$84 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Ballsbridge Hotel

4 stars
Pembroke Road,, Ballsbridge, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.0
out of 5
59 reviews
Rugby weekend

Superb hotel, friendly staff and the room excellent. Ideally situated for the Aviva stadium, The... See full review

  • SUFTUM
  • Mar 26, 2014
Fabulous city break

Having booked the hotel and flight via the internet and paid very cheap price we weren't expecting... See full review

  • jackiewolf
  • Jan 16, 2014
Great hotel just minutes from Dublin city centre

In the leafy Dublin suburb of Ballsbridge close to Aviva Stadium, Ballsbridge Hotel is just a 15 minute walk to the city centre, the O2 Arena and Bord Gais Energy Theatre. Trinity College, Dublin's cultural quarter Temple Bar and Dublin's main shopping district are also just a 15-20 minute walk from the hotel. The DART rail network (just 2 minutes from the hotel) connects guests to the surrounding beauty of Dublin's coastal villages. The Airport shuttle, the Aircoach, drops tourists right outside the hotel door.

Highlights
  • Traditional Irish pub onsite with live music at weekends
  • Organic Irish produce served in both the pub and restaurant menus
  • Close to Aviva Stadium and the RDS
  • Conference and meeting facilities for up to 850 people
Rooms

The hotel's 392 spacious guest rooms feature queen size beds, cable TV, en suite bathroom, hairdryer, writing desk, tea- and coffee-making facilities and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). One-bedroom suites offer an extra living and dining room, plus walk-in closet. Connecting rooms are available for those traveling as a group or with children.

Features
Ballsbridge Hotel is situated in the Dublin suburbs, a short trip by bus or train to the city center. The hotel houses The Dubliner Pub which provides traditional Irish fare in a cosy setting. The café in the lobby delivers light refreshments throughout the day. The hotel has a barbershop and a beauty salon. There is secure onsite car parking available (fees apply). Wheelchair accessible rooms are available.


Transportation
  • Aircoach stop outside hotel
  • Lansdowne Road DART station (.3 m/.5 km)
  • Dublin bus service outside hotel
  • Taxi service available
Attractions
  • Aviva Stadium (.2 mi/.4 km)
  • National Gallery of Ireland (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • Trinity College (1 mi/1.7 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Conference and meeting facilities and ballroom available for up to 850 guests
  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • State-of-the-art multimedia compatibility
  • In-house event coordinator to assist with event planning

Ballsbridge Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
These classic double rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen size bed with thick duvet, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Standard Twin
These classic twin rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen bed and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Double
These deluxe double rooms have 32sqm of floor space and are just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room boasts a king size bed with thick duvet, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, walk-in-wardrobe, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, large writing desk with armchairs and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Deluxe Twin
These deluxe twin rooms have 32sqm of floor space and are just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room boasts a double and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, walk-in-wardrobe, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, large writing desk with armchairs and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.
Triple Room
These triple rooms are stylish and spacious (28sqm) and just minutes from Dublin City centre. Each room offers a queen bed and a single bed with thick duvets, ensuite bathroom with shower/tub and complimentary toiletries, hairdryer, iron, tea and coffee making facilities, cable TV, writing desk and Wi-Fi internet access (charges apply). 24 hour room service, wake-up calls and daily housekeeping are among the conveniences offered. All rooms are non-smoking.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Ballsbridge Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3317 -6.2345
Area served
Dublin
Nearby airports
International Airport:Dublin 15 kms
Area description
The leafy and affluent suburb of Ballsbridge is a leisurely stroll from the main shopping areas of Grafton Street and St. Stephen's Green. Take a detour through Merrion or Herbert Park or stroll along the nearby canal. Take your time in choosing which award-winning restaurant you plan on dining in and which bar or nightclub you plan on visiting. Dublin has much to offer and D4 is the perfect base. The hotel is easily accessible by DART (city rail), Aircoach, Bus or Train.

Nearby points of interest

  • National Print Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.3 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.3 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.8 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.8 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • National Print Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Herbert Park: 0.3 mi
  • Lansdowne Road: 0.3 mi
  • Aviva Stadium: 0.3 mi
  • RDS Arena: 0.5 mi
  • Grand Canal: 0.5 mi
  • Shelbourne Park: 0.6 mi
  • Number Twenty Nine - Georgian House Museum: 0.7 mi
  • Waterways Ireland Visitor Centre: 0.7 mi
  • Fitzwilliam Square: 0.8 mi
  • Irishtown: 0.8 mi
  • Merrion Square: 0.8 mi
  • Dublin Docklands: 0.8 mi
  • Grand Canal Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Natural History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Oscar Wilde House: 0.9 mi
  • Royal Hibernian Academy: 0.9 mi
  • Broadstone Studios XL: 1 mi
  • Royal College of Science: 1 mi
  • National Museum of Archaeology and History: 1 mi
  • National Gallery of Ireland: 1 mi
  • National Musuem of Ireland: 1 mi
  • IMMA @ NCH: 1 mi
  • Leinster House: 1 mi
  • Economic and Social Research Institute: 1 mi
  • Dublin Institute of Technology: 1 mi
  • National Library of Ireland: 1 mi
  • Taylor Galleries: 1.1 mi
  • National Museum of Ireland: 1.1 mi
  • The Iveagh Gardens: 1.1 mi
  • The Science Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • Dublin Port: 1.1 mi
  • Science Gallery: 1.1 mi
  • State Heraldic Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Famine Memorial: 1.1 mi
  • Pearse Street: 1.1 mi
  • The O2: 1.1 mi
  • Spencer Dock: 1.1 mi
  • Convention Centre Dublin: 1.1 mi
  • Mansion House: 1.1 mi
  • The Doorway Gallery: 1.2 mi
  • River Liffey: 1.2 mi
  • Dawson Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kildare Street: 1.2 mi
  • Jeanie Johnston: 1.2 mi

Dining

Breakfast
Breakfast is in Raglans Restaurant. Breakfast is the most important meal of the day according to the experts. You can enjoy yours in the tranquil ambience of Raglans. Choose between a large continental selection of freshly baked rolls, pastries, fruit, cereals and freshly squeezed juices or if you would prefer something more substantial, help yourself to our full Irish Breakfast buffet. Breakfast is served daily from 7am to 10:30am.
Bar
The Dubliner Pub Established in 1963, the Dubliner Pub has built a reputation for authentic Irish pub grub and craic that draws in many eclectic locals, so you'll be sure to experience first hand the warmth and vitality that is synonymous with any visit to our fair city. With traditional music at the weekends and big screens for all the big games, the Dubliner is the place to enjoy the craic and lively banter into the early hours of the morning.
Barber Shop
In town for an important interview or just want to impress the ladies, then pop along to Gerrard's Barber Shop just inside the door of the Ballsbridge Hotel. Established in 1972 and gaining in reputation since, you can treat yourself to a shave or a new look from a European Barber Championship gold medal winner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (59)

Ratings and reviews for Ballsbridge Hotel

Overall score

3 / 5
5.01.0
59 out of 59
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.7
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ShamrocksnShenanigans
Washington D.C.
May 17, 2012

IM BOOKING AGAIN!!!

I absolutely LOVED The Ballsbridge Hotel. Not only was it conveniently located to everything I wanted, but the Hotel staff were very accomodating! My room was absolutely huge! The bed was absolutely comfortable! It's in a very safe area so I didnt mind coming back to the Hotel at late hours. You are in walking distance to alot of eateries and shops, if you want to walk up to Grafton Street. It's right across from the Bank and most of the Embassies. They also have a pay computers if you forgot any of your electronics, like I did. Everything was clean, and they never came in your room when you had the "No Attention Needed" sign hanging. The Bathroom was an absolute delite, with a deep tub perfect for a nice relaxing bath.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Akmaca
Dallas, TX, USA
Jan 2, 2014

New year's in Dublin

The hotel staff were amazing, hotel was very clean. Very glad I brought my own pillow, as mentioned by another reviewer, as they only give you one. Amenities in the room were fine but nothing to brag about, breakfast downstairs was expensive... cold buffet for 10 euros! It was a bit away from downtown, but not a bad cab ride. The hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful calling cabs, and offering advice on tours. You have to pay for wifi, which was a major negative aspect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to the train station and go north to Howth (20 minute train ride). It's a cute town on the coast with a lighthouse, and a castle, and a hike up to the peak.

Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Really Unhappy customer
Ireland
Dec 14, 2013

I will never recommend it!

It was on of the worse that I ever had. It started by a dirty room with no phone, no batteries for the remote, beside a loud noisy elevator that is operating like the train on the top of your head, no iron , no shampoo or extra blanket for the cold room. We complained after two days of suffering and the receptionist was mean and upset. She moved us to another room in different floor that was one room away from the elevator and was so loud and noisy. Plus smell. After a bad night sleep we complained again. This time we were lucky to have the manager. She was sweet and moved us to the business side of the hotel. Different world. Clean carpets, good rooms, extra space and much cleaner bathroom though the bathroom has limescale and scum on the walls and corners of the bathtub. To my surprise I complained about the clogged bathtub and no resolution. We were punished with no room service for some reason. And the last day the cleaning lady knocked the door by 8 am!!! I will never recommend this hotel to anyone. Shame on them! I just took the pictures of the business side. And I will leave the normal side to your imagination!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
ErinTeresa
Philadelphia, Pa
Nov 5, 2013

Needs updating but convenient location

My boyfriend and I stayed here the night before and after the Dublin Marathon. The morning of the marathon he needed to eat something healthy and fast and they charged 10 Euro for him to eat yogurt, 2 pieces of toast and mueseli. They knew full well that there would be loads of runners in there looking for something so they upped the charge it seemed like. The morning AFTER the marathon, where sleep was definitely needed, we woke to the lovely sounds of tapping on our door repeatedly from housekeeping at 8am. WHY so early?!!!!!!!! There was no light in the room, one lamp for the entire room. The hotel needs to be updated desperately. Forget using the tv you couldn't figure it out and when you did, you only got 3 channels. Its unfortunate, because the location is great and the staff was polite and helpful, but its those little things like comfort and quality that you look for when staying at a hotel. The location was convenient, close to the DART, pubs and shops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Stu547
Bristol uk
Sep 26, 2013

Run down

The hotel is being updated but our first room smelt of paint so had to get another room. The second room had a stained bed base and the bathroom door locked you in if it closed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Claireisabear
Dublin
Sep 25, 2013

Very good value

I had a lovely stay, room was clean and bed was comfortable. It was really close to the city centre too. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beanie50
Glasgow
Jul 17, 2013

A bit disappointed

We stayed here during a few very hot days and could not sleep at night because there was no air conditioning in the room, the window could only be opened about a couple of inches as there were chains on them. We took the quilt out of the cover and just used the cover but it was still sweltering. We asked to be moved to a room with air conditioning but were told the were none available so we asked for a fan to be told they were all out being used but we could put our name on a waiting list,!!!! Breakfast was a bit of a joke as well the staff did not seem to know what to do we had to chase them to get a tea and a coffee. This was my first time in Dublin and I will be back but won't be staying in this hotel as it is rather a long way from the city centre a good half hour walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tori B
London, UK
Jul 16, 2013

Central and Roomy

The hotel was very nice and in a great location. The only problem was it was so hot and there was no AC and we couldn't open the window, whereas the hotel next door, where my friends were staying, had AC and it was much more bearable. Overall I would stay again. The staff was nice as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fireblade
dublin
Jul 10, 2013

bals up

dont like paying to park car in hotel area, also paying for internet a no no.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Well travelled teacher
Brookfield, CT
Jul 8, 2013

One of the worst experiences ever

This hotel was awful. The staff was too busy to help and was condescending when asked a question. I had to change rooms because the first one was just disgusting. The second one was worse. Mold on the bathroom ceiling, peeling wallpaper, dirty carpets, running toilets, cigarette burns in the curtains, old & chipped furniture, antique televisions. Worst experience ever. Part of the hotel in under renovation, but not my rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Ballsbridge Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tigger40
Croydon Surrey
Apr 28, 2013

Dublin City break

Hotel in general was good our particular room could have benefited from more lighting and certainly second pillows. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast could have done with being hotter though

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase a Freedom Pass for use on the brilliant bus network for the duration of your stay it was 26 euros well spent.

Back to menu Return to top