$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eireaffinity
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 13, 2012

Great Hotel and Awesome Location!

I stayed at the hotel initially in February 2010 and am so glad I returned in February 2012. What a great deal! The Best Western Plus Academy Plaza Hotel had everything at a reasonable price. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly! The room was contemporary, quiet, and clean. The mobility accessible bathroom is excellent and shower stalls have improved drainage from my first visit, which is appreciated. Dinners and drinks in the hotel's Sir Harry's Bistro were excellent and a wonderful way to end a busy day of sight seeing. The Best Western Plus Academy's best point is location, location, location! The hotel is just off O'Connell Street. Restaurants, pubs, Temple Bar and the City Hop on Hop Off Bus Tours are within walking distance. Whenever I return to Dublin, The Best Western Plus Academy Hotel will be at the top of my list for accommodation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David and Christine
Business
Ottawa, Canada
May 30, 2013

Great Location

Just off the main drag (O'Connell Street) we were ideally suited for the hop-on hop-off bus and for walking around. Many restaurants and shops close by. Good value for what we paid. Also on the airport bus circuit. We paid for breakfast and had a good deal for our four night stay. Would recommend this place for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magsymoo
Business
Bournemouth UK
May 27, 2013

Get away with friends

Very impressed with comfort and cleanliness of room. Fab bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ireland 2013
Business
chicago, il
May 26, 2013

Good location, clean rooms

Overall, we enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location of the hotel was good, and the rooms were clean. The only issue that we experienced was the noise level. The main door of each room doesn't close quietly. Every time somone from next-door rooms would leave or enter the room, the door was practically slammed creating a very loud sound, and it was so loud it would wake us up throughout the night/ early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
missouri usa
Business
missouri usa
May 17, 2013

great location and nice hotel with a wonderful bed.

Great location close to temple bar and anything else around city center you want to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gman1123
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 5, 2013

Great location!

Hotel is located one block off of O'Connell Street, which is considered the town center. Room was well appointed and clean. Only complaint was noise-the doors to the rooms don't close quietly...so anytime someone leaves, the door "bangs" shut. Staff was pleasant. There is a luggage room available if you arrive early and room isn't ready. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJ DEE
Business
Somewhere in England
Apr 30, 2013

well worth booking

The reception staff were excellent and always helpful. We were able to book in early (9am) and leave our bags and were able to collect them late on departure night. Whatever the negative comments re breakfast ignore them and go for it. Book the night before and 2 people get it for only 15 Euros in total. A bargain. Location pretty good also.We'll definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely do the hop on tour buses to get your bearings with the plus tat some of the commentaries on the attractions given by the drivers are hilarious.

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RH50
Business
Oxfordshire
Apr 29, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel location excellent with direct and easy access from airport to hotel via the 747 Airlink bus. Many of the sights within walking distance. Room very comfortable and clean. Buffet breakfast very good - pay for it at reception as it's discounted. Only down side for me, as a light sleeper, was that our room was at the front of the hotel and music from the bar next door was quite loud. Apart from that we had a lovely 3 night stay and would happily return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thinbod
Business
Aptos, CA
Apr 24, 2013

Awesome Irsh experience

Fantastic! I picked this hotel for location and good reviews - worked out great! The staff were especially helpful in guiding us to our shuttles for the airport and guided tours. Breakfasts, if you wanted something quick were great and plentiful. Rooms are pretty small and never received any washcloths but did get clean towels each day; otherwise everything was the best! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Living Room bar/grill is next door to hotel. Large bar plus even larger beer garden (if you need to smoke) with 40 ft TV. Great for watching soccer games and downing a few Guiness'. Food is tasty and alot for your money!

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikki
Business
Finland
Apr 11, 2013

Nice joint for good price

The staff is very kindly and helpfful, especially in reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WJS Jr
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 9, 2013

Dublin tour

Great location, very clean friendly staff, great value. I would not recommend paying for breakfast, I think it is overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top