$75 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

3 stars
View map of Merrion Road, Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Dublin, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 74
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

97% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RichardVickie
Business
East Tennessee
Jan 28, 2013

Wonderful

It was wonderful and perfect for us! No it's not in the middle of downtown, but within a 5 minute walk you can be at the DART station. Within 10 minutes you'll be in downtown Dublin. And if you're into walking, it's about a 45 minute walk to downtown. You'll get to see some wonderful buildings along the way.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kerrycomacton
Business
Acton,MA
Nov 7, 2012

Good value , good location

Great location, easy access to airport coach, DART train and bus. No need to rent a car. Good restaurant and bar. Comfortable room and beds. New flat screen TVs since last visit. Lighting could be better in rooms but they are all on the save energy drive. Would be great if they had a gym , but when the weather cooperates you can have a nice run along the sea front overlooking Dublin Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wylie family
Business
Wyoming, USA
Sep 14, 2012

Affordable and convenient

We enjoyed our stay very much. Beautiful, historic building. Excellent room, very clean. Bustop right outside into Dublin and taxis waiting if needed. The staff is friendly. I would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Taxis very convenient and reasonably priced. A great way to get around. The cabbies are friendly and most helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DesertLew
Business
Tucson, as
Aug 26, 2012

Well cared for and friendly

Even though we arrived early our room was ready. The price we paid was a bargin for Dublin, but made the bus ride to city center a little longer. good trade off! Very clean room and well maintained. Hotel staff helped with transportation and sight seeing advise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Marlin74
Business
Lititz, PA
Jul 30, 2012

Ballsbridge - value

Very good hotel for the money. Upgraded televisions to HD flat screen the day we stayed. Clean, bus to city at hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Texas Crowley
Business
South Texas
Jul 2, 2012

Hotel needs a check-up!

While the location for our trip was ideal (next to the RDS), the hotel and the rooms were not what we expected. Be sure to take your own kleenex tissues, ice bucket, wash cloths, shampoo, lotion, shower cap, etc,, since they don't provide them. Ice bucket can be borrowed from their restaurant, tho. Also, take some dishwashing soap to wash the cups and glasses, as all they use is hot water for cleaning them. Need to take your own computer since the hotel has only one computer available for the whole hotel, and it's 1 euro per 7 minutes (which is all gone by the time their slow computer gets going!). The restaurant food was very good and the location worked great for us since we were there for the Eucharistic Congress at the RDS. Close to the Dart and the Airbus stops by the side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several restaurants and take out pizza places very close to hotel. Dinner menu at hotel is a bit pricey.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cutch
Business
Scotland
Jun 11, 2012

Dublin short break

After reading mixed reviews, was pleasantly surprised. Rooms were spacious, clean & comfortable. Husband had the best steak he's had in a while, cooked to his exact request & at 22 Euros, was comparable if not better value to places in the centre. Although hotel was out from centre of Dublin, we used the Dart which is just a short walk away & only cost 3 Euros for a return ticket which you can use all day. Would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Best luch deal was in the M&S rooftop restuarant. 2 courses & glass of wine for 12.50 Euros. Views up Grafton street are amazing from the outside tables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aabelfast
Business
Belfast, Northern Ireland
May 28, 2012

BETTER THAN WE HAD EXPECTED - THAT'S GOOD!

The hotel was every bit as good, or better than we had expected - staff were helpful and not stuffy. We would have liked to have had a little biscuit with the tea making facilities in the room and not have had to go to the bar to find something. The car parking regime was suitably relaxed and it was lovely to have a second cup of excellent coffee at breakfast time in the lovely sunny courtyard. Very good! - better than expected!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RichardVickie
Business
East Tennessee
May 22, 2012

Very good hotel

Very good hotel and near city center, within 30 minute walk. The staff were friendly and helpful. If we go back to Dublin, we will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Bewleys Hotel Ballsbridge

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sore feet
Business
Upper Deerfield, NJ
May 17, 2012

4 days in Dublin

Loved the character of the place. The exterior and grounds are well maintained 19th century, but the rooms are modern and clean. There's a nice bar downstairs with plenty of seating in the lounge area. They've also got a cash machine in the lobby, so you won't have to worry about hunting one down. Great location for visiting Dublin: 3 blocks from DART station, Aircoach bus stop is right out front, and it's close to some good restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Save on dining: walk a few blocks north on Merrion Rd. and try Roly's Cafe for breakfast. I loved everything I ate there. Save on taxis: Get in and out of the airport on the Aircoach bus. It's 7 euro each way (about 35 minutes) and the bus stop is just outside of the hotel entrance. Get in and out of the city on the train. Walk a few blocks east on Sandymount Ave. to the DART station. I don't know what it stands for, but it's the cleanest train I've ever been on, and only cost 3 euro round trip to Tara St. station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top