when I arrived. The building is beautiful, rooms were clean and well furnished and I enjoyed my stay. The location is only a moment from a bus stop but is not near the heart of the city. Being that I'm young and like to party, it was a bit out of the way for my taste, but it was a safe and beautiful neighborhood.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buses in Dublin don't give change at all. So make sure to ask the front desk the fare so you can have exact change.

Back to menu Return to top