$71 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Irish American
Business
Arizona
Jun 23, 2013

Friendly Place

I was in the hotel for 11 days. First visit was 2 days then went on a tour, returning to the hotel for 9 days. The staff was very helpful and accommodating of my unusual itinerary. The manager, Seamus, was particularly helpful. He held a small piece of luggage, got me into a room after an early arrival, and changed my room when I made a request. The rooms are small but clean and efficient. The location is the best; close to all buses. I stayed at 4 other hotels on my tour and I can tell you none of the others had the comfortable beds and pillows that I had at Academy! For as many people they have come and go, it's very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Good places to eat close by. Everything from nice hotels to corner markets. There's a corner market 100 steps from the hotel. You can get good sandwiches made to order. You can get your coffee, pastry, cereal, fruit for breakfast. Cheap eats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
R. O
Business
Fl
Jun 16, 2013

Very Nice Hotel

Very clean and looks newly remolded . Great location close to O'Connell St and a easy walk to Temple Bar and other attractions . They have a nice bar and good food in the restaurant . Free Wi-Fi and computer to use . I would defiantly stay there again .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DanFred
Business
Frederick, MD
Jun 16, 2013

Good Dublin location

The Academy Plaza is in a very good, reasonably quiet at night but easy walking distance to the heart of Dublin. The room was small with a good sized bathroom. The bed was comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Izzarina
Business
New York
Jun 12, 2013

Comfort at a good price

The Academy Hotel was perfect for my needs while in Dublin. It was right off O'Connell St. which is the main thoroughfare in the city centre. The Hop on/Hop off bus was literally across the street, which was very convienient. The rooms were clean, and had everything we needed during our stay. And the staff was always very helpful. My only suggestion would be to make sure you've included the breakfast buffet because its not included automatically. They have a lot to offer at the buffet and it is worth the money, in my opinion. I would absolutely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SouthernTransplant37
Business
South Carolina
Jun 3, 2013

Great location, good price

Just around the corner from O'Connell St., and feet away from both the Hop On/Hop Off bus and the Airport shuttle, this hotel is clean and quiet. We stayed here the night before our flight home and were perfectly happy with the accommodations. Free wifi also a nice touch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tash E
Business
UK
Jun 3, 2013

Perfect location

This hotel could not be better situated. The airport bus drops off and picks up right outside, the hop on hop off buses go from just round the corner, and it is within walking distance of great shops and pubs. The rooms are very clean and perfect for a break in this wonderful city. I would recommend this hotel to anybody and would definitely stay here again if visiting Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
David and Christine
Business
Ottawa, Canada
May 30, 2013

Great Location

Just off the main drag (O'Connell Street) we were ideally suited for the hop-on hop-off bus and for walking around. Many restaurants and shops close by. Good value for what we paid. Also on the airport bus circuit. We paid for breakfast and had a good deal for our four night stay. Would recommend this place for this price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Magsymoo
Business
Bournemouth UK
May 27, 2013

Get away with friends

Very impressed with comfort and cleanliness of room. Fab bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ireland 2013
Business
chicago, il
May 26, 2013

Good location, clean rooms

Overall, we enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location of the hotel was good, and the rooms were clean. The only issue that we experienced was the noise level. The main door of each room doesn't close quietly. Every time somone from next-door rooms would leave or enter the room, the door was practically slammed creating a very loud sound, and it was so loud it would wake us up throughout the night/ early morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
missouri usa
Business
missouri usa
May 17, 2013

great location and nice hotel with a wonderful bed.

Great location close to temple bar and anything else around city center you want to see.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top