$98 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Ballsbridge Hotel

4 stars
View map of Pembroke Road,, Ballsbridge, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Ballsbridge Hotel

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
68 out of 68
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.5
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.4

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mpkh
Family
ireland
Aug 29, 2012

great hotel for dublin city break

we had a really good stay at this hotel. check in staff very good room excellent tea / coffee facilities. clean well run and a bus into the city stops just outside the door.we stayed here for the tall ships excellent value , great food . pub beside hotel very good also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

great menu in bar.

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
cyrus23
Friends
dublin ireland
Aug 3, 2012

Average place

This place has excellent service although the all around experience was fair

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a bus pass

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emerald Ex Pat
Business
NYC
Jul 15, 2012

Last minute trip

Booked in to the Ballsbridge Hotel after an overnight trip from NY. The front desk staff managed to get a room cleaned up well before check in time so that I could get refreshed before a drive down the country. I had few needs over my stay but the best thing is they did not invade your privacy. Overnight parking was a bit stiff and should be included in an overnight stay. That is Ireland for you, plenty of add on fees and extras that you do not expect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Beshofs fish and chip shop for an authentic hearty traditional meal

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Nicola Broken Hair Brush
Couples
Somerset
Jul 12, 2012

Not all staff were unwelcoming

As we were checking in to our rooms i went to a young lady who told me to take a seat, i started to worry as i was left for 25 minutes. in the end i decided to go to see what was happening as all the other people we went with had no problems upon going to the reception desk i spoke to another lady who said that the woman who was dealing with me had gone on her break!!! i was amazed at this, how could she tell me to take a seat & wait when all she was doing was going on her break, she could have told me this & i would have checked in with someone else. Esther the kind receptionist kindly checked us into our rooms & was very helpful. I have also had a problem with the maid as on the Saturday we went out & had a lovely day then once returning back to the hotel i was unable to locate my hair brush, my & my partner looked everywhere then upon moving our clothing from the top of our suitcase we found the missing brush which had been broken & hidden underneath the clothes! Firstly this is disgusting that a maid could be so dishonest & not admitting to doing this! From then on we decided that we no longer wanted the maids to go into our room so put the Do Not Disturb sign on our door after that. Apart from the beginning we had a lovely stay at this hotel and if certain staff members we indisciplined & taught some manners then i would stay there again. Esther was a great help with many things and if it wasn't for her then we would have had a rubbish holiday!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Use the Hop on Hop Off bus tours they were amazing & the drivers were very kind & funny.

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MJM3
Single
Tuscany , ITaly
Jul 12, 2012

good place

Overall comfortable and friendly hotel. Although the staff ignored do not disturb sign one morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShamrocksnShenanigans
Single
Washington D.C.
May 17, 2012

IM BOOKING AGAIN!!!

I absolutely LOVED The Ballsbridge Hotel. Not only was it conveniently located to everything I wanted, but the Hotel staff were very accomodating! My room was absolutely huge! The bed was absolutely comfortable! It's in a very safe area so I didnt mind coming back to the Hotel at late hours. You are in walking distance to alot of eateries and shops, if you want to walk up to Grafton Street. It's right across from the Bank and most of the Embassies. They also have a pay computers if you forgot any of your electronics, like I did. Everything was clean, and they never came in your room when you had the "No Attention Needed" sign hanging. The Bathroom was an absolute delite, with a deep tub perfect for a nice relaxing bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sushicue
Couples
San Francisco
Apr 28, 2012

Waste of money

HOT!! Windows only vertically tilted open 1/2". Just enough to let the smoke from the chimneys in our room. Mattress was ancient and pillows were completely flat. We had to stuff our bath towels under them just to sleep. If any drawer/doors on the furniture were opened, it was horrible! Smelled so moldy and musty....trees outside our window, that barely opened, smelled of cat urine! Gets even better....woke up the next morning with a stiff neck and back only to find a letter from Management that had been slipped under our door. Letter informed us there would be NO hot water. We could call down to the front desk and be put on the waiting list for rooms in the "tower" that had hot water. Went to iron my shirt for our trip home only to find there wasn't one. Charged us €10.50 just to park our rental car in their lot overnight and €9.00/day for WiFi access. Good thing this was our last night in Ireland. Had our other six hotels been this wretched, I would have turned around and gone home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lexandi
Family
Trenton, NJ, USA
Apr 13, 2012

Plain and dull

Hotel staff provided the only available room for 0930 checkin. Clean, serviceable, but the bathroom ceiling was covered in mildew, and the desk chair was threadbare. Also found water sitting in electric kettle for who knows how long. Staff sent us on a 1.5 mile walk in search of food when there were several establishments within 5 minute walk. At least the airport bus stop was outside the premises.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
anniemac
Business
USA
Mar 27, 2012

Ballsbridge Hotel

Traveling internationally we had baggage to match but nobody came to the kerbside to assist out unloading and entrance into the lobby, after checking in nobody offered nor was there anyone available to assist in accessing our room. Room No. 322 overlooked a mess of AHU's (air handling units and other debris) total eyesore and yet the Hotel appeared <10% occupied i.e., simple matter to have provided us a room with a view? Bathroom had a wall mounted dryer but head and flexible hose were missing (torn off long time ago) Room dryer was installed to prevent stealing same rather than designed for personal use, how come? The plug had been stripped from cord and 1/4" dia. hole bored thru back of desk then plug refitted so you could not unplug/steal same; that meant cord length was lost winding it in and under the desk so end result was one of getting down on your knees to operate the hair dryer while the mirror is 3' above and 3' to the other side so it's an absolute NONO! TV was say 16" vintage 1875, that's a typo I meant 1975 but you get the sense of it this Hotel is tired, it needs a facelift, tummy tuck et al. Stay there again? NO nice people but it's not a 3 star Hotel and was a major disappointment, made the more so as they would refund the last 2 of a planned 5 nite stay even though we gave proper notice. Annie

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
StaceyNCFC
Couples
Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Feb 20, 2012

A great hotel- highly recommended!

This was the second time we have stayed here and again it did not disappoint. The rooms are lovely and look like they should be in a much more expensive hotel, as do the other amenities. It's great to have a pub onsite but there are also plenty of other options nearby (within 5-10 mins walk), most of which are much cheaper . This hotel benefits from being close enough to the city centre to allow you to go out and about easily and safely throughout the day and night (either by the local DART train service or by 20 mins walk with many drinks stops en-route!) But far enough away to be in quiter surroundings. We also found ithe location perfect for attending events at the RDS or Aviva Stadium, as both are very close-by. All in all, we love this hotel, the only downside being the price of breakfast, and know that we will back very soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top