$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 7, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

3 stars
View map of Merrion Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Dublin, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
81 out of 81
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackG
Business
Perry, Georgia
Oct 19, 2010

Great hotel in a great location.

The hotel was great from check-in to departure with plenty of on-site parking. Located about 1.5 miles from Dublin city center with city buses running every 10 minutes. Close to US Embassy, Trinity College (see the Book of Kell's), Jamison distillery as well as Guiness and hundreds of pubs, restaurants, etc. Room was very comfortable, with comfortable beds and pillows. The only thing missing from the room were bath cloths, shampoo and conditioner !!! Hotel restaurant and bar were larger than expected. Food was very good and compared to Dublin prices, was priced right. Definitely would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

About 20 minute walk or 10 minute bus ride to Grafton and/or O'Connell Streets where restaurants, pubs, shopping are plentiful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
carbon
Business
canada
May 26, 2009

good hotel

interesting hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

few miles from downtown but the bus in front of hotel will take u to town in 10-15 min

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Moline, IL
Aug 3, 2009

Good, quiet hotel in Dublin, Ireland

The Bewleys hotel has an excellent location, unless you want to be in the middle of the Temple Bar district. The bus from the airport stops directly in front of it. It is a 5 minute walk to the DART train station which goes into the city center of Dublin. The train ride is about a 10 minutes. From the Tara Street station we walked all around the city center. From the Connolly station we caught the light rail to the Guinness storehouse. The hotel is next to the British embassy and a block away from the US embassy, so it is in a very good neighborhood. My daughter and I ran two different routes- one to the Dublin Bay and the other around the Herbert Park. You can walk to St Stevens Park, but that will take at least 30 minutes. The hotel staff was very helpful with providing directions and other information about getting around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irish travelers
Business
maryland, usa
Sep 14, 2009

september 2009 ballsbridge bewleys

quiet, upscale neighborhood location--just a short cab ride to the center of the city. very clean, historic building, providing great value in an otherwise expensive city. staff was helpful and courteous all the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 9, 2009

Very nice

Very nice hotel with good service and access to public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
May 28, 2010

Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge Ireland

The accomodations were just great. The room was clean and well kept, as was the entire establishment. The hotel pub was a great place to watch a football match or just sit back and relax a little. (I did both and enjoyed both.) As far as location, I couldn't imagine a more prime spot t ostay. I wasn't more than 15 minutes away from anything. The only complaint that I had (and it might sound ridiculous) is that the cleaning staff was overzealous. Despite my "Do Not Disturb" door hanger and my repeated requests for privacy, the cleaning staff refused to be ignored. One day a staff member walked into my room, even as I was calling out for him to stop, to find me just out of the shower and not exactly ready for guests. It bothered me quite a bit. Other than that, an outstanding place. One other thing, the hotel is right across the street from the football stadium, so check to make sure there are no matches. Imagine being next door to Staples Center on a Laker's game night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ptbookworm
Business
kalamazoo, mi
Jul 21, 2009

out of the way but clean

out of the way for sightseeing in Dublin but right on the bus line for aircoach which goes to the airport. absolutely request a quiet room away from the glass recycling which was right outside our room at 2 AM! (other reviewers had written this and we forgot)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Nov 13, 2009

Great location, nice rooms, fair price

The outside of the hotel was gorgeous and was only a few blocks from the Sandymount DART station, which was really convenient. The room themselves were good, not great, but good. Overall, I was pleased with the hotel for the price we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Brasserie, located on the bottom floor of the hotel, is definitely worth a try.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 22, 2009

Great time in Dublin

Bewley's did a great job hosting us during our 4 day stay in Dublin. Great clean rooms, and excellent access to downtown via the busses and DART. Handy, excellent home away from home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The DART day trip ticket of apx. 6 euros ea. was a great deal. We visited seaside towns north and south of Dublin for a whole day, from the local station. Great unsung amenity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Canadianeh
Business
Pawleys Island, SC
Jun 30, 2009

Better than basic: quiet neighbourhood

Beautiful surroundings in an old but renovated building with great style. Rooms are basic, but comfortable. There was a reasonable (comparatively) breakfast (full English) for E9.98 when we were there, but we picnicked in the room for less. There's no local pub or other restaurant. There's an classy Tesco up the street with all you could want for any picnic. It's a 15 min. bus ride to the center, but the bus comes frequently and is a quick ride in. Avoid buses once in the centre on Thursday and Saturday, including the hop-on/off (which is also a good deal). There's a free Internet access computer in the lobby, but wifi is free throughout if you bring your laptop. Dirty linens were changed when needed without request: great! We were glad we chose the quiet and calm of the inner suburbs. If your needs are simple, this is for you: clean, modern bathroom to top it all off. Yay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

When in the city center, take a quick side-step to Trinity College and eat for cheap in the Buttery. Not open weekends, but great food for the best price in town. We had sweet and sour pork for E5.00: a piled high plate with rice. It's cafeteria style and a bit noisy, but you can't beat it anywhere in town.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top