$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sassystrain
Northern Ireland
Nov 29, 2012

Great city location

Great city centre location and secure multi storey car park accross the street. Staff were very helpful and service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kingfisher restaurant great for breakfast, just one street away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sassystrain
Business
Northern Ireland
Nov 29, 2012

Great city location

Great city centre location and secure multi storey car park accross the street. Staff were very helpful and service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kingfisher restaurant great for breakfast, just one street away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle aged Doctor
Business
Birmingham England
Oct 21, 2012

Great Location

We used this mainly as a base for exploring Dublin on foot - most of main attractions within walking distance though buses trams etc a very short distance away - as is airport bus-stop and tourist office - staff there also very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable - shower but no bath - bar seemed nice - we didn't use hotel restaurants preferring to eat out and explore - whenever we had dealings with reception staff they were always polite and helpful - with recommendations for restaurants bars etc. Not the height of luxury but ideal for the base we wanted and no complaints for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple bar a reasonably short walk - initially the live music and lively atmosphere attractive and got wearying after a while - we preferred some of the bars off Grafton St - or walk to the end and turn left past the Green and keep going and you will pass lots of pubs still very lively but able to hold a conversation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sliante
Business
SFO
Oct 15, 2012

Location!

The airport Express bus stops right in front of the hotel! Just off O'Connel Street, in the North side of town. Tour buses start in front of the hotel as well. The sports bar/nightclub next door, The Living Room, just rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the tour bus to the Guiness Brewery. The last stop on the tour, you end up at the Gravity Bar, best views of Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zoebeck
Business
Manchester
Sep 25, 2012

Really good, central hotel

We stayed here for a weekend in September. The hotel's location is perfect. Right in the centre of Dublin and within walking distance to Temple Bar (10 mins). We arrived by the Airlink bus from the airport, the stop being right outside the hotel! Staff were helpful for any advice we needed. The rooms are not huge, but for a weekend stay we were only using the room to sleep and shower!. Our window looked out onto the main road and we didn't experience any noise at night. Would definitely stay here again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kylemore restaurant/cafe a few blocks down on O'Connell Street had an excellent breakfast menu!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LITraveler
Business
Long Island, NY
Aug 18, 2012

This Dublin hotel is in a very good location and within walking distance to the city centre.

The staff was pleasant and helpful. Most hotels have a small shop to buy amenities (which were at a minimum) as well as, if needed, some souvenirs. This hotel didn't have anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Greg2468
Business
South Carolina
Jul 30, 2012

Strong location, clean

Great staff, great rooms (when compared to other rooms/hotels in Dublin) - location is strong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great hip bar next door.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SC mom of 2
Business
Simpsonville, SC
Jul 30, 2012

Great Location

We were very satisfied with the location of the hotel. We were able to take the bus from the airport which was very inexpensive and be dropped off very close to the hotel (less than a minite walk)! It was also very convenient to the Dublin city bus stop. Lots of great restaurants and shopping nearby. Rooms and bathrooms were on the small side, but that's typical for European hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanhou
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2012

Excellent location

The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel was a great location for getting to the city attractions and restaurants. The hop-on-hop-off bus stop was directly across the street for easy convenience. The staff was friendly and helpful with great suggestions for restaurants. Definitely, check out Flannagan Restaurant on O'Connel Street.........the best traditional Irish food. I would definitely stay at this Best Western again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty restaurants, from fast food to more formal dining, within walking distance of the hotel on O'Connel Street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbrow77640
Business
Beaumont, TX
Jun 20, 2012

Nice hotel. Convenient location

Room was very nice. Furnishings updated and the bed was very comfortable. Within walking distance to Temple Bar and other tourist locations. The Airlink Bus to airport stopped right in front of the hotel which made it very convenient to get to and from the airport. A round trip ticket was 10 euros and well worth the price. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bwana
Business
Brentwood TN
Jun 1, 2012

Ok for one night

Our room was very small but very clean and seem up to date. There was no bars of soap just liquid dispensers. There was no facial tissue but toilet paper. The TV had a warning that if you used it you would have to pay a fee of around 15 Euros. I asked for a receipt at check out to remind me what I paid but the desk clerk said I would have to go back to the booking agent. We are glad we only had one night here. It was just off O'Conner and in the middle of the busiest part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Church- A large dining room in a old church. Great food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top