$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gman1123
Business
Minneapolis, MN
May 5, 2013

Great location!

Hotel is located one block off of O'Connell Street, which is considered the town center. Room was well appointed and clean. Only complaint was noise-the doors to the rooms don't close quietly...so anytime someone leaves, the door "bangs" shut. Staff was pleasant. There is a luggage room available if you arrive early and room isn't ready. I will stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PJ DEE
Business
Somewhere in England
Apr 30, 2013

well worth booking

The reception staff were excellent and always helpful. We were able to book in early (9am) and leave our bags and were able to collect them late on departure night. Whatever the negative comments re breakfast ignore them and go for it. Book the night before and 2 people get it for only 15 Euros in total. A bargain. Location pretty good also.We'll definitely stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Definitely do the hop on tour buses to get your bearings with the plus tat some of the commentaries on the attractions given by the drivers are hilarious.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
RH50
Business
Oxfordshire
Apr 29, 2013

weekend getaway

Hotel location excellent with direct and easy access from airport to hotel via the 747 Airlink bus. Many of the sights within walking distance. Room very comfortable and clean. Buffet breakfast very good - pay for it at reception as it's discounted. Only down side for me, as a light sleeper, was that our room was at the front of the hotel and music from the bar next door was quite loud. Apart from that we had a lovely 3 night stay and would happily return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Thinbod
Business
Aptos, CA
Apr 24, 2013

Awesome Irsh experience

Fantastic! I picked this hotel for location and good reviews - worked out great! The staff were especially helpful in guiding us to our shuttles for the airport and guided tours. Breakfasts, if you wanted something quick were great and plentiful. Rooms are pretty small and never received any washcloths but did get clean towels each day; otherwise everything was the best! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The Living Room bar/grill is next door to hotel. Large bar plus even larger beer garden (if you need to smoke) with 40 ft TV. Great for watching soccer games and downing a few Guiness'. Food is tasty and alot for your money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mikki
Business
Finland
Apr 11, 2013

Nice joint for good price

The staff is very kindly and helpfful, especially in reception.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WJS Jr
Business
Springfield, IL
Mar 9, 2013

Dublin tour

Great location, very clean friendly staff, great value. I would not recommend paying for breakfast, I think it is overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donnie A
Business
Glasgow .
Mar 6, 2013

Away weekenders

Overall the hotel was excellent . The only downside was shouting and disturbance in the surrounding rooms . On average sleeping was possible from 2 -3 am onwards . Staff in the hotel were helpful and considerate and the hotel location was excellent .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Train trip to Dun - Laoghire was a highlight .

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nick spontaneous traveler
Business
Charlottesville, VA
Feb 28, 2013

Great for just me!

Had a great time. The staff was excellent and very friendly. I didn't have a toothbrush, told the lady at the front desk. She had one sent right up for free. Location was great. Right near downtown and all the sights. Rooms were a bit tiny, but that's Europe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Bull & Castle. This place has amazing burgers. Pricey, but better than anything I've had here in America. Worth checking out. Near St. Patrick's Cathedral. Beautiful interior.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HayleyArchibald
Business
Aberdeen, Scotland
Feb 27, 2013

Would stay here again

Hotel was lovely - staff were friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable and food was good too. It was in a great location - just off the main street and only a couple of minutes walk from high street shops and Temple Bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eireaffinity
Business
Peoria, IL, USA
Feb 27, 2013

A Great City Center Hotel!

This hotel is best for its location in the City Center, being just a half block off O'Connell Street. The staff are friendly and so helpful. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds. Every time I visit Dublin, the Best Western Academy Hotel is top on my list for convenience and great value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top