$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Israel
Jul 31, 2010

Best Western, Dublin

Room was comfortable but real small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
[...]
Business
London
Aug 5, 2010

Central location and value for money

Does what is says on the tin. No bells and whistles but a clean room, relatively smooth check in and out, good price and location make this a good place to stay on Business or for short leisure trips.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Farmer1996
Business
Norway
Oct 12, 2010

A clean place to stay

The location is perfect, spotless rooms, very clean and nice. Rooms at bit on the small side, but who cares, they're just to sleep in anyway. Breakfast is to expencive, we recommend you to buy breakfast out on a restaurant instead. Besides that, the best stay on the islands ever..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar district. Touristtrap, but a good one..

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
london
Nov 8, 2010

Great Hotel, good location

We found this hotel to be clean with very friendly staff, it was in a great location. I wouldn't have any hesitation in returning or recommending to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southampton
Jul 11, 2011

Lovely central Hotel

Hotel was in a good locatio, within walking distance of all of Dublins attractions that we wanted to go to.I upgraded for a small fee on arrival and our room was spacious and the bed was very large and comfortable. The only comment was that the quilt needed to be slightly bigger for the size of the bed. had a wonderful weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Jameson distillery 'Irish Shindig night' was a great night out and excellent value for money.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ms. Jane
Business
Richmond, Virginia
Sep 14, 2011

A stay in Irland

Just different. You have to use your hotel key to keep the lights on. And in the middle of the night who can find the key? The staff did not clean the room one day due due to our late flight, but left for the evening before it could be done. Great location and near everything. Do not try to book a side trip. It is best to find the local travel company to book because staff are not assigned for booking. The breakfast was $20.00 for the two of us, went it was $10.00 next door

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish traveler
Business
Cupertino, CA
Oct 10, 2011

Good value. Decent location

The location turned out to work out well. While not in the South of the river part of Dublin, it was a short walk to everything and very close to O Connel Street the main north south street. Overall very nice and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Case
Business
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Oct 13, 2011

The Academy Plaza

Our firt time trip to Ireland was great. We chose the Academy Plaza on a friend's recommendation and the fact that I wanted to be on O'Connell St. immediately and walking to all points of interest....Trinity College, Grafton St and Temple Bar areas, Abbey St, the Luas tram lines , AIB bank, the post office etc. The staff was extremely efficient, friendly and helpful....jumping right in and helping me book further train and bus connections. We did not take advantage of the Bistro Cafe or the Abacus Restaurant for we were out exploring the city but they looked well attended on a regular basis.We did eat breakfast on our departure date and that was great. The rooms were clean, the service prompt. Overall it was great and i'd have no problem returning. the only thing i noticed is that hallway noise late at night permeated through the door easily...but a minor inconvenience for most nights we were so tired we slept through it. Thanks for a fine experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down O'Connell street and cross the bridge/Liffey River that splits Dublin into North and South and spend a day at Trinity College (the library and the Book of Kells exhibition), shop at nearby Grafton St and seek foood of ann type and live Irish music in the Temple Bar area also close by.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sunflowerhiker
Business
Fremont, NH, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Good, Clean and reasonably priced

My family often stays at this hotel for its location. The staff have always been very helpful. This was the first time I stayed there myself and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. We were in a corner so I really heard no noise what so ever. It's also right of O'Connell street so you don't get much more central. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
atlfunstuff
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

great location

very good. the best location in dublin. close to the train, dart, shopping, and the buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top