$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 21, 2015 Check-out: Jun 22, 2015

BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

3 stars
View map of Findlater Place, Dublin, D1

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
248 out of 248
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Texas
Jul 5, 2009

Outstanding hotel

Staff was very friendly and helpful. Room was spotless, and the internet was free and fast. Location is just off O'Connell, which gives you access to many bus lines. The hop on and off bus is just across the street. I'll definitely stay here again and just booked another family member in this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel is a five minute walk to Henry Street where there are plenty of shops and two malls. Try Annie's on Henry Street and Queen of Tarts on Dame Street for great scones.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Business Woman
Business
North Haven, CT
Jul 1, 2009

Great location, good price

The room was tiny but clean and had nice amenities. The location was great, walking distance to Trinity College, Christ Church, St. Stephens Greenway, etc. Dinner and atmosphere in the Asian restaurant was excellent (and I don't even like Asian cuisine). My one complaint - tough to find by car. Yes, it's just off O'Connell St, but try to get there! Cars can't go down that section of O'Connell and Dublin is a driving challenge even for the Irish. Take a cab, use a GPS or call the hotel and ask for directions. Parking was pricey at $38/day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim and Donna
Business
dublin
Jun 29, 2009

dublin hotel

GREAT HOTEL FOR THE PRICE

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Prescott, Az.
Jun 27, 2009

great location

This was convenient to everything it seemed like, nice and clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

staff is very helpful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
DiscerningNYTraveler
Business
New York City
Jun 18, 2009

Bedbugs - Stay at your own risk

The first morning I woke up in the Best Western Academy Plaza Hotel, my ankle itched. I looked down to find a bedbug lying next to my ankle on the blood spotted sheet. I took a photo for evidence, collected it in a piece of tissue, and went downstairs to speak with the hotel manager. [...] listened, apologized dispassionately, and then immediately went into how this was the first time it had ever happened in their hotel. Perhaps this is true, but I'm baffled by her blasé and disinterested response in rectifying the situation. I felt reproached by her manner, which initially seemed to imply we had brought it in ourselves. This was not possible given it was our first night's stay on our vacation in Ireland, and we do not have bedbugs in our home. Next she suggested it had been brought in by the person who had occupied the room the previous night. This too is of course quite possible, but good management would not have sought to place blame for the situation, but would rather have worked to ensure that the customer felt as though the situation were being treated with the seriousness that it merits and would have looked for ways to ameliorate the situation. Good customer service is the lifeblood of any business. I work with clients all day long, and know that the very least I can do to further my company's business is to provide tangible evidence that I am genuinely sorry for any discomfort or displeasure on their part. [...], and by extension Best Western, proffered nothing. When I asked her what she was going to do, she asked for the specimen, which I had brought to her, and said she would have it tested and the room fumigated. Fearing she intended to keep us in the same room, I immediately said I did not wish to stay in the same room another evening. She said they would move us. When I asked her what else she intended to do, her chilly response was, "What else would you like?" We very reasonably asked to be reimbursed for that first night's stay in the hotel. She said she would not be able to do that, but she might be able to give us some kind of reduction in price but would first have to check our rate. Feeling not happy with her indifferent response, I suggested that she could start with comping us breakfast that morning. She complied.[...] never followed up with us regarding a possible reimbursement. I had to call downstairs the following evening, and the manager [...] said because we had booked our room through Orbitz, Best Western Academy Plaza could not offer us either a refund or a rebate. He said that the best they could do would be to comp us breakfast for the rest of our stay. Our plans had us out of the hotel before breakfast was served, and when we requested a dinner instead, we were told no. So, management's response was to offer us breakfast that is set out buffet style, which literally costs them nothing. Finally, I suggested that they might wash our bedclothes and the few items we had placed on the bed, which they did accommodate. Finding a bedbug in your bed is a very legitimate and serious complaint. People have successfully litigated for thousands of dollars. All I asked for was a refund on an evening spent with a bedbug in my bed. I am utterly baffled as to how Best Western does not have a policy or its management does not have at least a few ideas of their own as to how to ameliorate a bedbug situation to keep their customer happy. BTW, when I spoke with [...] that following evening, he said that the room had been inspected, and no further evidence of bedbugs had been found and so the room had not been fumigated. Not being in hotel management, I don't know what the policy is for things of this nature, but I would have thought they would have immediately fumigated the room. Perhaps they waited two days after the incident. Perhaps they never bothered at all. STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lostinthewoods
Business
St. Paul, MN
Jun 15, 2009

Great place to stay!

This was a great location for our first time to Dublin. Convenient to walk any where in the downtown area. The staff was excellent and the restraunt was good as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gmp
Business
los angeles, ca
Jun 14, 2009

prime location

I thought hotel location was great - could not be easier getting to/from hotel from airport. rooms were okay - nothing to write home about given this was a 4 star property. all staff were very nice/accommodating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 11, 2009

Pleasant Stay

We came in early from our international flight and found our room ready. This is almost unheard of and was wonderful news. Staff members were helpful and friendly. The room was large for a European hotel and very clean with a wonderful shower. The hotel was a step away from O'Connell Street and bus service was easily found there. It was a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Murphy's Pub was right around the corner and offered a good variety of food choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 3, 2009

Excellent Choice

This hotel was a great choice for our sight seeing trip to Dublin. Within walking distance of many attractions and public transport. Our room was pretty small but nice. Free computer use and internet access was very helpful in planning events. Hotel staff was helpful and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many restaurants have 2 for 1 or early bird dining specials that are good values.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Academy Plaza Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Illinois
Jun 2, 2009

Grest place for young couples

Modernized hotel close to bus stops and within walking distance of many attractions. Best to ask for an outer room because inner rooms may be noisy at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Bus service is great way to get around in the city and don't miss the Literary Pub Crawl.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top