$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 14, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
231 out of 231
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mission Viejo
Jul 22, 2011

Do Not Make any Phone Call to US

The room was small but adequate. Hotel is in great location - near Tourist Office. I had a dispute with Irish Rail over credit card charges and tried to call the credit card company collect as instructed on the card, but call was blocked and would not go through. I used the 7777 number posted by the bed to make the call. The only way I could make the call was to charge it to my credit card. When I got home they hit me with a $49 charge for a four minute call

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Do not make a call to US from Hotel. Look up 800-608-0575 online. The hotel had a direct link to these scammers

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spenceca
Business
Kyle, Texas
Mar 21, 2010

Review of Best Western Academy Plaza

The hotel had a great location, however, it was next to a pub that was extremely noisy every evening into the early morning. Breakfast was 7 to 14 euro per day and the breakfast was average at best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Redmond,Oregon
May 12, 2010

Nothing to write home about

We only had a couple of days in Dublin because our flights were delayed by the volcanic eruption. The location was perfect, within walking distance of almost every major attraction in the down town area. The first lady who checked us in was highly rude, but the rest of the staff was great. The rooms were very tight, but with comfortable beds. The rooms were also very noisy. Overall it was a reasonable price for the room but it was nothing special to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hop on hop off buses were the perfect way to see all of the sights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 28, 2009

Dublin August 2009

I arrived around 5:30am and the gentleman at the front desk was very nice, and even checked me in even though check-in wasn't officially until much later. Two computers with free internet are in the lobby and allowed me to let friends and family know I had arrived safely. The hotel is in an incredibly convenient location. The hop on/hop off tours are right across the street and the drop off/pick up locations for the Air Coach to and from the airport are at the corner on O'Connell Street. I had one difficult conversation with a staff person. I think it was a bit of a language barrier. Sounds strange from an english speaker, I know. The staff person was giving me directions to the Dublin Bus Station and tried to clarify what she was telling me which only frustrated both of us more. The room was clean and comfortable. I had a handicapped room, which I'm guessing was a bit bigger than a regular single room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Breakfast at Bewley's on Grafton Street is great and affordable. We stumbled onto it our first morning (it was the only thing we found open so early in the morning) and later discovered it's a Dublin institution.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EBB16001
Business
PA
Oct 17, 2014

Good location but,

The WiFi was not good. The television stations available were little to none. The menu choices were fair. Hours of operation for the restaurant and room service were not great. Service was extremely slow. There is no ice bucket in the room. If you want ice you must go to the basement where you will find a water cooler sized ice machine and individual plastic cups to put the ice in. Beware that your glasses and coffee cups are not replaced with clean items, they are washed out in the sink and put back for the next use. This could be done when you are there for an extended stay but I don't know for sure. I did not find that hygienic. You are charged for local calls. Staff did not want to be bothered calling for cabs. We were told to walk up to O'Connell street. Compared to what you get in America the hotel was lacking in almost every aspect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murrays Pub is just a short walk. Turn right out of the hotel. Turn right on O'Connell and Murray's is up a bit on the right. GOOD FOOD AND MUSIC!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Quil
Business
Delaware
Nov 20, 2014

In Dublin for soccer

Hotel was at a great location to explore the city by walking. Staff were friendly and helpful. They let us check in early and had a cab ready for us when we checked out very early in the morning. Being so close to O'Connell street and the river was great and allowed us to get around the city quickly and easily while never being to far from our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jared T.
Business
crestview
Feb 10, 2015

Good location about it

Pros: Location, Amenities, friendly staff, Comfy bed, price, breakfast good Cons: Doors slam no matter what super loud, annoying neighbors wouldn't stop opening and closing there door. Breakfast super expensive, internet super slow!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jusufix
Business
Finland
Dec 30, 2013

Perfect location for a Dublin visit

All of the hotels services worked as advertised. The only drawback was a little crampy room - it felt like a hotel in Tokyo. Place was clean and the staff friendly - even in Christmas time. Outside the hotel is the stops for airport bus and the hop on hop off tour bus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kimchi and Parnell's are located near the hotel. Both are worth the visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Linda E
Business
Dublin
Feb 15, 2014

Fantastic Location

The hotel was fantastic very friendly with Irish humour as a bonus and extremely helpful. The hotel was in a fantastic location for airport buses tour buses shopping eating and local entertainment. My only downfall was the mattresses on the beds. After just one night I was in agony. The staff did their best to help by offering extra bed mattresses. This was a little better but was still suffering. My friend managed the 2 nights but couldn't have gone any longer. It was such a shame as everything else was perfect and I would love to go again but only if better mattresses could be provided.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
milly lee
Business
north east england
Feb 25, 2014

great

Staff friendly. Food great.clean and comfortable. Pillows bit lumpy but that was only negative. Great location near air coach and tour buses. Let us book in at 11am. Have already recommended to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dont bother with st patricks cathedral. Charged to see a gloomy dark dirty depressing church.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top