$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

3 stars
Merrion Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Dublin, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
99 reviews
Excellent Spot in Dublin

A beautiful hotel located in an upscale quiet Dublin neighborhood, but still has convenient access... See full review

  • Brett Luke
  • Feb 26, 2014
Excellent experience

We stayed at Bewleys Ballsbridge for 15 nights whilst visiting family in Dublin and nearby towns.... See full review

  • Mister and Misses Us
  • Dec 6, 2013
Magnificent 19th century restoration in Dublin’s business district
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge is located in the heart of Dublin's business district, adjacent to the Royal Dublin Society.  A short train ride from the nearby DART station takes guests to the city center. Housed in a magnificent 19th century building, the hotel offers business and family-friendly accommodations which include connecting rooms, facilities for children and conference and meeting rooms. Dining facilities include the Brasserie Restaurant, complete with a children's menu and games, as well as the stylish Tom's Bar for pub fare and snacks.

 

Highlights
  • Situated in the heart of Dublin's business district, adjacent to the RDS complex
  • Family-friendly hotel with connecting rooms, kids menus and games
  • Three restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms
Rest peacefully under plush duvets in sound-proof rooms with plasma TV, free high-speed Internet access, tea and coffee station and clothes care amenities. Connecting rooms keep families together while ensuring privacy and wheelchair adapted rooms make it easy to get around. For guests seeking a deluxe stay, superior accommodations are available in the grand Thomas Prior wing. Rooms are furnished in mahogany wood with richly-colored décor. A luxury suite offers a separate lounge area and marble bathroom. Bathrobes, slippers and toiletries are included with all deluxe rooms.

 

Features
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge is housed in a grand 19th century school building with many original characteristics. The hotel features three restaurants serving meals, refreshments and pub fare, as well as private dining rooms. The recently-restored period building, Thomas Prior Hall, is available for special events and holds up to 300 guests. Families travelling with children can make use of amenities such as connecting rooms, kids' menus, babysitting (book in advance), high chairs, cribs, games and toys in the Brasserie restaurant. The hotel and all guest rooms are wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities include Wi-Fi access, audiovisual equipment, on-site parking and refreshments.

 

 

Transportation
  • DART at Sandymount Station
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Dublin Castle
  • Dublin Zoo
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • National Aquatic Center
  • Temple Bar
  • Trinity College
Business
  • Thomas Prior Hall with capacity for 300 guests
  • 7 Meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Onsite parking
  • Refreshments and lunch included in day rates
  • Situated close to RDS Arena

Hotel Map

53.3262 -6.2246
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Bewley's Hotel, Ballsbridge is located a short distance from the city centre, adjacent to the RDS, Avvia Stadium grounds in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district & embassy belt.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge Rooms

Standard room
The room offers one twin and one double bed and includes Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Nearby points of interest

  • RDS Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.5 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.6 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Donnybrook: 0.9 mi
  • Irishtown: 1 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1 mi
  • Grand Canal: 1 mi
  • University College Dublin: 1.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 1.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 1.3 mi
  • Merrion Square: 1.4 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.5 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.6 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Donnybrook: 0.9 mi
  • Irishtown: 1 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1 mi
  • Grand Canal: 1 mi
  • University College Dublin: 1.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 1.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 1.3 mi
  • Merrion Square: 1.4 mi
  • Dublin Port: 1.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 1.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 1.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 1.5 mi
  • The O2: 1.5 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 1.5 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 1.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 1.5 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 1.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 1.6 mi
  • Leinster House: 1.6 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 1.6 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 1.6 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 1.6 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 1.6 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Science Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Pearse Street: 1.7 mi
  • Mansion House: 1.7 mi
  • River Liffey: 1.7 mi
  • Rathmines: 1.7 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 1.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Brasserie Restaurant & Lounge bar offer a selection of dishes & lite bites to suit the most discerning of palettes. Lunch is served 12-2.30pm. Dinner is served 5.30 - 9.30pm. Breakfast is at 10 euros per person per day (approx). A 3 course dinner is at 25 euros per person (approx).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wylie family
Wyoming, USA
Sep 14, 2012

Affordable and convenient

We enjoyed our stay very much. Beautiful, historic building. Excellent room, very clean. Bustop right outside into Dublin and taxis waiting if needed. The staff is friendly. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis very convenient and reasonably priced. A great way to get around. The cabbies are friendly and most helpful

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
lucaya
NYC
Sep 13, 2011

DISAPPOINTING

I found them to be expensive, particularly for breakfast and coffees. I was shocked to find that they charged 10 Euros a night parking irrespective of the fact that you were a resident. Total frustration with getting in and out of the hotel as the parking ticket would not work and had to back up from the barrier and have reception activate the ticket. Long lines at reception, time after time. Waited 2 hours after check-in time for room key. The smoking garden was dirty with bottles and cups and full ashtrays left all day. The hotel staff were OK but not the Irish hospitality personality I found elsewhere. I would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Four Seasons Hotel for lunch and the bar for drinks at night.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix.Arizona.USA.
Nov 4, 2009

Bewleys Ballsbridge.

Bewleys Hotel was well located . I found that our room was larger in this hotel than one we stayed in August. The room was clean and comfortably and staff were helpful and friendly. The wall lights had their old placings covered over withwallpaper which did not look good. I agree with your idea of placing your hotel card in a slot when you return to your room in order to activate your lights and TV , well done for that. .Near hospital and some good restaurants, With the exchange rate of the dollar/Euro I think there could have been better value for money if the hotel were to consider adjusting there prices accordingly. The bus stop outside the hotel was great when you went shopping in the city and did not want to take your car. Please change the placement of your soap dispenser in the bath/shower. I keptbumping it on the wall and it fell off many times wasting the soap. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Crowley
South Texas
Jul 2, 2012

Hotel needs a check-up!

While the location for our trip was ideal (next to the RDS), the hotel and the rooms were not what we expected. Be sure to take your own kleenex tissues, ice bucket, wash cloths, shampoo, lotion, shower cap, etc,, since they don't provide them. Ice bucket can be borrowed from their restaurant, tho. Also, take some dishwashing soap to wash the cups and glasses, as all they use is hot water for cleaning them. Need to take your own computer since the hotel has only one computer available for the whole hotel, and it's 1 euro per 7 minutes (which is all gone by the time their slow computer gets going!). The restaurant food was very good and the location worked great for us since we were there for the Eucharistic Congress at the RDS. Close to the Dart and the Airbus stops by the side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants and take out pizza places very close to hotel. Dinner menu at hotel is a bit pricey.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Nov 15, 2010

Nice Hotel

Friendly staff, room was a little bit on the small side, but we were only there at night, so it wasn't a problem. A little far from the downtown and Grafton Street area, but taxis were easy to find. One thing the website did NOT tell us was that they do have a hotel shuttlebus to this hotel location, so we took a taxi from the airport and it was a little spendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Blarney Inn (close to Grafton Street) for great food and live "traditional" Irish music.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
curation
Business
London, Canada
May 22, 2010

Bewley's is a great value, clean.

The hotel restaurant had a good supper menu but the breakfast was gross. The rooms smelled a bit like old carpet. The tv's are ancient. But it was clean and cheap and in a neat historic school house that is 2.3 kms from downtown. Cabs are cheap in Dublin so 6 Euros to the shops/pubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take cabs! Cheap!

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
curation
Business
London, Canada
May 22, 2010

Bewley's is a great value, clean.

The hotel restaurant had a good supper menu but the breakfast was gross. The rooms smelled a bit like old carpet. The tv's are ancient. But it was clean and cheap and in a neat historic school house that is 2.3 kms from downtown. Cabs are cheap in Dublin so 6 Euros to the shops/pubs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take cabs! Cheap!

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Nov 15, 2010

Nice Hotel

Friendly staff, room was a little bit on the small side, but we were only there at night, so it wasn't a problem. A little far from the downtown and Grafton Street area, but taxis were easy to find. One thing the website did NOT tell us was that they do have a hotel shuttlebus to this hotel location, so we took a taxi from the airport and it was a little spendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Blarney Inn (close to Grafton Street) for great food and live "traditional" Irish music.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix.Arizona.USA.
Nov 4, 2009

Bewleys Ballsbridge.

Bewleys Hotel was well located . I found that our room was larger in this hotel than one we stayed in August. The room was clean and comfortably and staff were helpful and friendly. The wall lights had their old placings covered over withwallpaper which did not look good. I agree with your idea of placing your hotel card in a slot when you return to your room in order to activate your lights and TV , well done for that. .Near hospital and some good restaurants, With the exchange rate of the dollar/Euro I think there could have been better value for money if the hotel were to consider adjusting there prices accordingly. The bus stop outside the hotel was great when you went shopping in the city and did not want to take your car. Please change the placement of your soap dispenser in the bath/shower. I keptbumping it on the wall and it fell off many times wasting the soap. I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bob W
Business
Laguna Hills, CA
Sep 6, 2011

Just another hotel

I expected a warmer more friendly atmosphere. Located near the city, near taxi stand, not near outside restaurents. Was difficult to change my time of stay when business required me to leave 2 days early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David180271
Business
Lincoln
Oct 20, 2013

Good but......

Hotel was were I needed it to be. However, the windows were way too small in my room (364) with no view and lack of daylight and the shower was ridiculously small. I had a bigger shower in Tokyo.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Rory's Bistro.

Back to menu Return to top