$62 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
223 reviews
great girly days away

hotel was amazing for the price we paid we were all shocked how great hotel was keep up good workj See full review

  • the four wise monkeys
  • Oct 30, 2014
Great staff! Especially Lisa!

Very helpful reception staff! Great location. Building could possibly use a little updating, but... See full review

  • caseyvee
  • Oct 18, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (223)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
223 out of 223
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 12, 2010

Nice location

The hotel was near the center of the city. You could easily walk around the heart of Dublin. We did request a non-smoking room and were not given one. Other than that, it was a decent place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

About a 15 minute walk to the Temple Bar area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
champaign,illinois
Oct 25, 2010

great location

[...] re Best Western,Findlater Place, Dublin, We spent 4 nights at this hotel. When we went there, they did not have our booking. I had to retrieve it off the web for them.As a result, someone opend the door and was about to walk in while my wife and I were resting.[...] the breakfast was indentical every single day. While they had 4 meat dishes, every single one was pork or ham. Do they never get any Muslim or Jew guests.Otherwise, the staff were friendly and the location was excellentThank youSalim Rashid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling with my son
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 4, 2009

Good location in Dublin

The hotel was conveniently located for walking around Dublin. Our room, however, was above an outdoor bar that was very noisy until late at night. Otherwise, the hotel was a good experience for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Abbey Theater has great performances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The New Mrs. A
Business
Ringwood, NJ
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and Familiar

Hotel was good - very Americanized. We were put in a room first that was basically a king bed with a bathroom. A little cramped, but the bed was huge and super comfortable. We ended up having to move to another room due to a problem the hotel was having in the room above us with a water leak. The second room was much bigger - two queen beds, couch, chair, dresser. Bathroom was a big smaller, but overall good. Windows were great too. There was a bar directly below the hotel that was super lous at night, but once the windows were shut, you couldn't hear a thing. A/C didn't seem to work too well. Staff was superfriendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop-on, Hop-Off Dublin Bus stopped right in front on the hotel, the first stop. Good value and it gets you all over the city. Even when we got off on the other side of the city, it was not very far from the hotel. Closer to Trinity College than Temple Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pez
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Jul 19, 2011

OK, not really a destination

It was a gray, drizzly day and we were exhausted when we arrived. This place is a little hard to find beacause it's on a little mini-street near some big ones. Parking is down the street at a private car park, so make sure you get that information before you arrive. The place seemed popular with tour groups, and the flourescent-lit lobby was crowded with them. The room was small but well decorated, with a decent TV and weak-but-free Wifi. The doors also didn't close properly - in particular, you had to practically slam the bathroom door to get it to close, which is a problem in the middle of the night if you're not alone. As we were exhausted and hungry, we hoped for room service or something but the lobby staff didn't quite understand that nearly all the hotel options were closed in the 3:00 pm hour. (We were still confused about the Italian restaurant advertised, as it was just the hotel bar menu.) Avoid the place next door (The Living Room) if you want to eat - it is awful. Actually, it was difficult to find a good meal anywhere nearby if you're not a fan of Chinese food outside Asia. The neighborhood seemed a bit odd, though I can't quite say why. Those things, and the energy-saving motion sensor hallway lights, screamed "we're trying to save money" and were a bit creepy, but all in all, it's not a bad place if you just need a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Finally found a tasty snack at the Jury Inn's restaurant/bar, a few blocks away. The duck spring rolls rocked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gmp
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 14, 2009

prime location

I thought hotel location was great - could not be easier getting to/from hotel from airport. rooms were okay - nothing to write home about given this was a 4 star property. all staff were very nice/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrishMegz
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 5, 2011

Excellant Location!

This hotel is located right off of Upper O'Connell Street. You are within walking distance to most major Dublin attractions, including Temple Bar, Trinity College, Jameson Distillary, major shopping streets, and the Guinness Storehouse. Don't waste your money eating at the hotel. On and just off of O'Connell are a number of low cost restaurants and grocery stores to get your meals for cheap. I was able to eat all three meals and snacks for about 20 to 25 euro (or less) per day I was there. The hotel staff are wonderful. All were very welcoming and friendly. Anything I needed was addressed ASAP. My only real issue was that the rooms are SMALL. However, this is not uncommon for a Dublin hotel. I have stayed at two others in Dublin and this was comparable to those.. maybe a wee bit smaller, but this time it was just a single bed while the others had two beds in them... That could account for the slightly smaller size. This really didn't bother me as I wasn't exactly hanging out in my room all that much. Another great thing about the location of this hotel is you can hop on to the Airlink bus from the Airport and be dropped off and picked up right in front of the hotel. Also, the two city hop on-hop off bus tours (green bus and red bus) have their first stops right in front (or just around the corner) of the hotel. If you've never been to Dublin before, one of these is a must!! I believe they are both the same price and have almost identical routes. I have done both.. and I believe that they are both very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is just across the River Liffey.. Go for great Irish music, food, and entertainment. But be warned, at night this place is a bit roudy, and often considered unsafe. Just be cautious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dublin, Ireland
Oct 12, 2009

Great Location

Got us in early

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything to see in Dublin is close

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edison, NJ
Jul 27, 2009

Hotel Survey

The hotel is in a great location. The rooms were a bit small but very clean. The towels were a bit scratchy. There was no pool available and the fitness center was just cardio machines. The staff were friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Abrakebabra is a decent place to grab some late night food. They're all around and not too expensive. I recommend the curry chips!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On Holiday
Business
Colorado, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Decent location, good value

Clean, quiet and comfortable. Friendly staff. Easy to get on all most bus lines just down the street. Breakfast is not included. We probably should've added it. Finding a quick bite in the morning was harder than we thought it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a three-day bus pass. It is a great deal if you use it much. So is the Heritage Card. It gets you into many historical sites all over the Republic. We really got value from that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top