$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 5, 2014

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

3 stars
Merrion Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Dublin, 0
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
99 reviews
Excellent Spot in Dublin

A beautiful hotel located in an upscale quiet Dublin neighborhood, but still has convenient access... See full review

  • Brett Luke
  • Feb 26, 2014
Excellent experience

We stayed at Bewleys Ballsbridge for 15 nights whilst visiting family in Dublin and nearby towns.... See full review

  • Mister and Misses Us
  • Dec 6, 2013
Magnificent 19th century restoration in Dublin’s business district
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge is located in the heart of Dublin's business district, adjacent to the Royal Dublin Society.  A short train ride from the nearby DART station takes guests to the city center. Housed in a magnificent 19th century building, the hotel offers business and family-friendly accommodations which include connecting rooms, facilities for children and conference and meeting rooms. Dining facilities include the Brasserie Restaurant, complete with a children's menu and games, as well as the stylish Tom's Bar for pub fare and snacks.

 

Highlights
  • Situated in the heart of Dublin's business district, adjacent to the RDS complex
  • Family-friendly hotel with connecting rooms, kids menus and games
  • Three restaurants
  • High-speed Internet access
Rooms
Rest peacefully under plush duvets in sound-proof rooms with plasma TV, free high-speed Internet access, tea and coffee station and clothes care amenities. Connecting rooms keep families together while ensuring privacy and wheelchair adapted rooms make it easy to get around. For guests seeking a deluxe stay, superior accommodations are available in the grand Thomas Prior wing. Rooms are furnished in mahogany wood with richly-colored décor. A luxury suite offers a separate lounge area and marble bathroom. Bathrobes, slippers and toiletries are included with all deluxe rooms.

 

Features
Bewley's Hotel Ballsbridge is housed in a grand 19th century school building with many original characteristics. The hotel features three restaurants serving meals, refreshments and pub fare, as well as private dining rooms. The recently-restored period building, Thomas Prior Hall, is available for special events and holds up to 300 guests. Families travelling with children can make use of amenities such as connecting rooms, kids' menus, babysitting (book in advance), high chairs, cribs, games and toys in the Brasserie restaurant. The hotel and all guest rooms are wheelchair accessible. Conference facilities include Wi-Fi access, audiovisual equipment, on-site parking and refreshments.

 

 

Transportation
  • DART at Sandymount Station
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • National Gallery of Ireland
  • St. Stephen's Green
  • Dublin Castle
  • Dublin Zoo
  • Guinness Storehouse
  • National Aquatic Center
  • Temple Bar
  • Trinity College
Business
  • Thomas Prior Hall with capacity for 300 guests
  • 7 Meeting rooms
  • Audiovisual equipment
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Onsite parking
  • Refreshments and lunch included in day rates
  • Situated close to RDS Arena

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge Rooms

Standard room
The room offers one twin and one double bed and includes Bathroom amenities, Color TV, Disabled facilities, Ensuite / Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Iron / Ironing board, Kettle, Laundry service, Modem / data port connection, Safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and voicemail.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
General
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3262 -6.2246
Area served
Dublin.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
Bewley's Hotel, Ballsbridge is located a short distance from the city centre, adjacent to the RDS, Avvia Stadium grounds in the heart of Dublin's exclusive business district & embassy belt.

Nearby points of interest

  • RDS Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.5 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.6 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Donnybrook: 0.9 mi
  • Irishtown: 1 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1 mi
  • Grand Canal: 1 mi
  • University College Dublin: 1.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 1.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 1.3 mi
  • Merrion Square: 1.4 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.2 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.5 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.6 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.6 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.8 mi
  • Donnybrook: 0.9 mi
  • Irishtown: 1 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 1 mi
  • Grand Canal: 1 mi
  • University College Dublin: 1.2 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 1.2 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 1.3 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 1.3 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 1.3 mi
  • Merrion Square: 1.4 mi
  • Dublin Port: 1.4 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 1.4 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 1.4 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 1.5 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 1.5 mi
  • The O2: 1.5 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 1.5 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 1.5 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 1.5 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 1.5 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 1.5 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 1.6 mi
  • Leinster House: 1.6 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 1.6 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 1.6 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 1.6 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 1.6 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 1.6 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 1.6 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 1.6 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • Science Gallery: 1.6 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 1.6 mi
  • Pearse Street: 1.7 mi
  • Mansion House: 1.7 mi
  • River Liffey: 1.7 mi
  • Rathmines: 1.7 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 1.7 mi

Dining

Restaurant
The Brasserie Restaurant & Lounge bar offer a selection of dishes & lite bites to suit the most discerning of palettes. Lunch is served 12-2.30pm. Dinner is served 5.30 - 9.30pm. Breakfast is at 10 euros per person per day (approx). A 3 course dinner is at 25 euros per person (approx).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (99)

Ratings and reviews for Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bryan and jeana
Bemidji, MN
Apr 13, 2011

Fantastically Wonderful!

It is an old but updated building. Very pretty outside and very comfortable inside. The staff was very friendly and always helpful, we got fantastic recommendations for meals in the area as well as directions to get around. The hotel is away from City Center and Temple Bar but the bus stop is right outside the gate and it took no more than ten or fifteen minutes to be any where we wanted to be. There was a wedding party one night we were there and while we could hear the music it was not intrusive. The restaurant was expensive but good and there are several others within three blocks that are less expensive. We got a great room at an incredible price and would DEFINITELY stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased a Dublin Pass from Dublin Tourism and a five day bus pass and were able to stay at this hotel which is out of the touristy areas and spend far less on our hotel. The pass and bus fare saved us a bundle getting around town and in to attractions. Plus with the pass you can skip the lines at most places.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bryan and jeana
Bemidji, MN
Apr 13, 2011

Fantastically Wonderful!

It is an old but updated building. Very pretty outside and very comfortable inside. The staff was very friendly and always helpful, we got fantastic recommendations for meals in the area as well as directions to get around. The hotel is away from City Center and Temple Bar but the bus stop is right outside the gate and it took no more than ten or fifteen minutes to be any where we wanted to be. There was a wedding party one night we were there and while we could hear the music it was not intrusive. The restaurant was expensive but good and there are several others within three blocks that are less expensive. We got a great room at an incredible price and would DEFINITELY stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

We purchased a Dublin Pass from Dublin Tourism and a five day bus pass and were able to stay at this hotel which is out of the touristy areas and spend far less on our hotel. The pass and bus fare saved us a bundle getting around town and in to attractions. Plus with the pass you can skip the lines at most places.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Limerick Ireland.
Apr 3, 2011

Good Value, very central.

I wanted a clean , simple hotel , not far from city-centre - but not in it. Hotel suited my needs perfectly. Location is beautiful ( the building dates back to 1792 ), rooms large and bathroom facilities very good. Taxi-rank right outside. I did not dine there , but will certainly use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Limerick Ireland.
Apr 3, 2011

Good Value, very central.

I wanted a clean , simple hotel , not far from city-centre - but not in it. Hotel suited my needs perfectly. Location is beautiful ( the building dates back to 1792 ), rooms large and bathroom facilities very good. Taxi-rank right outside. I did not dine there , but will certainly use again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Nov 15, 2010

Nice Hotel

Friendly staff, room was a little bit on the small side, but we were only there at night, so it wasn't a problem. A little far from the downtown and Grafton Street area, but taxis were easy to find. One thing the website did NOT tell us was that they do have a hotel shuttlebus to this hotel location, so we took a taxi from the airport and it was a little spendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Blarney Inn (close to Grafton Street) for great food and live "traditional" Irish music.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Minnesota
Nov 15, 2010

Nice Hotel

Friendly staff, room was a little bit on the small side, but we were only there at night, so it wasn't a problem. A little far from the downtown and Grafton Street area, but taxis were easy to find. One thing the website did NOT tell us was that they do have a hotel shuttlebus to this hotel location, so we took a taxi from the airport and it was a little spendy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Check out the Blarney Inn (close to Grafton Street) for great food and live "traditional" Irish music.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pirate Queen
Midwest
Nov 12, 2010

Beautiful facility

Spent most of our days in Dublin, so the location close to the DART Sandymount station was very useful. Food in the Brassiere was fantastic and moderately priced. Service was very good. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. Six of us arrived early , very cold, wet, and tired. We were graciously given early access to our rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pirate Queen
Midwest
Nov 12, 2010

Beautiful facility

Spent most of our days in Dublin, so the location close to the DART Sandymount station was very useful. Food in the Brassiere was fantastic and moderately priced. Service was very good. Rooms were comfortable and very clean. Six of us arrived early , very cold, wet, and tired. We were graciously given early access to our rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dobakala
Regensburg, Germany
Nov 10, 2010

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, Dublin, IE

This was our first trip to Ireland. The hotel is grand, has a restaurant and a bar with live sports on TV downstairs. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and the routes runs directly into town. We also walked into town from here, a 30 minute walk. The hotel has Wi-Fi everywhere. The breakfast was good, but expensive at 13 Euro; you can also opt for the Continental breakfast if you like eating lightly. The rooms were quiet, roomy, and well serviced by the staff. No refrigerator. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the bus office on (59) O'Connell Street and ask for a route map and advice on area attractions. They will give you a map; you can also buy the multi-day bus pass here which is a deal if you plan on getting on and off the bus at least three times.

Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dobakala
Regensburg, Germany
Nov 10, 2010

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge, Dublin, IE

This was our first trip to Ireland. The hotel is grand, has a restaurant and a bar with live sports on TV downstairs. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel and the routes runs directly into town. We also walked into town from here, a 30 minute walk. The hotel has Wi-Fi everywhere. The breakfast was good, but expensive at 13 Euro; you can also opt for the Continental breakfast if you like eating lightly. The rooms were quiet, roomy, and well serviced by the staff. No refrigerator. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the bus office on (59) O'Connell Street and ask for a route map and advice on area attractions. They will give you a map; you can also buy the multi-day bus pass here which is a deal if you plan on getting on and off the bus at least three times.

Back to menu Return to top