$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
233 out of 233
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sliante
Business
SFO
Oct 15, 2012

Location!

The airport Express bus stops right in front of the hotel! Just off O'Connel Street, in the North side of town. Tour buses start in front of the hotel as well. The sports bar/nightclub next door, The Living Room, just rocks!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the tour bus to the Guiness Brewery. The last stop on the tour, you end up at the Gravity Bar, best views of Dublin.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Middle aged Doctor
Business
Birmingham England
Oct 21, 2012

Great Location

We used this mainly as a base for exploring Dublin on foot - most of main attractions within walking distance though buses trams etc a very short distance away - as is airport bus-stop and tourist office - staff there also very helpful. Room was clean and comfortable - shower but no bath - bar seemed nice - we didn't use hotel restaurants preferring to eat out and explore - whenever we had dealings with reception staff they were always polite and helpful - with recommendations for restaurants bars etc. Not the height of luxury but ideal for the base we wanted and no complaints for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Temple bar a reasonably short walk - initially the live music and lively atmosphere attractive and got wearying after a while - we preferred some of the bars off Grafton St - or walk to the end and turn left past the Green and keep going and you will pass lots of pubs still very lively but able to hold a conversation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jimbo and Vicky
Business
Georgia, USA
Dec 23, 2012

Great location

This is a great hotel for the price. The staff were super nice and the room clean. Excellent location off of O'Connell St. We would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Student2015
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Jan 27, 2013

Great Weekend Get Away

This hotel is very close to the center of Dublin. It is a 10 minute walk to the Temple Bar area and other shopping around the town. It is very easy to get back and forth from the airport to the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ShawnGQ
Business
New York
Feb 2, 2013

Great Location

Hotel is in a great location. Right next to O'Connell street, but just off on a side enough to avoid the noise of the street for some peace and quite. Even better, right across from the hotel's front door is a bus stop for both the Airlink Bus which services a shuttle to the Dublin airport and the Dublin hop-on and hop-off bus (which is a must to truly see the city). Hotel rooms were a bit small but had very comfortable beds. Other than the small size, the room was very clean and perfect for the price. Staff was great and very accommodating. They were more than willing to go out of the way to answer any question that I had. On my trip, I forgot to bring an outlet converter and the staff had several available for my use for a 10 Euro deposit. My only complaint would be the lobby and the outside of the building. Initially, the facade of building made me question whether I booked the right hotel because it seemed a bit dirty. Moreover, the lobby was a bit grungy and very cold considering the winter weather outside. Other than this, I had a great stay, would come again and would recommend this place to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you're coming to Dublin for the first time or want to see this city more book a Airlink ticket to transport you to and from the hotel and Dublin Bus hop-on, hop-off ticket. Both services have bus pick-ups and drop-offs right outside the hotel. A discount is available if you purchase the bus service tickets together.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ruthy50
Business
Sunderland England
Feb 7, 2013

good location

Room clean and bed comfortable good location but away from busy area of dublin. Booked breakfast on arrival wish we hadnt. poor quality hot food. Hot food was luke warm and not very tasty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
meuvy
Business
VANCOUVER, CANADA
Jan 28, 2013

Enjoyable stay

My experience was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was in a great location. The room was very clean. They had free internet which was a bonus. The hotel was very modern looking. All in all it was a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

This location was ideal. It was close to the cinemas, shopping, restaurants, pubs, etc. It was also a short walk to Temple Bar area.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Danielgt
Business
Swindon
Feb 17, 2013

Brilliant break in Dublin

The hotel was perfect straight off the o'connell street stop and directly outside was the pick up for the hop on hop off tour and the coach back to the airport. It was a lovely hotel with free wifi which is always really helpful, the staff were lovely and willing to find out any information you asked if they didn't know the answer already. I can recommend this hotel and whilst I would probably rate the room at more 3 star than 4 star it was lovely, clean and well looked after. Basically there is nothing I would complain about and happily suggest you think of this hotel should you look to stay in Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bmoy
Business
Denver
Feb 16, 2013

Great location with clean, comfortable room

This hotel is in a great location, with hop on hop off bus across the street and airport bus around the corner. The room, although small, was very clean and beds were the most comfortable I've experienced in Europe. Reception staff were amazing, had my room ready when I arrived at 9:15 a.m. and even offered an upgrade from single to double! As others have mentioned, you would be best to skip the breakfast at hotel and try one of the many other options in this great city. Thank you to the Academy Plaza staff for a pleasant stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Born on StPatricks day
Business
London
Feb 9, 2013

great Dad and Daughter stay

2 nights twin room in comfortable hotel made a great base for a 3 day trip to Dublin. Airport Bus and City tour bus stops just outside and good to walk down O'Connell Street to river and Temple Bar areas. Impressed how friendly Dubliners are and enjoyed evening at nearby Celt Pub in Talbot street Pub. City Bus tour great for visits to Guinness and StPatrick Cathedral plus west Dublin. We'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top