$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 30, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
215 reviews
great place

This hotel is in a perfect place best of both worlds in a quiet area but close enough to the main... See full review

  • radvan
  • Apr 14, 2014
loved it so much, stayed here on return trip

Just love this place. Staff is excellent, rooms are clean and comfortable (standard European small... See full review

  • TravelingAC
  • Apr 5, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

Hotel Map

53.3525 -6.2598
Area served
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is situated just off O'Connell Street.It is just a short stroll from the best international shopping,Temple bar,Trinity college,St.Stephens Green, galleries,IFSC business district,and famous city sights.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The AIRCOACH bus service stops just beside the hotel and operates to the airport approx every 15 minutes. The service runs 24 hours, every day. A taxi from the airport should cost approximately 25.Driving time to hotel is 20 minutes and distance is 10 kilometres. A Taxi rank is located within 1 minute of the hotel. Both mainline railway stations, and the DART (electric train service) are easily reached, with just an eight minute stroll to both Connolly and Tara St. stations. The DART is the ideal mode of transport for guests looking to explore the picturesque east coast while it also runs through Dun Laoghaire making it easy for tourists travelling by boat to reach the city centre. It is only a 6 minute walk from the hotel to Dublin's central bus station, Busaras, where all provincial bus services from Dublin depart. The majority of Dublin buses stop near to the hotel, on O'Connell Street or the surrounding area.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeanhou
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 23, 2012

Excellent location

The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel was a great location for getting to the city attractions and restaurants. The hop-on-hop-off bus stop was directly across the street for easy convenience. The staff was friendly and helpful with great suggestions for restaurants. Definitely, check out Flannagan Restaurant on O'Connel Street.........the best traditional Irish food. I would definitely stay at this Best Western again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are plenty restaurants, from fast food to more formal dining, within walking distance of the hotel on O'Connel Street.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cbrow77640
Beaumont, TX
Jun 20, 2012

Nice hotel. Convenient location

Room was very nice. Furnishings updated and the bed was very comfortable. Within walking distance to Temple Bar and other tourist locations. The Airlink Bus to airport stopped right in front of the hotel which made it very convenient to get to and from the airport. A round trip ticket was 10 euros and well worth the price. Would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bwana
Brentwood TN
Jun 1, 2012

Ok for one night

Our room was very small but very clean and seem up to date. There was no bars of soap just liquid dispensers. There was no facial tissue but toilet paper. The TV had a warning that if you used it you would have to pay a fee of around 15 Euros. I asked for a receipt at check out to remind me what I paid but the desk clerk said I would have to go back to the booking agent. We are glad we only had one night here. It was just off O'Conner and in the middle of the busiest part of town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Church- A large dining room in a old church. Great food and service.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nell75586
Boston, MA
May 18, 2012

GREAT!!

The best thing about this hotel was the location. You walk out of the hotel and you are in the city center where all the buses are and the tourist offices, its awesome. And its so easy to get around especially walking, everything is so close. The hotel restaurant wasn't that good and it was really expensive. Especially the breakfast. We got little breakfast pastries at the SPAR at the corner of the hotel for 1euro each and it was more than enough so do not waste your money. And you can get a full Irish breakfast for 7 euro anywhere. The hotel staff were phenomenal!! We stayed here because we know what to expect with a Best Western being from the US, but it exceeded out expectations!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Do the Hop on Hop off double decker bus. Its 18 Euro and they say the pass works for two days only, but we used it all week because they never checked the dates on the tickets and they were all the same color so we used it as a bus to go to the other side of the city when it was raining. SO AWESOME!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
daubs491
Lawrence, KS, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Good value and location

We really liked our room, which was comfortable and very clean. I was disappointed that the wi-fi in the room was spotty. A few nights were a bit like sleeping in a college dorm because people were yelling and slamming doors late into the night but most of the time this was not a big problem. We did not have the €9-15 breakfast but had dinner at the restaurant and it was very good. We enjoyed the location. Sites were within walking distance with shopping and bus stops in the area. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall, a good stay and I would recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Madigan's on O'Connell Street had very good food and service. A very short walk from the hotel.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Rockville Centre, NY, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Great Location, Very Helpful Staff

Hotel staff very helpful: gave us a larger room upon request, made useful suggestions regarding plans and travel about the city and made reservations for us. Bus to/from airport stops directly across the street, as does the hop on/hop off bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JerseyJosh
Cherry Hill, NJ, USA
Apr 12, 2012

Comfy spot in a great location

This Best Western is located right off O'Connell St. We took the AirCoach from the airport, got dropped off at Gresham Hotel and then walked two minutes to Best Western. Check in was quick. We had a twin bedroom. Most places in the US have two double beds but this one had two twins. Not a big deal. I think the location and price is what is a nice draw. If you are looking for a place to sleep and relax, and you want a prime location in Dublin and aren't big on luxury, go here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
WittyW
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 11, 2012

Visitor Beware!

I stayed at the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel on two separate occassions in one week. For both nights, I booked standard accommodations with two twin beds. The first night the accommodations were comfortable. However, the second time I stayed, I did not check in until 9:00pm. It became evident that the hotel provides rooms on a first come, first-served basis. I was provided with room 001. BEWARE! Do not accept this room, find another hotel! The room is in the basement. The two twin beds make it nearly impossible to move about the room. There is no telephone or tea/coffeemaking amenities. If it's cold, there's no obvious source of heat, just a wall-mounted air-conditioner. Additionally, Room 001 is located just next to the staff rooms. Everytime someone enters or leaves that room, you can hear and feel the door slam. If there are people in the staff rooms, you can even overhear there conversations. I stayed on a Saturday night and there is a nightclub next door. My father and I had a terrible time sleeping with the loud reverberations of the bass from the nightclub. When we went up to the front desk to complain, the staff were rather unhelpful, did not seem to care. The hotel was booked except for one room which was, according to the reception, worse than Room 001. As a result, we were offered a free breakfast for the next morning. When we arrived, the greeter asked for our room number, shrugged, and commented that we must not have slept well. The entire staff knows how terrible Room 001 is, but generally do not care. I urge travelers to beware. Room 001 is the dungeon of the Best Wester Academy Plaza. Do not accept this room (or any other in the basement). But if you are lucky, you will stay in one of the upper floors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is conveniently located in front of Dublin's Airlink bus to and from the airport. Also, Dublin Tours Hop-On Hop-Off Tours pick up directly in front of the hotel. This hotel is definitely a great location for getting around Dublin.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SarahU11
Dallas, TX, USA
Mar 21, 2012

St. Patty's Weekend for 2

My husband and I just returned from a five day visit to Dublin and stayed at the Best Western the whole time. It was a good hotel - not extraordinary but it had everything we needed. The rooms are rather small, but that might be the case of all hotels in Dublin. We especially enjoyed the on-site bar on the first floor because it provided a nice, calm place to have a Guinness late in the evening when we didn't want to fight the crazy crowds in Temple Bar and lower O'Connell Street pubs. We didn't have any problem with noise, even on the holiday weekend. We did choose to skip housekeeping service on our second day there because we were running out the door and hadn't stored our valuables or prepared the room for housekeeping (I always like to tidy up a little before they come in). We encountered a housekeeper later who questioned us about it and didn't seem satisfied with our answer, so the next day our "Do Not Disturb" sign went missing and housekeeping was at the door by 8:30am wanting in. I'm not sure if that was a coincidence or not, but it was a little uncomfortable. For the most part everything was good. The hotel is in the upper O'Connell Street area "north of the Liffey" and looks a little dodgy, but we didn't have any problems. It is a decent walk to all of the main areas, attractions, and restaurants, but it wasn't too far. There are a couple of nearby pubs and fast food places or convenience stores, so if you need something quickly it's available. On the couple occasions we didn't want to walk we just hailed one of the twenty or so cabs sitting in front of the hotel and got to our destination in minutes. It was a good hotel for the price and I would recommend it to anyone on a budget who doesn't care about being in the middle of all the touristy areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

United States residents who plan to use their credit cards for most of the trip should be aware that European credit cards have chips in them now, and are not "swiped" in the machines. Because of that, many retailers didn't understand how to swipe our American Visa cards, and on a couple occasions we had to provide cash to pay because they wouldn't accept our cards.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mojo54
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great stay!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Perfect location for a middle-age couple trying to stay away from the maddening crowds of a rugby tournament weekend in Dublin! Responsive staff, well appointed rooms, a great price, and a great location made for a fantastic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search