$100 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 20, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gman1123
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 5, 2013

Great location!

Hotel is located one block off of O'Connell Street, which is considered the town center. Room was well appointed and clean. Only complaint was noise-the doors to the rooms don't close quietly...so anytime someone leaves, the door "bangs" shut. Staff was pleasant. There is a luggage room available if you arrive early and room isn't ready. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RH50
Business
Oxfordshire
Apr 29, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel location excellent with direct and easy access from airport to hotel via the 747 Airlink bus. Many of the sights within walking distance. Room very comfortable and clean. Buffet breakfast very good - pay for it at reception as it's discounted. Only down side for me, as a light sleeper, was that our room was at the front of the hotel and music from the bar next door was quite loud. Apart from that we had a lovely 3 night stay and would happily return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ireland 2013
Business
chicago, il
May 26, 2013

Good location, clean rooms

Overall, we enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location of the hotel was good, and the rooms were clean. The only issue that we experienced was the noise level. The main door of each room doesn't close quietly. Every time somone from next-door rooms would leave or enter the room, the door was practically slammed creating a very loud sound, and it was so loud it would wake us up throughout the night/ early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magsymoo
Business
Bournemouth UK
May 27, 2013

Get away with friends

Very impressed with comfort and cleanliness of room. Fab bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernTransplant37
Business
South Carolina
Jun 3, 2013

Great location, good price

Just around the corner from O'Connell St., and feet away from both the Hop On/Hop Off bus and the Airport shuttle, this hotel is clean and quiet. We stayed here the night before our flight home and were perfectly happy with the accommodations. Free wifi also a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tash E
Business
UK
Jun 3, 2013

Perfect location

This hotel could not be better situated. The airport bus drops off and picks up right outside, the hop on hop off buses go from just round the corner, and it is within walking distance of great shops and pubs. The rooms are very clean and perfect for a break in this wonderful city. I would recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely stay here again if visiting Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish American
Business
Arizona
Jun 23, 2013

Friendly Place

I was in the hotel for 11 days. First visit was 2 days then went on a tour, returning to the hotel for 9 days. The staff was very helpful and accommodating of my unusual itinerary. The manager, Seamus, was particularly helpful. He held a small piece of luggage, got me into a room after an early arrival, and changed my room when I made a request. The rooms are small but clean and efficient. The location is the best; close to all buses. I stayed at 4 other hotels on my tour and I can tell you none of the others had the comfortable beds and pillows that I had at Academy! For as many people they have come and go, it's very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good places to eat close by. Everything from nice hotels to corner markets. There's a corner market 100 steps from the hotel. You can get good sandwiches made to order. You can get your coffee, pastry, cereal, fruit for breakfast. Cheap eats.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Izzarina
Business
New York
Jun 12, 2013

Comfort at a good price

The Academy Hotel was perfect for my needs while in Dublin. It was right off O'Connell St. which is the main thoroughfare in the city centre. The Hop on/Hop off bus was literally across the street, which was very convienient. The rooms were clean, and had everything we needed during our stay. And the staff was always very helpful. My only suggestion would be to make sure you've included the breakfast buffet because its not included automatically. They have a lot to offer at the buffet and it is worth the money, in my opinion. I would absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Svenska Steve
Business
Thomaston, Connecticut
Jul 20, 2013

Stuck in Dublin, happily

Through various circumstances that I won't go into here, I found myself stranded in Dublin for a few days--a completely unexpected and unscheduled stop--and am so glad it happened. I can hardly imagine a better place to be stuck this time of year, the streets full of life and music and activity well into the night. And my choice of hotel turned out to be just right, too. The Academy Plaza on Findlater Place, just off O'Connell street, was close to downtown and an easy walk to the river Liffey, where much of the city's life is clustered within a few blocks of the water. The hotel staff was warm, friendly, and helpful--the bartender was particularly informative, a natural story-teller and local historian, like so many of the people I met in Dublin--and the amenities were excellent. I could hardly be more satisfied with my stay. If you haven't seen Dublin, book a flight--and a room at the Academy Plaza Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

In Dublin, take the Hop On, Hop Off bus tour--a two-day ticket for 18 euros that allows you to step off at any of 23 locations and get on another bus whenever you like--and be sure to see Kilmainham Gaol and the Guinness Storehouse. Get a separate bus ticket to visit Glasnevin Cemetery, where many of Ireland's revolutionary heroes are buried, and take their wonderful tour. Walk around the Temple Bar area, south of the river. Enjoy the street music!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mthem
Business
Coventry
Aug 3, 2013

City break

A really comfortable room, well appointed and great value. The location is excellent for sightseeing yet is quieter than the hotels on the main road in the evening. This was the second time that we stayed here and will definitely do so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top