$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mojo54
Business
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great stay!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Perfect location for a middle-age couple trying to stay away from the maddening crowds of a rugby tournament weekend in Dublin! Responsive staff, well appointed rooms, a great price, and a great location made for a fantastic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarahU11
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 21, 2012

St. Patty's Weekend for 2

My husband and I just returned from a five day visit to Dublin and stayed at the Best Western the whole time. It was a good hotel - not extraordinary but it had everything we needed. The rooms are rather small, but that might be the case of all hotels in Dublin. We especially enjoyed the on-site bar on the first floor because it provided a nice, calm place to have a Guinness late in the evening when we didn't want to fight the crazy crowds in Temple Bar and lower O'Connell Street pubs. We didn't have any problem with noise, even on the holiday weekend. We did choose to skip housekeeping service on our second day there because we were running out the door and hadn't stored our valuables or prepared the room for housekeeping (I always like to tidy up a little before they come in). We encountered a housekeeper later who questioned us about it and didn't seem satisfied with our answer, so the next day our "Do Not Disturb" sign went missing and housekeeping was at the door by 8:30am wanting in. I'm not sure if that was a coincidence or not, but it was a little uncomfortable. For the most part everything was good. The hotel is in the upper O'Connell Street area "north of the Liffey" and looks a little dodgy, but we didn't have any problems. It is a decent walk to all of the main areas, attractions, and restaurants, but it wasn't too far. There are a couple of nearby pubs and fast food places or convenience stores, so if you need something quickly it's available. On the couple occasions we didn't want to walk we just hailed one of the twenty or so cabs sitting in front of the hotel and got to our destination in minutes. It was a good hotel for the price and I would recommend it to anyone on a budget who doesn't care about being in the middle of all the touristy areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

United States residents who plan to use their credit cards for most of the trip should be aware that European credit cards have chips in them now, and are not "swiped" in the machines. Because of that, many retailers didn't understand how to swipe our American Visa cards, and on a couple occasions we had to provide cash to pay because they wouldn't accept our cards.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerseyJosh
Business
Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Comfy spot in a great location

This Best Western is located right off O'Connell St. We took the AirCoach from the airport, got dropped off at Gresham Hotel and then walked two minutes to Best Western. Check in was quick. We had a twin bedroom. Most places in the US have two double beds but this one had two twins. Not a big deal. I think the location and price is what is a nice draw. If you are looking for a place to sleep and relax, and you want a prime location in Dublin and aren't big on luxury, go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rockville Centre, NY, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Great Location, Very Helpful Staff

Hotel staff very helpful: gave us a larger room upon request, made useful suggestions regarding plans and travel about the city and made reservations for us. Bus to/from airport stops directly across the street, as does the hop on/hop off bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nell75586
Business
Boston, MA
May 18, 2012

GREAT!!

The best thing about this hotel was the location. You walk out of the hotel and you are in the city center where all the buses are and the tourist offices, its awesome. And its so easy to get around especially walking, everything is so close. The hotel restaurant wasn't that good and it was really expensive. Especially the breakfast. We got little breakfast pastries at the SPAR at the corner of the hotel for 1euro each and it was more than enough so do not waste your money. And you can get a full Irish breakfast for 7 euro anywhere. The hotel staff were phenomenal!! We stayed here because we know what to expect with a Best Western being from the US, but it exceeded out expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Hop on Hop off double decker bus. Its 18 Euro and they say the pass works for two days only, but we used it all week because they never checked the dates on the tickets and they were all the same color so we used it as a bus to go to the other side of the city when it was raining. SO AWESOME!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanhou
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2012

Excellent location

The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel was a great location for getting to the city attractions and restaurants. The hop-on-hop-off bus stop was directly across the street for easy convenience. The staff was friendly and helpful with great suggestions for restaurants. Definitely, check out Flannagan Restaurant on O'Connel Street.........the best traditional Irish food. I would definitely stay at this Best Western again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty restaurants, from fast food to more formal dining, within walking distance of the hotel on O'Connel Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SC mom of 2
Business
Simpsonville, SC
Jul 30, 2012

Great Location

We were very satisfied with the location of the hotel. We were able to take the bus from the airport which was very inexpensive and be dropped off very close to the hotel (less than a minite walk)! It was also very convenient to the Dublin city bus stop. Lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby. Rooms and bathrooms were on the small side, but that's typical for European hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbrow77640
Business
Beaumont, TX
Jun 20, 2012

Nice hotel. Convenient location

Room was very nice. Furnishings updated and the bed was very comfortable. Within walking distance to Temple Bar and other tourist locations. The Airlink Bus to airport stopped right in front of the hotel which made it very convenient to get to and from the airport. A round trip ticket was 10 euros and well worth the price. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LITraveler
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 18, 2012

This Dublin hotel is in a very good location and within walking distance to the city centre.

The staff was pleasant and helpful. Most hotels have a small shop to buy amenities (which were at a minimum) as well as, if needed, some souvenirs. This hotel didn't have anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoebeck
Business
Manchester
Sep 25, 2012

Really good, central hotel

We stayed here for a weekend in September. The hotel's location is perfect. Right in the centre of Dublin and within walking distance to Temple Bar (10 mins). We arrived by the Airlink bus from the airport, the stop being right outside the hotel! Staff were helpful for any advice we needed. The rooms are not huge, but for a weekend stay we were only using the room to sleep and shower!. Our window looked out onto the main road and we didn't experience any noise at night. Would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kylemore restaurant/cafe a few blocks down on O'Connell Street had an excellent breakfast menu!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top