$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

Ballsbridge Hotel

4 stars
Pembroke Road,, Ballsbridge, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
54 reviews
Fantastic ,Friendly, Comfortable

Staff was really friendly, Rooms were clean and tidy. Wonderfully located and very good price.... See full review

  • sting
  • Aug 17, 2014
Rugby weekend

Superb hotel, friendly staff and the room excellent. Ideally situated for the Aviva stadium, The... See full review

  • SUFTUM
  • Mar 26, 2014
Great hotel just minutes from Dublin city centre

In the leafy Dublin suburb of Ballsbridge close to Aviva Stadium, Ballsbridge Hotel is just a 15 minute walk to the city centre, the O2 Arena and Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Trinity College, Dublin's cultural quarter Temple Bar and Dublin's main shopping district are also just a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. The DART rail network (just 2 minutes from the hotel) connects guests to the surrounding beauty of Dublin's coastal villages. The Airport shuttle, the Aircoach, drops tourists right outside the hotel door.

Highlights
  • Traditional Irish pub onsite with live music at weekends
  • Organic Irish produce served in both the pub and restaurant menus
  • Close to Aviva Stadium and the RDS
  • Conference and meeting facilities for up to 850 people
Rooms

The hotel's 392 spacious guest rooms feature queen size beds, cable TV, en suite bathroom, hairdryer, writing desk, tea- and coffee-making facilities and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). One-bedroom suites offer an extra living and dining room, plus walk-in closet. Connecting rooms are available for those traveling as a group or with children.

Features
Ballsbridge Hotel is situated in the Dublin suburbs, a short trip by bus or train to the city center. The hotel houses The Dubliner Pub which provides traditional Irish fare in a cosy setting. The café in the lobby delivers light refreshments throughout the day. The hotel has a barbershop and a beauty salon. There is secure onsite car parking available (fees apply). Wheelchair accessible rooms are available.


Transportation
  • Aircoach stop outside hotel
  • Lansdowne Road DART station (.3 m/.5 km)
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Aviva Stadium (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Trinity College (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Conference and meeting facilities and ballroom available for up to 850 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • State-of-the-art multimedia compatibility
  • In-house event coordinator to assist with event planning

Hotel Map

53.3317 -6.2345
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
International Airport:Dublin 15 kms
Area description
The leafy and affluent suburb of Ballsbridge is a leisurely stroll from the main shopping areas of Grafton Street and St. Stephen's Green. Take a detour through Merrion or Herbert Park or stroll along the nearby canal. Take your time in choosing which award-winning restaurant you plan on dining in and which bar or nightclub you plan on visiting. Dublin has much to offer and D4 is the perfect base. The hotel is easily accessible by DART (city rail), Aircoach, Bus or Train.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ballsbridge Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Ballsbridge Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
These classic double rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen size bed with thick duvet, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Standard Twin
These classic twin rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen bed and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Double
These deluxe double rooms have 32sqm of floor space and are just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room boasts a king size bed with thick duvet, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, walk-in-wardrobe, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, large writing desk with armchairs and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Twin
These deluxe twin rooms have 32sqm of floor space and are just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room boasts a double and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, walk-in-wardrobe, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, large writing desk with armchairs and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Triple Room
These triple rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen bed and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • National Print Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.3 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.3 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.8 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.8 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.3 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.3 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.8 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.8 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.9 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 1 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 1 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 1 mi
  • Leinster House: 1 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 1 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 1.1 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Dublin Port: 1.1 mi
  • Science Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Pearse Street: 1.1 mi
  • The O2: 1.1 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 1.1 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 1.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 1.1 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • River Liffey: 1.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 1.2 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Breakfast is in Raglans Restaurant. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day according to the experts. You can enjoy yours in the tranquil ambience of Raglans. Choose between a large continental selection of freshly baked rolls, pastries, fruit, cereals and freshly squeezed juices or if you would prefer something more substantial, help yourself to our full Irish Breakfast buffet. Breakfast is served daily from 7am to 10:30am.
Bar
The Dubliner Pub Established in 1963, the Dubliner Pub has built a reputation for authentic Irish pub grub and craic that draws in many eclectic locals, so you'll be sure to experience first hand the warmth and vitality that is synonymous with any visit to our fair city. With traditional music at the weekends and big screens for all the big games, the Dubliner is the place to enjoy the craic and lively banter into the early hours of the morning.
Barber Shop
In town for an important interview or just want to impress the ladies, then pop along to Gerrard's Barber Shop just inside the door of the Ballsbridge Hotel. Established in 1972 and gaining in reputation since, you can treat yourself to a shave or a new look from a European Barber Championship gold medal winner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (54)

Ratings and reviews for Ballsbridge Hotel

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 54
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.1
Room comfort:
2.6
Location:
3.6
Value:
3

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fussey
Wicklow
Jun 25, 2014

Reasonable value

We stayed at the ball bridge hotel for over night visit to Dublin . It was what we considered good value but the room was very warm and it was also on the road side of hotel so was very noisy. We are a family with a young daughter so a good might sleep is required but sadly due to noise and heat this was not possible. Not sure I would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Always check for early bird Menus in restaurants for great value

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dont't have one
Ireland
Apr 29, 2014

1 night stay over

They had us booked in as a double when I had asked for a twin, but receptionist was extremely helpful and found us the last one on the 8th floor (top floor). Would stay there again, very convenient for Dublin shopping

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Really Unhappy customer
Ireland
Dec 14, 2013

I will never recommend it!

It was on of the worse that I ever had. It started by a dirty room with no phone, no batteries for the remote, beside a loud noisy elevator that is operating like the train on the top of your head, no iron , no shampoo or extra blanket for the cold room. We complained after two days of suffering and the receptionist was mean and upset. She moved us to another room in different floor that was one room away from the elevator and was so loud and noisy. Plus smell. After a bad night sleep we complained again. This time we were lucky to have the manager. She was sweet and moved us to the business side of the hotel. Different world. Clean carpets, good rooms, extra space and much cleaner bathroom though the bathroom has limescale and scum on the walls and corners of the bathtub. To my surprise I complained about the clogged bathtub and no resolution. We were punished with no room service for some reason. And the last day the cleaning lady knocked the door by 8 am!!! I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. Shame on them! I just took the pictures of the business side. And I will leave the normal side to your imagination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Travel Diva
Hawaii
Mar 21, 2013

St. Patrick's day Dublin adventure

We had a great time at the balls bridge. The location was perfect. We were 5 minutes walk to the dart and 20-25 minutes walk to the city centre. There was convenient restaurants and shopping nearby for our little last minute needs. The hotel served a fabulous Irish breakfast. Their buffet included an amazing cereal and fruit spread. The staff was helpful and very nice. We wish the wifi had been free and that there had been more pillows on the beds but other than that it was a great stay. I would definitely recommend it to my friends for a economical stay in Dublin, Ireland.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sarah Azahari
Bandar Baru Bangi, Selangor, Malaysia
Jan 30, 2013

Nice and Comfortable

The staff are pleasant, helpful and informative. Location - not far from city, the bus fare is only 2.15euro. The hotel provides a lot of car parks but unfortunately guests have to pay for it (not complimentary for guests). Overall our stay was magnificent and we definitely will stay here again if we come to Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Have a nice shopping by strolling along the Henry and Grafton Street or if you have time go to KIldare for the factory outlet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mpkh
ireland
Aug 29, 2012

great hotel for dublin city break

we had a really good stay at this hotel. check in staff very good room excellent tea / coffee facilities. clean well run and a bus into the city stops just outside the door.we stayed here for the tall ships excellent value , great food . pub beside hotel very good also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

great menu in bar.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lexandi
Trenton, NJ, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Plain and dull

Hotel staff provided the only available room for 0930 checkin. Clean, serviceable, but the bathroom ceiling was covered in mildew, and the desk chair was threadbare. Also found water sitting in electric kettle for who knows how long. Staff sent us on a 1.5 mile walk in search of food when there were several establishments within 5 minute walk. At least the airport bus stop was outside the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Shaydo
Cork Ireland
Dec 20, 2010

Real value is in the eye of the Hotelier

First problem started when we tried to check in at 1.10pm we were told that it would cost us €10 euro extra if we wanted to book in before 2o'c. [...] When we went to bed we couldn't get to sleep because of the noise coming from the adjoining rooms. When we rang reception to complain there was no answer.In the morning when I went to have a shower there was no hot water. I rang reception and was told that there was frozen pipes and that was why there was no hot water. But they would offer us some compensation when we came to check out. On the way down in the lift we asked other guests if they had hot water and they said they had. We still did not get an adequate explanation from receptionist and was referred to the duty manager. When he arrived in the hotel I said to him that we had spoken to other guests who said that they had hot water in their rooms. This he was not able to explain. Eventually I said that I wanted a full refund which he agreed to.I just paid the overnight parking charge of €10.50 and when I came out to my car I discovered it was covered in bird droppings from over hanging trees.My experience of staying in the Ballsbridge Inn was not a pleasent one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Stuttgart Germany
Jul 24, 2010

Not too bad

Stayed here for front and back of our trip to Ireland...not terrible, but she's a bit old. Front desk staff was not the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple Bar and Downtown not too far up the road

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rory of Dublin
Sarnia . Ontario. Canada
Jul 16, 2010

Family Vacation

This hotel is situated at the corner of an intersection, making it difficult to get to, especially if you don't know the city. A 'Family room' consisted of a small double, a single and a pull out couch! Only one pillow was provided for each bed. Each evening I had to order two sets of extra towels as only the minimum were provided, even though they knew we had four adults in the room. The hair dryer wouldn't work, and with three women staying was a nightmare, each time I called the front desk "They said they were fully booked and couldn't find a replacement!" Last morning when we were checking out a replacement was provided...However NO hot water was available!! again we were informed by the front desk "That maintenance didn't come into until after we checked out!" No option to provided use with a room that did have hot water Needless to say we were very unhappy with our stay, and were the 4-star rating came from is anybodys guest, maybe on a good day 2 might be more approprate

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't try and drive in this city, the streets signs are never in a good location to read, and when you can, they are faded! Taxi fares are about 12 euros each way to any shopping or entertainment areas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search