$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
233 reviews
Ireland

Breakfast does not start early enough. Early bird travelers will be disappointed with breakfast.... See full review

  • Pachu
  • Mar 20, 2015
short break

The staff on arrival where very helpful we where informed that if we paid for breakfast at check in... See full review

  • lesley t.
  • Mar 1, 2015
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
2:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
102 out of 233
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Helen G.
Business
N/A
Feb 18, 2015

great break but had to request a room change

Great hotel been twice now but on both occasions we were put in noisey rooms, first time above service road, second above taxi rank which sounded like a football match until 5am! In all fairness they moved me the next day but just aask for a quiet room upon check in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nanaleon
Business
London
Dec 15, 2014

Good location

Friendly staff. Excellent Location. Easy access to public transport and shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ideal location to explore the city. Good access to public transport and other part of the city.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Eilujk
Business
Uk
Sep 28, 2014

Great location

Nice clean hotel. Room on the small side but perfectly adequate. Great central location. Perfect for airport link 747. Good buffet breakfast. Friendly staff. Overall an enjoyable experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

M&l Chinese restaurant a great find!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sully475
Business
Shannon co Clare
Sep 15, 2014

Excellent hotel ,nothing was too much trouble

I will definitely stay at this hotel again ,I cannot fault it for anything ,it's a home from home ,after staying in France for a week ,it was a pleasure to sleep in a very comfortable bed after some of the beds in other hotel in Europe we stayed in ,thank you best western

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Always book ahead for accomadation ,especially this hotel incase it's booked out

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JNic
Business
New Jersey
Sep 9, 2014

No parking, tiny room, wi fi never worked

Would not return to this hotel! Have to park 2 blocks away and pay to leave it overnight. Staff never greeted us or offered to help with bags so we had to cart our luggage 2 blocks from parking garage. No breakfast included, smallest hotel room I have ever seen! Maybe 9x9 if that, can't even walk around the bed. Free wifi is included but never worked, I called desk and they said they would get it fixed but never did. Overpriced, bed & breakfast places we stayed at were MUCH better than this hotel which we spent much more on for those extra comforts we never got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

In city centre, best feature

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nickers
Business
Portsmouth UK
Aug 28, 2014

Fab Holiday Break

We arrived before 2pm so couldn't check in but when we came back later my husband mentioned to them it was my birthday the next day and was there any chance of an upgrade. We were upgraded to Executive Room which was lovely, very spacious and comfortable. There was a razor in the bathroom which was really handy as travelling from the UK with hand luggage only we couldn't bring that, so was happy to see that. Location was fantastic, couldn't of asked for anything better. Would definitely recommend this place to other. Staff very polite and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JessieKo
Business
Israel
Jul 20, 2014

Location, Location, Location

The hotel was just what it is described to be - modest, clean, efficient and in the heart of Dublin. Despite the crowded streets, the hotel was quiet. We paid for the breakfast which was well worth the price. We walked everywhere and didn't need transportation at all. A great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

For short trips out of town, use public transportation. To get to Galway take the all day trip recommended by the tourist agency.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Smithwick
Business
Chula Vista, CA>
May 28, 2014

Location, location, location!!!

We wanted a hotel with good value and great location. This was it. We were within walking distance of everything in Dublin. Great shopping, great restaurants and all of the sights. When we needed help with arrangements the staff was excellent. We got to know many of them because they were so personable and friendly. Room was a little small but the bed was the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel. We were there for 9 days and I wanted to bring the bed home. Would stay in again happily.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Flannigan's restaurant across the street and to the left has the best Irish food and not to expensive .Guinness pie, Irish Stew, Cottage pie, just to name a few. Delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JackieAF
Business
Bristol, England
May 27, 2014

Dublin city centre

Very busy hotel just off one of the main roads in Dublin. Good clean room, but very very small - could just about walk around the double bed. View looked out to a brick wall. Ok to stay at for one or two nights, but no more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BitByteBow
Business
London
Apr 30, 2014

Nice and Frendly

even though I spent most my time walking around Dublin the hotel was a joy to return too after a long walk. there is plenty of available seats to crash out in and comfortable. All staff that I met where friendly and helpful. I would use this hotel again in a shot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

look around before buying food prices and value very greatly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top