$61 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 19, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
225 reviews
great girly days away

hotel was amazing for the price we paid we were all shocked how great hotel was keep up good workj See full review

  • the four wise monkeys
  • Oct 30, 2014
Great staff! Especially Lisa!

Very helpful reception staff! Great location. Building could possibly use a little updating, but... See full review

  • caseyvee
  • Oct 18, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (225)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
29 out of 225
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.3

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quil
Business
Delaware
Nov 20, 2014

In Dublin for soccer

Hotel was at a great location to explore the city by walking. Staff were friendly and helpful. They let us check in early and had a cab ready for us when we checked out very early in the morning. Being so close to O'Connell street and the river was great and allowed us to get around the city quickly and easily while never being to far from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
caseyvee
Business
tidewater, va
Oct 18, 2014

Great staff! Especially Lisa!

Very helpful reception staff! Great location. Building could possibly use a little updating, but nothing major needed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nina from the Windy City
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 2, 2013

Pleasant Emerald Isle Vacation

This was my first trip to Ireland. I was extremely pleased with the how helpful the staff was and the cleanliness of the room. The hotel is located off of one of the major streets in Dublin. The Hop on Hop off bus is right across the street and shuttle bus to the airport is just around the corner. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Svenska Steve
Business
Thomaston, Connecticut
Jul 20, 2013

Stuck in Dublin, happily

Through various circumstances that I won't go into here, I found myself stranded in Dublin for a few days--a completely unexpected and unscheduled stop--and am so glad it happened. I can hardly imagine a better place to be stuck this time of year, the streets full of life and music and activity well into the night. And my choice of hotel turned out to be just right, too. The Academy Plaza on Findlater Place, just off O'Connell street, was close to downtown and an easy walk to the river Liffey, where much of the city's life is clustered within a few blocks of the water. The hotel staff was warm, friendly, and helpful--the bartender was particularly informative, a natural story-teller and local historian, like so many of the people I met in Dublin--and the amenities were excellent. I could hardly be more satisfied with my stay. If you haven't seen Dublin, book a flight--and a room at the Academy Plaza Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

In Dublin, take the Hop On, Hop Off bus tour--a two-day ticket for 18 euros that allows you to step off at any of 23 locations and get on another bus whenever you like--and be sure to see Kilmainham Gaol and the Guinness Storehouse. Get a separate bus ticket to visit Glasnevin Cemetery, where many of Ireland's revolutionary heroes are buried, and take their wonderful tour. Walk around the Temple Bar area, south of the river. Enjoy the street music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish American
Business
Arizona
Jun 23, 2013

Friendly Place

I was in the hotel for 11 days. First visit was 2 days then went on a tour, returning to the hotel for 9 days. The staff was very helpful and accommodating of my unusual itinerary. The manager, Seamus, was particularly helpful. He held a small piece of luggage, got me into a room after an early arrival, and changed my room when I made a request. The rooms are small but clean and efficient. The location is the best; close to all buses. I stayed at 4 other hotels on my tour and I can tell you none of the others had the comfortable beds and pillows that I had at Academy! For as many people they have come and go, it's very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good places to eat close by. Everything from nice hotels to corner markets. There's a corner market 100 steps from the hotel. You can get good sandwiches made to order. You can get your coffee, pastry, cereal, fruit for breakfast. Cheap eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick spontaneous traveler
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Feb 28, 2013

Great for just me!

Had a great time. The staff was excellent and very friendly. I didn't have a toothbrush, told the lady at the front desk. She had one sent right up for free. Location was great. Right near downtown and all the sights. Rooms were a bit tiny, but that's Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bull & Castle. This place has amazing burgers. Pricey, but better than anything I've had here in America. Worth checking out. Near St. Patrick's Cathedral. Beautiful interior.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eireaffinity
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 27, 2013

A Great City Center Hotel!

This hotel is best for its location in the City Center, being just a half block off O'Connell Street. The staff are friendly and so helpful. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. Every time I visit Dublin, the Best Western Academy Hotel is top on my list for convenience and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bmoy
Business
Denver
Feb 16, 2013

Great location with clean, comfortable room

This hotel is in a great location, with hop on hop off bus across the street and airport bus around the corner. The room, although small, was very clean and beds were the most comfortable I've experienced in Europe. Reception staff were amazing, had my room ready when I arrived at 9:15 a.m. and even offered an upgrade from single to double! As others have mentioned, you would be best to skip the breakfast at hotel and try one of the many other options in this great city. Thank you to the Academy Plaza staff for a pleasant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Eileen tourist Mom
Business
NJ, USA
Dec 12, 2012

Daily City Excursion Perfect Central Location

Ideal for traveler determined to see Dublin by foot or readily accessible transportation modes-- bus/taxi/tram. Very supportive, accommodating staff vis a vis requests for extras (towels; adaptor), services (reservations; wake-up call; room maintenance; general info; early non-conforming check-in time; porter). Security is excellent. On-site amenities are convenient: restaurant was adequate; did not use salon or fitness room. Terrific nearby attractions-- museums (Writer's), art collections (Hugh Lane), shopping, casual and fine dining plus easy access to further away destinations. Room was small but efficiently storaged, well equipped with a large modern and stylishly finished bathroom. Minor design flaws included too narrow and too high (raised) tubs, otherwise very nice. Hair dryers a bit archaic, but better than none! In-room tea service/hot kettle awesome! Loud door slamming at any odd and very late hour was a bit off putting-- might doorstops solve this? Nice place-- might stay again and would recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Do not miss Hugh Lane collection. See Writer's museum if only for gorgeous interior architecture. Breathtaking : ).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greg2468
Business
South Carolina
Jul 30, 2012

Strong location, clean

Great staff, great rooms (when compared to other rooms/hotels in Dublin) - location is strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hip bar next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top