$78 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 5, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nina from the Windy City
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 2, 2013

Pleasant Emerald Isle Vacation

This was my first trip to Ireland. I was extremely pleased with the how helpful the staff was and the cleanliness of the room. The hotel is located off of one of the major streets in Dublin. The Hop on Hop off bus is right across the street and shuttle bus to the airport is just around the corner. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bev Europe lover
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 28, 2013

Good Stay

The hotel is in a great spot for theater, bus to city center, tram to train stations, and airport bus stops right ouitside hotel. The hotel is very clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AlexEire2013
Business
Chicago
Oct 26, 2013

Awesome Hotel

Great hotel for my first time in Ireland...great great location, very nice room and the staff was also great...just remember to bring you own face cloths as none of the hotels in Ireland have them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharin
Business
Bristol
Oct 22, 2013

2 night city shopping break

We arrived from airport early bus stopped across from hotel, went to reception to ask store luggage and return to check in, we were registered given key to store luggage and advised can return at 2.30 . Room was big enough it was twin it was modern it was very clean ,the room overlooked service area but wasn't here for the view only sleeping .the shower curtain needed to be replaced with screen as didn't stop water getting our but stuck to your body and it was a bit mouldy on the ends that's the only fault.breakfast was 9 euro but we went to cafe up road for 5 ,around corner from shopping area opposite the stop for hop on tours 10 minutes from temple bar. I would use it again .good deal .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy green hop on hop off tour ticket which take you on 747 from airport to and from plus 3 day bus tours 20 euros at airport used it to go to from and to see sites and shopping areas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
David Kim
Business
Newcastle, ON, Canada
Oct 20, 2013

Good value and locations

Good clean rooms, good location to see the sights of Dublin. Need to clarify better when booking on the double occupancy though. we had two single beds that we had to push together. Overall good experience and good value in the hotel restaurant as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S Edwards
Business
West Midlands - England
Oct 7, 2013

Great Location & Nice, Clean hotel

Enjoyed a 3 night stay at this hotel it was clean well located and offered free WIFI which is rare these days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luiz Piedra Roja
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Aug 24, 2013

Satisfied Traveler

Perfect for what we wanted. We wanted to stay close to the City center of Dublin to get the experience of the heart of the City. We were not disappointed. We walked, ate and enjoyed the night life of Dublin. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mthem
Business
Coventry
Aug 3, 2013

City break

A really comfortable room, well appointed and great value. The location is excellent for sightseeing yet is quieter than the hotels on the main road in the evening. This was the second time that we stayed here and will definitely do so again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Svenska Steve
Business
Thomaston, Connecticut
Jul 20, 2013

Stuck in Dublin, happily

Through various circumstances that I won't go into here, I found myself stranded in Dublin for a few days--a completely unexpected and unscheduled stop--and am so glad it happened. I can hardly imagine a better place to be stuck this time of year, the streets full of life and music and activity well into the night. And my choice of hotel turned out to be just right, too. The Academy Plaza on Findlater Place, just off O'Connell street, was close to downtown and an easy walk to the river Liffey, where much of the city's life is clustered within a few blocks of the water. The hotel staff was warm, friendly, and helpful--the bartender was particularly informative, a natural story-teller and local historian, like so many of the people I met in Dublin--and the amenities were excellent. I could hardly be more satisfied with my stay. If you haven't seen Dublin, book a flight--and a room at the Academy Plaza Hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

In Dublin, take the Hop On, Hop Off bus tour--a two-day ticket for 18 euros that allows you to step off at any of 23 locations and get on another bus whenever you like--and be sure to see Kilmainham Gaol and the Guinness Storehouse. Get a separate bus ticket to visit Glasnevin Cemetery, where many of Ireland's revolutionary heroes are buried, and take their wonderful tour. Walk around the Temple Bar area, south of the river. Enjoy the street music!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travelkath
Business
ann arbor, michigan
Jul 4, 2013

Central, but a bit noisy

This would be a good deal if you didn't mind the street noise at night through closed windows or the morning noises from the hallway and adjoining rooms. It is on the bus line to the airport, however the bus would NOT stop to pick us up. Seems they get full on Mondays and are not obligated to stop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top