$79 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 6, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
232 out of 232
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

95% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveling with my son
Business
Raleigh, NC
Aug 4, 2009

Good location in Dublin

The hotel was conveniently located for walking around Dublin. Our room, however, was above an outdoor bar that was very noisy until late at night. Otherwise, the hotel was a good experience for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Abbey Theater has great performances.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
The New Mrs. A
Business
Ringwood, NJ
Nov 6, 2010

Comfy and Familiar

Hotel was good - very Americanized. We were put in a room first that was basically a king bed with a bathroom. A little cramped, but the bed was huge and super comfortable. We ended up having to move to another room due to a problem the hotel was having in the room above us with a water leak. The second room was much bigger - two queen beds, couch, chair, dresser. Bathroom was a big smaller, but overall good. Windows were great too. There was a bar directly below the hotel that was super lous at night, but once the windows were shut, you couldn't hear a thing. A/C didn't seem to work too well. Staff was superfriendly and accomodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hop-on, Hop-Off Dublin Bus stopped right in front on the hotel, the first stop. Good value and it gets you all over the city. Even when we got off on the other side of the city, it was not very far from the hotel. Closer to Trinity College than Temple Bar

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
On Holiday
Business
Colorado, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Decent location, good value

Clean, quiet and comfortable. Friendly staff. Easy to get on all most bus lines just down the street. Breakfast is not included. We probably should've added it. Finding a quick bite in the morning was harder than we thought it would be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy a three-day bus pass. It is a great deal if you use it much. So is the Heritage Card. It gets you into many historical sites all over the Republic. We really got value from that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
Aug 6, 2010

Superb Location

The hotel is in the perfect location to tour operators as well as shuttle service to the airport. You are within walking distance of Temple Bar. The downside your room will smell of curry and the staff isn't the least bit helpful on recommendations for dining in the area. They act as if they don't know their way around Dublin.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the AirLink from the airport. It drops you off in front of the Gresham hotel which is less than a 3 minute walk to the hotel. Only 7 euros.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pez
Business
Woodland Hills, CA
Jul 19, 2011

OK, not really a destination

It was a gray, drizzly day and we were exhausted when we arrived. This place is a little hard to find beacause it's on a little mini-street near some big ones. Parking is down the street at a private car park, so make sure you get that information before you arrive. The place seemed popular with tour groups, and the flourescent-lit lobby was crowded with them. The room was small but well decorated, with a decent TV and weak-but-free Wifi. The doors also didn't close properly - in particular, you had to practically slam the bathroom door to get it to close, which is a problem in the middle of the night if you're not alone. As we were exhausted and hungry, we hoped for room service or something but the lobby staff didn't quite understand that nearly all the hotel options were closed in the 3:00 pm hour. (We were still confused about the Italian restaurant advertised, as it was just the hotel bar menu.) Avoid the place next door (The Living Room) if you want to eat - it is awful. Actually, it was difficult to find a good meal anywhere nearby if you're not a fan of Chinese food outside Asia. The neighborhood seemed a bit odd, though I can't quite say why. Those things, and the energy-saving motion sensor hallway lights, screamed "we're trying to save money" and were a bit creepy, but all in all, it's not a bad place if you just need a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Finally found a tasty snack at the Jury Inn's restaurant/bar, a few blocks away. The duck spring rolls rocked.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gmp
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 14, 2009

prime location

I thought hotel location was great - could not be easier getting to/from hotel from airport. rooms were okay - nothing to write home about given this was a 4 star property. all staff were very nice/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
travel'n Mike
Business
USA
Sep 2, 2011

Good location but tiny

You need to move yourself behind the bathroom sink to close the door. The twin beds are smaller than USA twin beds. The location is good enough to get anywhere. The breakfast was okay. Everything seemed clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is really on the wrong side of the river, but not by much. It is only a ten minute walk to all the Dublin fun stuff. Research the city before you go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 24, 2009

Nice room, but small.

The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were small, but clean and nice looking. They had free internet service, but it was not very consistent and my computer was only able to successfully connect a couple of times. Also, the two computers downstairs with free internet service only worked some of the time. The location was very good. We were able to walk to wherever we needed to go easily from that location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
IrishMegz
Business
Cleveland, OH
Sep 5, 2011

Excellant Location!

This hotel is located right off of Upper O'Connell Street. You are within walking distance to most major Dublin attractions, including Temple Bar, Trinity College, Jameson Distillary, major shopping streets, and the Guinness Storehouse. Don't waste your money eating at the hotel. On and just off of O'Connell are a number of low cost restaurants and grocery stores to get your meals for cheap. I was able to eat all three meals and snacks for about 20 to 25 euro (or less) per day I was there. The hotel staff are wonderful. All were very welcoming and friendly. Anything I needed was addressed ASAP. My only real issue was that the rooms are SMALL. However, this is not uncommon for a Dublin hotel. I have stayed at two others in Dublin and this was comparable to those.. maybe a wee bit smaller, but this time it was just a single bed while the others had two beds in them... That could account for the slightly smaller size. This really didn't bother me as I wasn't exactly hanging out in my room all that much. Another great thing about the location of this hotel is you can hop on to the Airlink bus from the Airport and be dropped off and picked up right in front of the hotel. Also, the two city hop on-hop off bus tours (green bus and red bus) have their first stops right in front (or just around the corner) of the hotel. If you've never been to Dublin before, one of these is a must!! I believe they are both the same price and have almost identical routes. I have done both.. and I believe that they are both very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Temple Bar is just across the River Liffey.. Go for great Irish music, food, and entertainment. But be warned, at night this place is a bit roudy, and often considered unsafe. Just be cautious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
buenos aires
Oct 2, 2010

garlic smell all time from the restauran

good location nearby interest point clean, friendly staff, small rooms garlic smell all day from the restaurant

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top