$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2014 Check-out: Apr 30, 2014

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
Findlater Place, Dublin,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
205 reviews
great place

This hotel is in a perfect place best of both worlds in a quiet area but close enough to the main... See full review

  • radvan
  • Apr 14, 2014
loved it so much, stayed here on return trip

Just love this place. Staff is excellent, rooms are clean and comfortable (standard European small... See full review

  • TravelingAC
  • Apr 5, 2014
Rest in comfort a stone's throw from Dublin's highlights
Best Western Premier Academy Plaza Hotel sits just off O'Connell Street, at the very heart of Dublin. The hotel is within walking distance of Trinity College, the city's cultural quarter, Temple Bar, the Guinness brewery and other major attractions. It's also a short walk from excellent shopping and the city's popular restaurant and bar scene. The Academy Plaza was recently expanded to include three restaurants and conference facilities. All rooms and suites have been tastefully redecorated in a cozy, modern style using leather, wood and warm colors.
Highlights
  • Centrally located hotel a stone's throw from Trinity College, Temple Bar and other attractions/shopping
  • Hotel's three restaurants offer fine dining or pub atmosphere
  • Spa and gym
  • Games room
Rooms

Academy Plaza Hotel boasts 235 bedrooms and suites able to accommodate everyone from singles to families. Rich shades of red and cream and solid wood decor along with black leather headboards and marble bathrooms give rooms a warm, contemporary feel. Super-comfort beds, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Rooms also have air-conditioning, a laptop-size safe, hair dryer and iron. Deluxe suites have a separate lounge area to relax in.

Features

The Academy Plaza offers guests three dining choices: traditional Irish fare from Oscar's, upscale Asian cuisine at Abacus and bistro-style dining at Sir Harry's Bar and Brasserie. Guests can make use of the hotel's gym and games room and Spa Salon offers a variety of relaxation treatments. Free Wi-Fi access is available, as well as a complimentary Internet desk and 24-hour desk service and room service. The Academy Plaza has facilities for the disabled, and rooms for the handicapped are available. The hotel has 5 meeting rooms and can provide a full complement of AV equipment for conferences and business meetings.

Transportation
  • 24-hour airport bus service
  • train service from Connolly or Tara Street stations
  • Local bus service on O'Connell Street
  • Taxi service
Attractions
  • Temple Bar (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • Trinity College (0.6 mi / 0.9 km)
  • St. Stephen's Green (0.9 mi / 1.5 km)
  • Bank of Ireland Arts Center (0.5 mi / 0.8 km)
  • St. Michan's Church (0.7 mi / 1.2 km)
  • Chester Beatty Library (0.8 mi / 1.3 km)
  • Dublin Castle (0.7 mi / 1.1 km)
  • Guinness Storehouse (1.3 mi / 2.1 km)
Business
  • 13 meeting rooms covering 8,900 square feet
  • 5 meeting rooms, capacity for 225 people
  • Close to International Financial Services Center (IFSC)

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel Rooms

Standard Double
The Room offers a Double Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.
Twin Room
The Room offers a Twin Bed with individually controlled air-conditioning,super-comfort beds,fully interactive flat screen tv,laptop sized safe,complimentary wireless internet access,iron and ironing board,marble finish bathroom with hair-dryer,tea/coffee,direct dial telephone,integrated work-desk area.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
In-Room Safe
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Map

53.3525 -6.2598
Area served
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is situated just off O'Connell Street.It is just a short stroll from the best international shopping,Temple bar,Trinity college,St.Stephens Green, galleries,IFSC business district,and famous city sights.
Nearby airports
Dublin International Airport.
Area description
The AIRCOACH bus service stops just beside the hotel and operates to the airport approx every 15 minutes. The service runs 24 hours, every day. A taxi from the airport should cost approximately 25.Driving time to hotel is 20 minutes and distance is 10 kilometres. A Taxi rank is located within 1 minute of the hotel. Both mainline railway stations, and the DART (electric train service) are easily reached, with just an eight minute stroll to both Connolly and Tara St. stations. The DART is the ideal mode of transport for guests looking to explore the picturesque east coast while it also runs through Dun Laoghaire making it easy for tourists travelling by boat to reach the city centre. It is only a 6 minute walk from the hotel to Dublin's central bus station, Busaras, where all provincial bus services from Dublin depart. The majority of Dublin buses stop near to the hotel, on O'Connell Street or the surrounding area.

Nearby points of interest

  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Gate Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • James Joyce Centre: 0.1 mi
  • Findlater's Church: 0.2 mi
  • Institute of International and European Affairs: 0.2 mi
  • Anna Livia monument: 0.2 mi
  • Parnell Square: 0.2 mi
  • James Joyce Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Spire of Dublin: 0.2 mi
  • Upper Gardiner Street: 0.2 mi
  • Moore Street: 0.2 mi
  • Daniel O'Connell Statue: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin Writers' Museum: 0.2 mi
  • Dublin City Gallery The Hugh Lane: 0.2 mi
  • Belvedere College: 0.2 mi
  • General Post Office: 0.2 mi
  • Arnotts: 0.3 mi
  • National Wax Museum: 0.3 mi
  • Mountjoy Square: 0.3 mi
  • Abbey Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Kings Inns: 0.3 mi
  • O'Connell Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • Saint Francis Xavier Church: 0.4 mi
  • Butt Bridge: 0.4 mi
  • The City Arts Centre: 0.4 mi
  • The Custom House: 0.4 mi
  • The Icon Factory: 0.4 mi
  • Henrietta Street: 0.4 mi
  • National Leprechaun Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Connolly station: 0.4 mi
  • The Oliver Cornet Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Ha'penny Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Talbot Memorial Bridge: 0.5 mi
  • Westmoreland Street: 0.5 mi
  • Monster Truck Gallery and Studio: 0.5 mi
  • Temple Bar Gallery and Studios: 0.5 mi
  • Original Print Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Graphic Studio Gallery: 0.5 mi
  • Parliament House: 0.5 mi
  • Button Factory: 0.5 mi
  • National Photographic Archive: 0.5 mi
  • College Green: 0.6 mi
  • University of Dublin: 0.6 mi
  • Weingreen Museum of Biblical Antiquities: 0.6 mi
  • Gaiety School of Acting: 0.6 mi
  • The Ark: 0.6 mi

Dining

Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie
Situated to the right of the lobby and reception area, Sir Harry's Brasserie has a tantalising menu of traditional dishes and contemporary international cuisine created by our renowned head chef. Lunch is served from 12.00pm to 2.00pm and dinner from 6.00pm to 9.00pm, seven days a week. The brand new contemporary styled lounge / bar has been stylishly furnished in a modern and cosmopolitan design and is Quickly becoming one of the most fashionable and popular places in Dublin city. In part of the bar, a breathtaking chandelier feature hangs from the 'cloud filled' ceiling, which at night turns into an enchanting blanket of twinkling stars.
Salon
The Treatment Room at BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel is located on the lower ground floor. This beauty & Massage Salon gives guests the option of treating themselves to some of the latest beauty and relaxation techniques from our expert beautician and masseuse. Whether you've spent a hard days shopping in the capital or a busy day working, why not spend the evening relaxing with a sensual massage or being beautified for a night on the town in the hotel's beauty salon. skin and body care products with an array of treatments available
Fitness Room
Our guest use fitness room is fully kitted out with state-of-the-art cardiovascular equipment, allowing you to keep your mind and body fit. Add some fun to your stay and visit the hotel games room.
Oscar's Restaurant
Situated next to Sir Harry's Bar & Brasserie, our elegant Oscars restaurant is open for breakfast from 7.00am to 10.00am Monday to Friday and from 7.30am to 11.00am on Saturdays and Sundays. Oscars can also be spaciously laid out to cater for groups or private dinners. Our chef's menus combine interesting new styles of cuisine along with many of the traditional Irish favourites. Each dish is carefully prepared and served within a relaxed and congenial atmosphere. An extensive wine list is available to compliment your meal.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (205)

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
205 out of 205
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
mojo54
Cape Cod, MA, USA
Feb 27, 2012

Great stay!

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Perfect location for a middle-age couple trying to stay away from the maddening crowds of a rugby tournament weekend in Dublin! Responsive staff, well appointed rooms, a great price, and a great location made for a fantastic weekend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
Eireaffinity
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Hotel and Awesome Location!

I stayed at the hotel initially in February 2010 and am so glad I returned in February 2012. What a great deal! The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel had everything at a reasonable price. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly! The room was contemporary, quiet, and clean. The mobility accessible bathroom is excellent and shower stalls have improved drainage from my first visit, which is appreciated. Dinners and drinks in the hotel's Sir Harry's Bistro were excellent and a wonderful way to end a busy day of sight seeing. The Best Western Plus Academy's best point is location, location, location! The hotel is just off O'Connell Street. Restaurants, pubs, Temple Bar and the City Hop on Hop Off Bus Tours are within walking distance. Whenever I return to Dublin, The Best Western Plus Academy Hotel will be at the top of my list for accommodation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Samira
San Franciso
Jan 9, 2012

Location very good

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is the best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Portsmouth, UK
Jan 4, 2012

Good place to stay whilst seeing Dublin

Stayed here for New Year in Dublin; hotel has a good location (10 minute walk to central shopping district) at a very reasonable price. Room's are a little on the small side and for some reason my TV was very high up adjacent to the bed (as opposed to opposite it) which I would lead to neck strain if the TV was watched in bed. Their games room shouldn't be plural as there is only one game (table football) and there is no pool. Bottom line though, would I stay again? Yes as it answered what it needed to: a clean, smart hotel, close to Dublin centre at a affordable price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar in Temple Bar for Guiness and Oysters.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Ikle
Ireland
Dec 16, 2011

Christmas escape.

Stayed for two nights in this hotel. We have stayed here a number of times and dined in the bistro. Staff very helpful making every effort to cater for our needs. Food to be enjoyed and a relaxed atmosphere. Will stay again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
atlfunstuff
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 28, 2011

great location

very good. the best location in dublin. close to the train, dart, shopping, and the buses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
sunflowerhiker
Fremont, NH, USA
Nov 9, 2011

Good, Clean and reasonably priced

My family often stays at this hotel for its location. The staff have always been very helpful. This was the first time I stayed there myself and was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. We were in a corner so I really heard no noise what so ever. It's also right of O'Connell street so you don't get much more central. I would stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
santa and snowflake
Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Oct 29, 2011

had a great experience

Locaion was great. Staff was very friendly and worked hard to please. Room size was small but well appointed, modern and very clean. Bar service was good but food was poor. Morning breakfast well worth the price and good. Wi Fi worked well thoughout hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Case
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Oct 13, 2011

The Academy Plaza

Our firt time trip to Ireland was great. We chose the Academy Plaza on a friend's recommendation and the fact that I wanted to be on O'Connell St. immediately and walking to all points of interest....Trinity College, Grafton St and Temple Bar areas, Abbey St, the Luas tram lines , AIB bank, the post office etc. The staff was extremely efficient, friendly and helpful....jumping right in and helping me book further train and bus connections. We did not take advantage of the Bistro Cafe or the Abacus Restaurant for we were out exploring the city but they looked well attended on a regular basis.We did eat breakfast on our departure date and that was great. The rooms were clean, the service prompt. Overall it was great and i'd have no problem returning. the only thing i noticed is that hallway noise late at night permeated through the door easily...but a minor inconvenience for most nights we were so tired we slept through it. Thanks for a fine experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down O'Connell street and cross the bridge/Liffey River that splits Dublin into North and South and spend a day at Trinity College (the library and the Book of Kells exhibition), shop at nearby Grafton St and seek foood of ann type and live Irish music in the Temple Bar area also close by.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
Irish traveler
Cupertino, CA
Oct 10, 2011

Good value. Decent location

The location turned out to work out well. While not in the South of the river part of Dublin, it was a short walk to everything and very close to O Connel Street the main north south street. Overall very nice and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top